Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 29, 2008, 09:23 PM   #1
marcel-v
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Is there a region free DVD software for OS X?

I am trying to back up my DVDs but have only one more region transition left! Any suggestions?
__________________
iMac 20" | Intel Core Duo | 2 GHz | 2 MB L2 Cache | 1.5 GB RAM | 667 MHz Bus Speed
marcel-v is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 09:24 PM   #2
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
DVD Region is hardware encoded, so software won't do the job. You'd need to flash the firmware of your DVD drive.
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 09:25 PM   #3
marcel-v
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
DVD Region is hardware encoded, so software won't do the job. You'd need to flash the firmware of your DVD drive.
How can i do that?
__________________
iMac 20" | Intel Core Duo | 2 GHz | 2 MB L2 Cache | 1.5 GB RAM | 667 MHz Bus Speed
marcel-v is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 09:27 PM   #4
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
ive heard vlc solves the issue if you play via it. might want to double check first
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 11:05 PM   #5
vandozza
macrumors 6502a
 
vandozza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
ive heard vlc solves the issue if you play via it. might want to double check first
i agree, i think vlc will play most discs regardless of region.
vandozza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 11:12 PM   #6
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Quote:
Originally Posted by vandozza View Post
i agree, i think vlc will play most discs regardless of region.
Probably won't play it on a hardware restricted drive. You can look at www.rpc1.org. They may have a firmware upgrade for your drive (but I doubt it).
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 11:14 PM   #7
vandozza
macrumors 6502a
 
vandozza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopticalcube View Post
Probably won't play it on a hardware restricted drive. You can look at www.rpc1.org. They may have a firmware upgrade for your drive (but I doubt it).

the point is that vlc ignores the region encoding competely and will play most discs AFAIK. would be surprised to hear that vlc did not play a disc dt region issues.
vandozza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 11:18 PM   #8
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Quote:
Originally Posted by vandozza View Post
the point is that vlc ignores the region encoding competely and will play most discs AFAIK. would be surprised to hear that vlc did not play a disc dt region issues.
Never worked for me until I flashed my DVD drive. You can't even use MTR to rip the DVD off the drive as the result is just garbage.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 11:19 PM   #9
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by vandozza View Post
the point is that vlc ignores the region encoding competely and will play most discs AFAIK. would be surprised to hear that vlc did not play a disc dt region issues.
This used to be true with older hardware (certainly pre-Intel). However, Apple changed to hardware region encoding which cannot be defeated by any software.
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 11:20 PM   #10
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopticalcube View Post
Never worked for me until I flashed my DVD drive. You can't even use MTR to rip the DVD off the drive as the result is just garbage.
sadly yes you are right, i stand corrected. it used to work apparently
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...ght=vlc+region
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 11:21 PM   #11
vandozza
macrumors 6502a
 
vandozza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
This used to be true with older hardware (certainly pre-Intel). However, Apple changed to hardware region encoding which cannot be defeated by any software.
ok now this makes more sense, as i know my 12" PB would play any region w vlc. have a macbook now, and must admit, I havn't actually tried to play any other regions dvds as yet.
vandozza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 11:26 PM   #12
costabunny
macrumors 68000
 
costabunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ~/Dorset/
Send a message via Skype™ to costabunny
Simple

Disable auto play of DVD's (set to always Ignore)

Then whenyou put a dvd in the drive - simply open vlc and choose Open Disc from the file menu.

VLC treats all dvds as data disks and as such it does not even read the region code.

I use this all the time and its flawless so far (with region 1,2,4 and 0)

__________________
no mac for Bunny anymore

"Of all the things I've lost; I miss my mind the most."
costabunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2008, 11:29 PM   #13
vandozza
macrumors 6502a
 
vandozza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by costabunny View Post
Simple

Disable auto play of DVD's (set to always Ignore)

Then whenyou put a dvd in the drive - simply open vlc and choose Open Disc from the file menu.

VLC treats all dvds as data disks and as such it does not even read the region code.

I use this all the time and its flawless so far (with region 1,2,4 and 0)

this is what we were suggesting earlier, but it's since been suggested that it only works on ppc based macs, not intel. (or are you saying that this technique also works on intel based systems?)
vandozza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2008, 11:37 PM   #14
costabunny
macrumors 68000
 
costabunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ~/Dorset/
Send a message via Skype™ to costabunny
Yep works on my MBA and Mac Pro (2008)
__________________
no mac for Bunny anymore

"Of all the things I've lost; I miss my mind the most."
costabunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2008, 06:54 AM   #15
marcel-v
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
what i want to do is backup my region 1 dvds with mac the ripper but im fearful of changing the regions of my dvd player. any solutions?
__________________
iMac 20" | Intel Core Duo | 2 GHz | 2 MB L2 Cache | 1.5 GB RAM | 667 MHz Bus Speed
marcel-v is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2008, 08:41 PM   #16
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Buy an external USB drive that doesn't have firmware locking.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2008, 12:41 AM   #17
GoKyu
macrumors 65816
 
GoKyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Orleans
I found my drive's region free firmware on rpc1.org, and now have 2 unlocked drives - one Sony and one HP
__________________
16 GB VZ iPad 3 16 GB Black iPhone 5
Mid 2011 Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i5 |14gb RAM|Samsung P2770HD
Epson Stylus Photo R1800|Bose Companion 5 speakers
GoKyu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2008, 04:54 PM   #18
p0llyw0g
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by costabunny View Post
Yep works on my MBA and Mac Pro (2008)
I have a plain ol' MacBook purchased in 2008, but is a late-2007 model. I have tried what you suggest, but it doesn't work. I insert the DVD and it comes up asking me to change the region, but I just pretend that window isn't there and open VLC. VLC sees the DVD (it didn't before) and makes an attempt to open it, but then spits it out. Am I missing a step? I've tried this several times w/ VLC open in advance as well.

I'm a new Mac user and so far I've been frustrated with a lot of things about it and this is the biggest...
p0llyw0g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2009, 08:33 AM   #19
hierik
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Region free DVD-drive MBP ?

Hi Guys

So i'm from Denmark, and I've got some Seinfeld seasons lying around from the US So I decide to watch an episode and my MBP can't unless I change the region code for the dvd-drive ? So now I only have 4 changes left. Isn't there any way to make the dvd-drive region free ?

I Hope you can help
hierik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2009, 09:49 AM   #20
trojann
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Yes VLC "Region Free" works, you just have to bypass the Built-in "DVD Player"

Quote:
Originally Posted by p0llyw0g View Post
I have a plain ol' MacBook purchased in 2008, but is a late-2007 model. I have tried what you suggest, but it doesn't work. I insert the DVD and it comes up asking me to change the region, but I just pretend that window isn't there and open VLC. VLC sees the DVD (it didn't before) and makes an attempt to open it, but then spits it out. Am I missing a step? I've tried this several times w/ VLC open in advance as well.

I'm a new Mac user and so far I've been frustrated with a lot of things about it and this is the biggest...
Hi there,
VLC seemed to have worked. The reasons why initially this didn't "seemed" to have worked is because when a DVD is inserted to the DVD drive, the built-in DVD player fires up. This then fires up the Region Select "SOFTWARE". The way to by past it is to "FORCE QUIT" DVD Player before the Region Select software comes online. (ie. Right click on the DVD Player icon that just poped up on the DOCK, and select "force quit".) I just tested this a few times, and the Region Select Software counter still stayed at "5". I hope this clears up the air abit, as this has frusted a great number of the Mac Users.

Thanks to "costabunny", his 1 line comment suddenly dawned on me.....

Cheers,

Trojann
trojann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2009, 10:19 AM   #21
Tumbleweed666
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by trojann View Post
Hi there,
VLC seemed to have worked. The reasons why initially this didn't "seemed" to have worked is because when a DVD is inserted to the DVD drive, the built-in DVD player fires up. This then fires up the Region Select "SOFTWARE". The way to by past it is to "FORCE QUIT" DVD Player before the Region Select software comes online. (ie. Right click on the DVD Player icon that just poped up on the DOCK, and select "force quit".) I just tested this a few times, and the Region Select Software counter still stayed at "5". I hope this clears up the air abit, as this has frusted a great number of the Mac Users.

Trojann
Unfortunately that doesn't work for me, first of all its impossible to force quit before the region select s/w kicks in (do you have a really really slow mac?) , and secondly, even if I don't start up dvd player at all (via preferences) and just start VLC, I get a corrupted screen due to the mild encryption of region coding.
__________________
27" late 2013 iMac, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OSX 10.9.2

Last edited by Tumbleweed666; Aug 15, 2009 at 10:36 AM.
Tumbleweed666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2009, 10:37 AM   #22
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by p0llyw0g View Post
Am I missing a step? I've tried this several times w/ VLC open in advance as well.
I think the step you missed is that you either have to disable autoplay (set to ignore) as the bunny suggested above, or else force quit the DVD player as suggested in a subsequent reply. If you just escape out like you did, I don't think it works.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2009, 10:59 AM   #23
Tumbleweed666
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan View Post
I think the step you missed is that you either have to disable autoplay (set to ignore) as the bunny suggested above, or else force quit the DVD player as suggested in a subsequent reply. If you just escape out like you did, I don't think it works.
I have tried it;
1) with ignore, so nothing starts, then use VLC - playback corrupted then fails
2) start VLC instead of DVD player - same
3) Force quit - impossible to FQ before the region select code comes up

I have a 2009 iMac running 10.5.8
__________________
27" late 2013 iMac, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OSX 10.9.2
Tumbleweed666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2009, 11:04 AM   #24
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumbleweed666 View Post
I have a 2009 iMac running 10.5.8
And this is a disc that you know is not bad using some other means of verification, right? Hmmm, I dunno why some computers which (AFAIK) would have hardware RCE can do this and others cannot....
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2009, 11:08 AM   #25
Tumbleweed666
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan View Post
And this is a disc that you know is not bad using some other means of verification, right? Hmmm, I dunno why some computers which (AFAIK) would have hardware RCE can do this and others cannot....
Tried on 3 different non region 2 (my DVD player) disks,all different regions as well :-(
__________________
27" late 2013 iMac, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OSX 10.9.2
Tumbleweed666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New iMacs -- Region free DVD player? If not, is this possible? Amnesiac1 iMac 18 Aug 1, 2011 10:07 AM
Is there a free-trail version Matlab software for mac? montblanc1 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Feb 28, 2011 01:39 PM
Is there an auto mouse clicker app for OS X? dcains Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 21, 2010 12:49 AM
Region Free DVD Firmware for 2008 Mac Pro? edesignuk Mac Pro 12 Jan 31, 2008 11:57 PM
Is there a easy to use RIP DVD software for Mac? Neonguy Mac Basics and Help 3 Dec 8, 2006 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC