Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 20, 2008, 11:49 AM   #1
aaquib
macrumors 65816
 
aaquib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
My super duper network setup idea. Will it work?

Well, just before I start, I'd like to outline what machines/peripherals I will be using this setup with.

- Mac Mini (with Airport Extreme built in, according the manual)
- About 4 PCs. 2 HP, 1 Toshiba, 1 Acer.
- PS3, 360, WII, which are connected via Wifi
- Airport Express
- D Link DI 524

I was wondering if I could have the D Link router setup to my modem, capture the connection with my Mac Mini, and then since the mini is supposed to have Airport Extreme built in, connect it to the Airport Express via so that I'd be able to extend the range of wifi upstairs.

Is this possible? It would be awesome if I could get this to work.
__________________
13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHz, 128GB SSD; 20" Cinema Display
iPad 16GB Wifi
aaquib is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2008, 12:02 PM   #2
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
If you mean receive a signal from the DLink to your Mini's Airport Card then rebroadcast from the same card. I do not think that will work. Rather you would need to receive the signal through the Airport card then add say a USB wireless network card. Then use internet connection sharing to share the connection as an access point.

Or you can use a wireless repeater like the Linksys WRE54G.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2008, 12:04 PM   #3
newappleboy
macrumors 6502a
 
newappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Send a message via AIM to newappleboy
Why do you need the mac mini to extend to the airport express? Can't the AE simply pick up the wireless signal and redistribute?
__________________
TheRealJamesDean.com - Where being cool and suave is always slightly out of reach.
Also, I'm a Tumblr!
newappleboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2008, 12:08 PM   #4
aaquib
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
aaquib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocityg4 View Post
If you mean receive a signal from the DLink to your Mini's Airport Card then rebroadcast from the same card. I do not think that will work. Rather you would need to receive the signal through the Airport card then add say a USB wireless network card. Then use internet connection sharing to share the connection as an access point.

Or you can use a wireless repeater like the Linksys WRE54G.
Not rebroadcast it from the same card. Attach it to the Airport Express via ethernet and then have the AEX rebroadcast it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by newappleboy View Post
Why do you need the mac mini to extend to the airport express? Can't the AE simply pick up the wireless signal and redistribute?
The Airport Express isn't compatible with my router according to Apple's website. It only supports WDS networks, which the DI 524 isn't.
__________________
13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHz, 128GB SSD; 20" Cinema Display
iPad 16GB Wifi
aaquib is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2008, 08:46 AM   #5
ihabime
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
There's no Airport Extreme built into your mini, there's an Airport wireless card in there, very different things. Now, if you use the ethernet connection to hook the Mini to your router you might be able to use the airport card with connection sharing in preferences to do what you want. I don't know for sure though, because I don't have an airport card.

Last edited by ihabime; Jun 23, 2008 at 07:04 PM.
ihabime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2008, 04:22 PM   #6
Burtonsnow9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
ok i understand what you're asking. connect the mini to the d link via wifi and plug the airport express into the mini via ethernet and tell the mini to share its wireless connection and then anything on that side of house that cant see the dlink will be able to connect to the airport express station. that will be real easy and work very well, just have to keep the mini on all the time.
__________________

MBP 15" Matte
--2.6GHz (Penryn)
--4GB Apple-branded RAM
--250GB 5,400 rpm
--GeForce 8600GTm 512MB
Burtonsnow9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Duper/CCC but for Windows Flynnstone Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Apr 23, 2014 07:42 AM
Super Duper Interrupted by Accident vahnx Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Dec 26, 2013 11:42 AM
Transfering applications to new iMac using Super Duper gonzali7 iMac 2 Sep 8, 2013 01:03 PM
Super Duper question velvetlounger Mac mini 7 Nov 15, 2012 10:35 AM
Super Duper Magic Trackpad (Product idea) Sensa iMac 4 Jul 23, 2012 04:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC