Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

twoodcc

macrumors P6
Original poster
Feb 3, 2005
Right side of wrong
so i am thinking about buying the select membership, but my first question is this:

how long does the membership last? just one year?

twoodcc

macrumors P6
Original poster
Feb 3, 2005
Right side of wrong
well let me ask some advice on the subject:

i am a college student, and my major is CIS (computer information systems)

now, i'm about to graduate this August. but, i don't really have a job lined up at the moment

now, none of my classes have had anything to do with macs. but there's where i want a job, especially something like a system admin

so, i was thinking i could buy this Select membership, since i get Mac OS X and Server, so i can practice on. i would also get Snow Leopard, when it gets seeded.

plus i'd get other stuff to help me out.

what are your thoughts on this?

admanimal

macrumors 68040
Apr 22, 2005
well let me ask some advice on the subject:

i am a college student, and my major is CIS (computer information systems)

now, i'm about to graduate this August. but, i don't really have a job lined up at the moment

now, none of my classes have had anything to do with macs. but there's where i want a job, especially something like a system admin

so, i was thinking i could buy this Select membership, since i get Mac OS X and Server, so i can practice on. i would also get Snow Leopard, when it gets seeded.

plus i'd get other stuff to help me out.

what are your thoughts on this?

ADC Select memberships are really most practical for professional developers who need to make sure their commercial apps will work/are optimized for the latest OS updates. If all you want to do is learn, just get yourself a Mac, a book or two, and start reading through the (free) developer documentation that comes with XCode/is available online.

numero

macrumors regular
Jul 23, 2002
OR