Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Old Jul 9, 2008, 03:46 AM   #1
dee dee
macrumors newbie

Start-up trouble: screen shows circle with diagonal line through it

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here... My thanks in advance for an advice imparted in regards to the above....

i.e: my G4 Quicksilver, running OSX10.3.9, is starting up with an odd screen: a circle with a line running diagonally through it, similar to a no smoking sign... I hope that makes sense!

I have tried doing an archive and install but it hasn't fixed the problem, as i assumed it would...

any ideas? what does this screen mean?

any help very appreciated..

dd
dee dee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2008, 08:46 AM   #2
matt321
macrumors member

Here is the apple link that tells you all about it:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106805

The cirlce with the diagonal is called a "prohibitory sign" indicating a critical file/folder is missing, not allowing you to boot up.

My suggestion would be to do a clean install on a different hard drive, if you have one. Then migrate your user profile over.
Old Jul 9, 2008, 08:56 AM   #3
zmttoxics
macrumors 65816

Quote:
Originally Posted by dee dee View Post
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here... My thanks in advance for an advice imparted in regards to the above....

i.e: my G4 Quicksilver, running OSX10.3.9, is starting up with an odd screen: a circle with a line running diagonally through it, similar to a no smoking sign... I hope that makes sense!

I have tried doing an archive and install but it hasn't fixed the problem, as i assumed it would...

any ideas? what does this screen mean?

any help very appreciated..

dd