Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2003, 04:14 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Apple Remote Desktop Client Update

ThinkSecret reports that Apple's Remote Desktop Client software will see a minor update soon.
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2003, 07:28 AM   #2
TylerL
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Anyone here running 10.3.x Client machines on a Netinfo-bound 10.2.x Server network should be celebrating.
This will most likely fix the "loginwindow won't come back after home folder user logout" bug.

..what? You haven't heard of it?


Last edited by TylerL; Dec 11, 2003 at 07:31 AM.
TylerL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2003, 03:55 PM   #3
cpjakes
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Buffalo, NY
Maybe another issue...

I have Remote Desktop running on both my PowerMac and TiBook, wirelessly through a Netgear router. The PowerMac is in my basement and it seems that I can only get a Rendezvous connection when I'm above the PowerMac. Anywhere else where it's through the router doesn't seem to want to connect. But they all still have local IPs through the router. Maybe this will be fixed...

Anyone else with this problem? Anyone?
cpjakes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2003, 01:45 PM   #4
louden
macrumors 65816
 
louden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Is there a Windows Remote Desktop Client?

I'd like to be able to run my Mac from a client on a Windows PC.

Possible?
louden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2003, 12:50 PM   #5
lewdvig
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Pole
Quote:
Originally posted by louden
Is there a Windows Remote Desktop Client?

I'd like to be able to run my Mac from a client on a Windows PC.

Possible?
You can do this in reverse order with the MS RDC client for Mac. Apple's RDC is Mac to Mac only. Too bad, eh?

How well does Apple's RDC client work on say a slow Mac laptop controlling a fast Mac desktop? I am think Pismo to MDD...
__________________
Zealot without a cause. I run an orchard.
lewdvig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2004, 05:14 PM   #6
jcaldwell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
windows remote desktop

Yes, they do and it is on XP pro and xp, it can alos be downloaded. BUT I too wanted to load my mac using the windows remoted desktop and I cannot get it to work. Macs remote workls great on pc's but not visa versa damned shame...there was one member saying she was keeping an eye on her son using Windows remote desktop watching his Mac, I left a question asking how, but never got a responce


Quote:
Originally Posted by louden
Is there a Windows Remote Desktop Client?

I'd like to be able to run my Mac from a client on a Windows PC.

Possible?
jcaldwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2004, 05:26 PM   #7
bondjw07
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Remote Connection Through VNC

I wanted to do the same thing you are. So I learned about VNC. This will allow you to access your Mac from any PC with an internet connection.

VNC works by having a server-client relationship. The installer for mac can be found here http://www.redstonesoftware.com/vnc.html

This is not a viewer, will just make your computer available to be connected to.

Then you need to get a viewer for the PC. That can be found at www.realvnc.com

I just downloaded the .exe file and keep in on my USB thumb drive and take it to a computer and run it from there.

Well, that is about it, hope this helps!!!
~Jay
bondjw07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2004, 11:10 PM   #8
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
VNC is a wonderful, free set of programs. What does ARD offer to justify the cost?
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2004, 02:05 PM   #9
SpaceInc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
ARD vs VNC

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsw
VNC is a wonderful, free set of programs. What does ARD offer to justify the cost?
With ARD You can install software over network to the client machine, U can manage huge group of macs with one click, observe, control, take reports, lock the mac, share Your screen to the client "I show to You how You should do this and that" etc. ADR is the best solution for admins and teatchers for remote access. And it is secure with the connection.

With VNC...er...You can have the screen of the client...unsecured. I have heard that there are some versions of VNC that use SSH but I have not found them.

Anyways, ARD is for heavy users and VNC is just for remote control/access.



"When I do get my 2xG5 Cube? Ma-a!"
__________________
Ah hum er oh yeah!
SpaceInc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAUTION: Apple Remote Desktop 3.7.0 Update Frost7 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Nov 4, 2013 10:42 AM
Update Apple Remote Desktop 2.2 to 3+? sniffs Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jun 18, 2013 11:01 AM
Apple Remote Desktop Capable Thin Client osx-addict Mac mini 11 Jun 13, 2013 01:32 AM
REWARD: Best Remote Desktop client - for me. TSE iPad Apps 9 Feb 12, 2013 01:08 PM
Remote Desktop Client TSE iPad 2 Jun 25, 2012 04:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC