Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

trey5498

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 16, 2008
It seems that now-a-days Google is not what it once was with all the mucked up searches. I am in need of advice as I am a noob of sorts with Mac development. I am designing a advanced GUI installer and I need to figure out how to get it to look for for a file in a specific location and then if not there copy it? Also how do I run system shell commands via the xcode C++?

trey5498

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 16, 2008
so the fopen() will allow me to see if a file exist and if not copy it there?

white89gt

macrumors regular
Jan 18, 2006
NSFileManagers can do what you're talking about if you're using Cocoa and Objective-c. Otherwise you're stuck with what yeroen mentioned.

trey5498

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 16, 2008
I do appreciate, it has been a very long time since I have messed with C++. I have been using Perl mostly and the last time I used C++ was in college 8 years ago. I know it can be taken negatively, however I had no idea what to Google. File Handling comes up with some major weird stuff at first.

I do appreciate everything you have given me today as I am having to learn more advanced stuff for work (we are migrating to C++ from Perl although we will never stop using Perl ;) so I am not out of a job yet lol ).

I have two last questions, for now ;).

The first is about setting a value of checkboxes to an array. What I am thinking is something like this:

Code:
-(IBAction)Nextbutton:(id)sender
{

if([checkboxname isEqualToString:@"Printer1"]  == YES) {

printerarray[i] = Printer1;
} else if{
the other 17 checkboxes
}

where hitting the next button would check to see if every checkbox is click or not, then pop up the next window and display the list of the printers in the array. The question is do I have the correct format and is this the best way?