Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 6, 2008, 09:18 AM   #1
mikeyPotg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Should I use Compressor to Encode for DVDs?

Hello,

I've always just exported movies on FCP as QT movies. Then if I needed to make it smaller, I'd use QT time change the file sizes and all, otherwise I'd just click and drag the export to DVD SP or iDVD.

I'm wondering though, can I get a higher quality export if I use Compressor? Or (what I'm trying now) if I put the exported video into Compressor and use "DVD: Best Quality 90 minute" settings.

I'm really new to this whole Compressor program, and basically, I'm just wondering if it can help me get a higher quality video for DVD's or if the way I've been doing it is fine.

Any advice is always greatly appreciated!
mikeyPotg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2008, 11:20 AM   #2
Peel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle
What codec were you exporting to in QT? Unless you were doing a MPEG2 export DVDSP is transcoding your output to MPEG2 , so you're getting a generational loss.
__________________
24" Aluminum iMac 2.8GHz/4GB/500GB+1.5TB External HD
MacBook Black C2D 2GB/160GB
8GB iPhone
Peel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2008, 11:27 AM   #3
mikeyPotg
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Out of FCP, I export to a QT movie with "Current Settings".
I don't see an option to change the codec settings when I export as a QT movie.

I only use QT to export if I want to make it a smaller file size for the web. Otherwise, I just click & drag the FCP exported file to DVD SP or iDVD.
mikeyPotg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2008, 11:35 AM   #4
Peel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyPotg View Post
Out of FCP, I export to a QT movie with "Current Settings".
I don't see an option to change the codec settings when I export as a QT movie.

I only use QT to export if I want to make it a smaller file size for the web. Otherwise, I just click & drag the FCP exported file to DVD SP or iDVD.
Yeah, you'll get a lot higher quality is you choose Export -> Using Compressor. Then in compressor, choose DVD:Best Quality 90 Minutes (or whatever is the appropriate length). You want to make sure you grab the entire DVD 90 min folder, so that you get both the video and sound portions. This will create two jobs in Compressor (again, video and sound). Make sure you drag both of these files into DVDSP, and you'll be ready to burn a higher quality DVD. You'll also note that the DVDSP process will be a lot faster, as the output from Compressor is exactly what DVDSP needs to burn, and there's no transcoding process to do.
__________________
24" Aluminum iMac 2.8GHz/4GB/500GB+1.5TB External HD
MacBook Black C2D 2GB/160GB
8GB iPhone
Peel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2008, 08:57 PM   #5
firststarmedia
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peel View Post
Make sure you drag both of these files into DVDSP, and you'll be ready to burn a higher quality DVD. .
Is there a way to use compressor files with IDVD? When I export into compressor I haven't found a way to make a file with both video AND audio together.
firststarmedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2008, 12:39 AM   #6
mikeyPotg
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peel View Post
Yeah, you'll get a lot higher quality is you choose Export -> Using Compressor. Then in compressor, choose DVD:Best Quality 90 Minutes (or whatever is the appropriate length). You want to make sure you grab the entire DVD 90 min folder, so that you get both the video and sound portions. This will create two jobs in Compressor (again, video and sound). Make sure you drag both of these files into DVDSP, and you'll be ready to burn a higher quality DVD. You'll also note that the DVDSP process will be a lot faster, as the output from Compressor is exactly what DVDSP needs to burn, and there's no transcoding process to do.
Thanks! I just tested it out and I can certainly see the difference. First off, the original DVD was about 2.1 GB and now it's 3.1 GB. I can certainly see the difference in quality of the video, primarily when I see things like titles. Before I could see the pixels in the titles and that would irritate me but now it's nice and crisp!

I haven't tried getting the 2 separate files to work in iDVD, but if you have DVD SP, I'd recommend giving that a go. It was intimidating to me at first, but after messing around with it and looking at a few online tutorials, I'm getting the hang of it nicely now.
mikeyPotg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2008, 06:37 AM   #7
McDughf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Great Britain
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyPotg View Post
Out of FCP, I export to a QT movie with "Current Settings".
I don't see an option to change the codec settings when I export as a QT movie.

...
The "Current Settings" Refers To The Current "Sequence Settings", Which Can Be Changed From FCP Menu Sequence->Settings. You Can Change The Codec From The "QuickTime Settings" Area.
McDughf is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to encode tv shows into itunes TV Show format pectin232 iPad Apps 0 Mar 31, 2014 09:53 PM
OSX Crash with Video Encode dfuerpo OS X 3 Feb 13, 2014 12:24 PM
Resolved: encode/decode custom object erdinc27 iPhone/iPad Programming 3 Jan 21, 2014 01:38 AM
AAC Encode Settings [XLD] Dnix Digital Audio 10 Sep 9, 2013 08:00 PM
Re-encode audio to filter out severe static? iphoneZ Digital Audio 3 Apr 5, 2013 02:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps