Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tannerozzy

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 2, 2008
Waco, Texas
I'm fairly new to macs. I got my first a few months ago (the Air) and I LOVE it! But something has been bugging me since I got it.

When you delete text on windows you hold backspace and it deletes the characters one at a time for about half a second, then it speeds up a lot and deletes them quickly. I can't figure out how to do that on a mac though. When you backspace on a mac you hold delete but it never speeds up.

I've looked through forums and stuff and can't find anything else on this problem. I don't know if that means there's a really simple solution, or if it's just something that nobody really cares enough about to mention.

Has anybody else noticed this, or have a solution?

Tannerozzy

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 2, 2008
Waco, Texas
Man, that's horrible reasoning :(
I don't really think it's faster to move from the keyboard to the mouse, selecting it with the mouse then pressing delete. I'd rather just hold delete til I got where I needed.

And yea, I guess I could see how deleting too much could be an issue. But I've used windows for 15 years before my mac... I've pretty much gotten down exactly how long to hold it.

So there isn't any kind of application out there that will do this?

Tallest Skil

macrumors P6
Aug 13, 2006
1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Part of switching to OS X is to not make it be Windows. Let it do its thing; it knows what's best.

Granted, change settings so you're happy, but Delete is Delete. You can't really change that, and there's no market for apps that do.

CANONinDevin

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2009
Click on the :apple: Button in the Top Left Corner of the Screen

Go to System Preferences

Click on Keyboard & Mouse

In the Keyboard Tab, switch Key Repeat Rate to fastest. This increases the speed of holding down the backspace.