Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 25, 2008, 02:51 PM   #1
stiviknik
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Iphone 3G without SIM-card

I am considering to buy either a Itouch or a Iphone3G.

I wonder if the Iphone will work without a SIM-card, if i someday want a new phone can I then use the Iphone as an Itouch ?
stiviknik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2008, 02:55 PM   #2
7on
macrumors 601
 
7on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Punk Hazard
iPhone 3G won't work without a SIM card.

To even purchase one you need an AT&T plan.
__________________
jonshipman.com

Last edited by 7on; Jun 25, 2008 at 03:06 PM.
7on is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2008, 03:02 PM   #3
rogersmj
macrumors 68020
 
rogersmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7on View Post
iPhone 3G won't work with a SIM card.
I'm sure it's just a typo, but I want to clarify for the OP:

It won't work without a SIM card. It has to be activated on AT&T to be usable, at least that's the way it looks right now.
rogersmj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2008, 03:05 PM   #4
stiviknik
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I know I have to buy it with an operator, I meant can I use it afterwards in 1-2 years time without a SIM-card. I was told the "old"-Iphone can be used without a SIM-card.
stiviknik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2008, 03:10 PM   #5
7on
macrumors 601
 
7on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Punk Hazard
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrogers View Post
I'm sure it's just a typo, but I want to clarify for the OP:

It won't work without a SIM card. It has to be activated on AT&T to be usable, at least that's the way it looks right now.
Well call me Mr Butterfingers

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiviknik View Post
I know I have to buy it with an operator, I meant can I use it afterwards in 1-2 years time without a SIM-card. I was told the "old"-Iphone can be used without a SIM-card.
I suppose so. But you'll still need to pay the $70 a month minimum for those 2 years. You might be able to ETF it and end up paying the ETF fee ($200 for AT&T I think?). You have to do it after 30 days (doing it before, you won't get charged the ETF but you'll have to return the iPhone). So you'll have to pay at least one month worth of service for $84 or so (after taxes).

The first iPhone could operate SIM free because you bought the phone and signed up for a contract at home through iTunes. Now you can't leave the store without service.
__________________
jonshipman.com
7on is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2008, 03:16 PM   #6
stiviknik
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Thanks for your reply.

I live in Denmark and only have to sign up for 6 months.

And after the 6 months or later I maybe wants to buy another phone and then still be able to use the Iphone as an Itouch.
stiviknik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2008, 03:19 PM   #7
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiviknik View Post
I know I have to buy it with an operator, I meant can I use it afterwards in 1-2 years time without a SIM-card. I was told the "old"-Iphone can be used without a SIM-card.
Yes, you should be able to use it without a SIM-card afterwards.

For example, last June 29th, I bought the original iPhone and signed a 2-year contract with AT&T.

On July 11th (this year), when I upgrade to the new iPhone (and sign another 2-year contract with AT&T), my old iPhone should work fine without a SIM card.
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2008, 03:30 PM   #8
gkarris
macrumors 604
 
gkarris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: "No escape from Reality..."
All iPhones will work without a SIM card. They have to be activated first or fake activated via a hacking tool.
__________________
"This gate's plastic." Captain Carter, Stargate SG-1, "Touchstone"
gkarris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 08:04 PM   #9
verafly6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
i just bought it from my friend like 3 hrs ago
when i open it up theres this symbol:

^
|
|
|
|
and it says:
NO SIM CARD INSTALLED
insert a valid SIM with no PIN lock
to activate phone.

and when i plug it into itunes it ways the same thing and rejects the connection.
and i dont think theres any program i can use to jailbreak it
so WTF do i do??????????
verafly6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 08:07 PM   #10
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by verafly6 View Post
and i dont think theres any program i can use to jailbreak it
so WTF do i do??????????
Why do you say that? Just jailbreak it with blackra1n or pwnage tool. Problem solved.
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 08:50 PM   #11
verafly6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmann View Post
Why do you say that? Just jailbreak it with blackra1n or pwnage tool. Problem solved.
ive been trying for five hours
it keeps goin back to the same screen that says i need a SIM card
verafly6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 09:40 PM   #12
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by verafly6 View Post
ive been trying for five hours
it keeps goin back to the same screen that says i need a SIM card
If you are using Pwnage Tool for example, you need to make sure to check the box that says "activate" that will make the phone "hacktivated".
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 09:55 PM   #13
rjphoto
macrumors 6502a
 
rjphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Ok, how about a 2nd hand iPhone with a pay as you go sim (from ATT)?
__________________
2007 MacBook Pro 2.4, 2008 Macbook Air, iMac 2006 (wife's), Macmini Core Duo
rjphoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2009, 04:57 PM   #14
verafly6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
thanks for the suggestions and help everyone! but i just borrowed my friends sim card and used itunes to unlock and activate it, then blackra1n'd it haha
verafly6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 no sim card? west2000 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 8 Dec 5, 2013 12:39 PM
Setting up iPhone 5 without a SIM card...or Help me find a nano-SIM! turbodelta iPhone 5 Dec 7, 2012 04:52 PM
sim card/activation problem/extra sim card ??? tcoche iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 06:38 PM
iPhone 5 SIM Card mryanwalker iPhone 5 Sep 19, 2012 09:42 AM
Selling iphone 4S Sim card is needed? iphone5 comes SIM card? chrisfromalbany iPhone 4 Sep 17, 2012 01:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC