Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:12 AM   #1
Tattoo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Can iPhone be used as an iPod Touch ONLY?

I'm thinking about getting the New 3G iPhone. Instead of selling my iPhone I was thinking about giving it to my daughter to be used as an iPod Touch.

Will the device even turn on or work it no "phone number" is attached to it?
Can I use the iPhone strictly as an iPod Touch or does it have to have ATT&T Service on it to even turn on?
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8 w/ 30" Cinema Display
"You can never be too thin, too rich, or have too much memory."
Tattoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:14 AM   #2
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
That's how I've used mine for a year. Sucks on ice that I don't have service... It's unlocked, but I don't have a plan...

Can someone tell me how prepaid SIMs work? Do they stop working once they've hit their limit or do they charge you if you go over?
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:16 AM   #3
Tattoo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
That's how I've used mine for a year.
Thank you for your reply.
Just wondering - can you also surf the internet via WiFi?
What features DONT work for you when you have NO service?
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8 w/ 30" Cinema Display
"You can never be too thin, too rich, or have too much memory."
Tattoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:16 AM   #4
MultiFinder17
macrumors 65816
 
MultiFinder17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
So long as you activate it (either via iTunes, or any number of hackery apps out there), you can use it as an iPhone-without-phone-service fine.
__________________
2011 iMac, iMac G5, 2012 13" rMBP, ThinkPad X200, iPad mini, iPhone 5.
"...But there is one more thing - your patience was worth it. Introducing the PowerBook G5!" - Steve Jobs Hologram @ WWDC 2014
MultiFinder17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:17 AM   #5
Tattoo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by MultiFinder17 View Post
So long as you activate it (either via iTunes, or any number of hackery apps out there), you can use it as an iPhone-without-phone-service fine.
So what your saying is I can do it but via "hacking software"?

Once I disconnect my service plan I just cant hand that over for my daughter to use as an iPod Touch?

If thats the case I will just sell it....
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8 w/ 30" Cinema Display
"You can never be too thin, too rich, or have too much memory."
Tattoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:19 AM   #6
buccsmf1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
why dont you just take your sim card out and see what happens?
__________________
iMac 2.0Ghz + 20' ACD ; MacBook Air 1.6, 80 ; iPhone 3G S 32GB
buccsmf1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:19 AM   #7
duncanm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I don't understand why you wouldn't sell it anyway? Sell it, get $500. Buy an ipod touch for your Daughter. Pocket $225. Done.
duncanm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:22 AM   #8
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tattoo View Post
What features DONT work for you when you have NO service?
The phone, data over EDGE, since you don't have EDGE, and that's it. Everything else works exactly the same as if you had service, just over Wi-Fi.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:23 AM   #9
Tattoo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by duncanm View Post
I don't understand why you wouldn't sell it anyway? Sell it, get $500. Buy an ipod touch for your Daughter. Pocket $225. Done.
iPhone will NEVER sell for that much any more.
How can it when the new one will cost $199

Who would buy it for $500?
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8 w/ 30" Cinema Display
"You can never be too thin, too rich, or have too much memory."
Tattoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:25 AM   #10
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tattoo View Post
iPhone will NEVER sell for that much any more.
How can it when the new one will cost $199

Who would buy it for $500?
People who are intelligent enough to know that not only does the old iPhone cost less than the new one, but those that know the new iPhone doesn't work on T-Mobile's 3G.

1st gen iPhones will go for MORE than their original prices.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:28 AM   #11
Tattoo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by buccsmf1 View Post
why dont you just take your sim card out and see what happens?
I took out the Sim Card and it works! Thanks!

Im just wondering now if I give it to my daughter if she will be able to sync her music and movies on HER iTunes on HER iMac.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8 w/ 30" Cinema Display
"You can never be too thin, too rich, or have too much memory."
Tattoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:29 AM   #12
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tattoo View Post
I'm thinking about getting the New 3G iPhone. Instead of selling my iPhone I was thinking about giving it to my daughter to be used as an iPod Touch.

Will the device even turn on or work it no "phone number" is attached to it?
Can I use the iPhone strictly as an iPod Touch or does it have to have ATT&T Service on it to even turn on?
I think I have an idea what you are planning, but AT&T won't sell you an iPhone without the contract, and if you try to get out of the contract, it will cost you and be more expensive than an iPod Touch.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:30 AM   #13
Tattoo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
People who are intelligent enough to know that not only does the old iPhone cost less than the new one, but those that know the new iPhone doesn't work on T-Mobile's 3G.

1st gen iPhones will go for MORE than their original prices.

Hmmmm so what your saying is that the old iPhones are in demand because of "Jail Breaking" because the New 3G iPhones cant be used on other networks?
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8 w/ 30" Cinema Display
"You can never be too thin, too rich, or have too much memory."
Tattoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:32 AM   #14
Tattoo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
I think I have an idea what you are planning, but AT&T won't sell you an iPhone without the contract, and if you try to get out of the contract, it will cost you and be more expensive than an iPod Touch.
I think you misunderstood me.
I have an iPhone with a service plan ($99 Unlimited) - I want to get the New 3G iPhone with a service plan as well. My OLD iPhone is what I was planning to give my daughter (WITH NO SERVICE) to be used ONLY as an iPod.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8 w/ 30" Cinema Display
"You can never be too thin, too rich, or have too much memory."
Tattoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:48 AM   #15
duncanm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tattoo View Post
iPhone will NEVER sell for that much any more.
How can it when the new one will cost $199

Who would buy it for $500?
I'll disregard the sarcasm and ask you to go look at the prices on ebay. I'm just trying to save you some money bud.
duncanm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 11:53 AM   #16
Tattoo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by duncanm View Post
I'll disregard the sarcasm and ask you to go look at the prices on ebay. I'm just trying to save you some money bud.

Sorry if that came off wrong - It was sarcasm for "other people" (not you) who would pay $500.00 for an iPhone!!

It sounded hard to believe that people would pay that much for a used iPhone! I thought you were just pulling my chain only to find out looking at eBay that the iPhone sells anywhere from $300-500 bucks!!
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8 w/ 30" Cinema Display
"You can never be too thin, too rich, or have too much memory."
Tattoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 12:01 PM   #17
stevento
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
i'm so glad i decided not to be one of the people who rushed out to get an iPhone as soon as it came out for $700.
now they are $200 and faster, better and slimmer i believe.
i bought an iPod touch at christmas but i just sold it on craigslist for $260. cant wait until july 11!
my friend bought a $400 iPhone a few months ago. what a dope.
__________________
Follow me: @luckyFTW
stevento is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 12:25 PM   #18
duncanm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tattoo View Post
Sorry if that came off wrong - It was sarcasm for "other people" (not you) who would pay $500.00 for an iPhone!!

It sounded hard to believe that people would pay that much for a used iPhone! I thought you were just pulling my chain only to find out looking at eBay that the iPhone sells anywhere from $300-500 bucks!!
No problem man. There is a method to the madness. The old iphones are desirable as they can be used on whichever carrier one decides to place them on. Further, many countries still do not have the iphone for sale in retail stores (i.e. Canada) so that substantially increases demand. The new iphone also cannot be purchased w/o a contract (which ends up making up for the higher initial price of the 2G iphone). Then add the silver back which people seem to be in love with, and you have multiple factors which are still responsible for the high price of the 2G iphone.
duncanm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 01:30 PM   #19
freeny
macrumors 68020
 
freeny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Location: Location:
so what you guys are saying is this-
when I get a new iphone and move my old number from my old EDGE iphone to the new iPhone, the old iPhone wont lock up like it was when you first purchase it (with the only function being an emergency call) and all that will be different is that there will no longer be phone service?...

no jailbreaking necessary?...

I plan on doing a similar thing as the OP if this is the case.
freeny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 02:30 PM   #20
stagfish
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
iphone

I was gonna sell my touch and use my iphone for ipod but it doesnt work in my alarm clock radio???? an idea?
stagfish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 02:36 PM   #21
duncanm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stagfish View Post
I was gonna sell my touch and use my iphone for ipod but it doesnt work in my alarm clock radio???? an idea?
Sell your alarm clock radio and buy one that will work?
duncanm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 02:39 PM   #22
stagfish
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Iphone

Great idea!!!

thanks
stagfish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 02:51 PM   #23
Tattoo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeny View Post
so what you guys are saying is this-
when I get a new iphone and move my old number from my old EDGE iphone to the new iPhone, the old iPhone wont lock up like it was when you first purchase it (with the only function being an emergency call) and all that will be different is that there will no longer be phone service?...

no jailbreaking necessary?...

I plan on doing a similar thing as the OP if this is the case.

You just brought up a very interesting point!
Removing my Sim Card doesnt mimic my phone with "No Service" although there was an earlier poster that uses an iPhone as an iPod BUT I do recall the "Emergency Only" thing when ever you have NO service connected to the iPhone.

I'm curious to find out if my iPhone becomes a "brick" after moving my phone number to another device.

I just to make sure my daughter can use my iPhone as an iPod Touch device.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8 w/ 30" Cinema Display
"You can never be too thin, too rich, or have too much memory."
Tattoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 03:21 PM   #24
freeny
macrumors 68020
 
freeny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Location: Location:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tattoo View Post
You just brought up a very interesting point!
Removing my Sim Card doesnt mimic my phone with "No Service" although there was an earlier poster that uses an iPhone as an iPod BUT I do recall the "Emergency Only" thing when ever you have NO service connected to the iPhone.

I'm curious to find out if my iPhone becomes a "brick" after moving my phone number to another device.

I just to make sure my daughter can use my iPhone as an iPod Touch device.
I was told by the att rep at the att store that switching your number to another phone will indeed brick your phone. but with so many rumors and opinions as well as the att people not really knowing more then we do its hard to say...
i was also the first person to tell them how much the new phone will cost
freeny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 03:34 PM   #25
redgaz26
macrumors 68020
 
redgaz26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Glasgow
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by duncanm
Quote:
Originally Posted by stagfish View Post
I was gonna sell my touch and use my iphone for ipod but it doesnt work in my alarm clock radio???? an idea?
Sell your alarm clock radio and buy one that will work?
Was that meant to be funny? Coz it was. I'm still laughing. You've cheered me right up. Lol
__________________
macbook pro 13" i5 4 G RAM
16g iphone 5s, , Apple TV
redgaz26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game Cheat for iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, iPod touch (3rd generation) Mjasa iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 14, 2013 08:25 AM
Apple's Low-Cost iPhone Design Said to Be Mix of iPhone 5 and iPod Touch with iPod Classic Curves MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 238 Jun 18, 2013 09:18 PM
Touch Recognition Issue on iPhone 5, 5th Generation iPod Touch with Rapid Diagonal Swipes MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 355 Jan 3, 2013 04:11 PM
Updated iTunes, iPod Touch, and iPod Nano Coming Alongside iPhone 5 Today MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 101 Sep 12, 2012 03:29 PM
External Touch Screen Display for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad. NbinHD iPhone Accessories 2 Jul 2, 2012 01:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC