Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 10, 2008, 10:11 PM   #1
plasticmoz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Modem Firmware Downgrade Question (2.0 leaked firmware issue)

After installing the 2.0 firmware I managed to go back to 1.1.4 via pwnage though my baseband version is 04.05.04_G (I believe this came with the 2.0 update) and bootloader 3.9.

Is there anyway to go down from 04.05.04_G so I can unlock my phone again? Currently it's jailbroken but not unlocked and bootneuter won't change either probably because the baseband is something higher.

So in short

my baseband is 04.05.04_G (from the leaked 2.0 I presume)

Firmware: 1.1.4

Bootloader: 3.9

Not unlocked, not neutered.


Bootneuter fails at unlocking or reverting to 4.6 (error-5), otherwise the phone works fine.


Thanks,

Last edited by plasticmoz; Jul 10, 2008 at 10:46 PM.
plasticmoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 01:56 AM   #2
plasticmoz
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Would appreciate an answer here --

Currently the phone works fine, installer is on there -- versions are as listed.

However, the phone isn't unlocked and my usual ATT SIM (not iphone data plan) is showing no signal and I cannot connect to the network.

I guess I am waiting for the dev team's 2.0 unlock release but I thought I would be able to unlock the phone since it's back to 1.1.4 -- but I guess the updated baseband is holding that back.
plasticmoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 05:12 PM   #3
andyhargreaves
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Hi

I'm stuck in the same situation as you, sorry I can't really help. Just wanted to let you know you're not alone.

All the solutions I have found online take me around in circles - to make the downgrade work I need BootNeuter, but to make BootNeuter to work the downgrade needs to complete.

Dammit!
andyhargreaves is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 05:26 PM   #4
matinez
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Hi I'am also in the same loop of upgrading.
I am trying to downgrade my baseband, if it helps me out.. I post an tutorial.

EDIT
MINE WORKS, yeah!!

1. You need to erase baseband 04.05.04_G
2A. Windows client: http://rapidshare.com/files/11940767...04.05.04_G.zip
2B. Mac client: http://rapidshare.com/files/11940767....04_G__En_.zip
3. After erasing you should have now, 04.03.13_G

YEAH!

Last edited by matinez; Jul 11, 2008 at 06:20 PM.
matinez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 08:41 PM   #5
activea
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
I have tested matinez solution for windows.. and it works...(i have checked and the 3 check boxes and then Started the program) now i have my phone back working!!!

thanks a lot
activea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 09:36 PM   #6
plasticmoz
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Trying this now -- I was just going to wait for pwnage 2.0 but I'll try it.

Having some trouble simply restoring 1.1.4 from 2.0 official (gives me error 20) but once I do it I'll try the baseband eraser.
plasticmoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 10:49 PM   #7
Busynow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuwait
Quote:
Originally Posted by matinez View Post
Hi I'am also in the same loop of upgrading.
I am trying to downgrade my baseband, if it helps me out.. I post an tutorial.

EDIT
MINE WORKS, yeah!!

1. You need to erase baseband 04.05.04_G
2A. Windows client: http://rapidshare.com/files/11940767...04.05.04_G.zip
2B. Mac client: http://rapidshare.com/files/11940767....04_G__En_.zip
3. After erasing you should have now, 04.03.13_G

YEAH!
Thanks my phone works now.
Today i updated to 2.0 , i downgraded to 1.1.4 but the phone didnot work,
but now its working.
I used the hacked ziphone (mac version )
i just checked Downgrade baseband and clicked on start 3 minutes everthing work.

Last edited by Busynow; Jul 11, 2008 at 11:01 PM.
Busynow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 11:19 PM   #8
macdre
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Talking

Thank you matinez!!!!

I have been trying all day to fix my iPhone. It finally works.

This is what I did:

1. Put the iPhone in DFU mode.
2. Restore in iTunes to 1.1.4.
3. Received error 1015.
4. Ran the modified version of ZiPhone with all 3 boxes checked. (The version matinez posted)
5. Put the iPhone in restore mode.
6. Restore in ITunes to 1.1.4.. again... No errors this time.
7. Used the standard ZiPhone 3.0 to "Do it all".
8. It works!

I've tried so many different methods today. I don't know if I ended up putting the phone in a strange state, but that second restore was necessary to get it back up and running.

Hope this helps.
macdre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 03:04 AM   #9
andyhargreaves
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdre View Post
This is what I did:

1. Put the iPhone in DFU mode.
2. Restore in iTunes to 1.1.4.
3. Received error 1015.
4. Ran the modified version of ZiPhone with all 3 boxes checked. (The version matinez posted)
5. Put the iPhone in restore mode.
6. Restore in ITunes to 1.1.4.. again... No errors this time.
7. Used the standard ZiPhone 3.0 to "Do it all".
Me too. Now cue nervous biting of teeth and drinking of coffee.....




Quote:
Originally Posted by macdre View Post
8. It works!
Me too!!!!

Cheers guys. Martinez, macdre, if I can buy you guys a beer feel free to pm me your paypal addys!

Take care

Andy
andyhargreaves is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 04:27 AM   #10
SimonJ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Could one of you possibly upload the patched ZiPhone somewhere else than rapidshare.com?
SimonJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 04:45 AM   #11
matinez
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonJ View Post
Could one of you possibly upload the patched ZiPhone somewhere else than rapidshare.com?
windows
http://www.hosting2.hu.nl/1537917/_E...04.05.04_G.zip

Mac
http://www.hosting2.hu.nl/1537917/Zi....04_G__En_.zip

No big mirror, hope it stands :P
matinez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 04:56 AM   #12
SimonJ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Quote:
Originally Posted by matinez View Post
Thanks man!
SimonJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 06:13 AM   #13
Haukka
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Hmm, the modified version of ZiPhone doesn't run on either of my macs. It crashes. Tried downloading from both locations, weird.
Haukka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 06:24 AM   #14
matinez
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haukka View Post
Hmm, the modified version of ZiPhone doesn't run on either of my macs. It crashes. Tried downloading from both locations, weird.
I used leopard 10.5.4
Try windows?
matinez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 06:29 AM   #15
Haukka
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Might be that, I got tiger on both. But I tried the windows one too now, (Windows XP) and I get an error there too.

It seems this really isn't my day.
Haukka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 07:19 AM   #16
Haukka
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
After installing iTunes for windows it started working. Thanks, now the baseband is downgraded.
Haukka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 10:34 AM   #17
plasticmoz
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
To the people who got it working, was your iphone in the official 2.0 firmware state when you started? or the unofficial version that was leaked the day before?
plasticmoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 12:01 PM   #18
SimonJ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticmoz View Post
To the people who got it working, was your iphone in the official 2.0 firmware state when you started? or the unofficial version that was leaked the day before?
The official one, although partially downgraded to 1.1.4 (through iTunes 7.5 and DFU mode...)
SimonJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 12:04 PM   #19
plasticmoz
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Got it working -- key really is iTunes 7.5 and DFU to get the 1015 error. After that it's gravy. The step about erasing your baseband is also pretty vital and previously missing from the bigboss guide.

Now I have a working phone till pwnage 2.0.


Thanks guys.


Seems like my SMS is broken though (error sending message).

Last edited by plasticmoz; Jul 12, 2008 at 02:07 PM.
plasticmoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 05:25 PM   #20
matinez
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticmoz View Post
Got it working -- key really is iTunes 7.5 and DFU to get the 1015 error. After that it's gravy. The step about erasing your baseband is also pretty vital and previously missing from the bigboss guide.

Now I have a working phone till pwnage 2.0.


Thanks guys.


Seems like my SMS is broken though (error sending message).
Mine isn't broken, I've sent and received messages tonight.
matinez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 06:01 PM   #21
boojie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Angry im so confused!

ok so long story short...had a 1.1.4 unlocked activvated and jailbroken vvia Ziphone and dumb me upgraded todayy and now im stuck!!!! ofcourse ziphone 3.0 cant do anything once it reboots in recovveryy mode...the connect to itunes message just stays...can someone please help me!!!!!
boojie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 06:11 PM   #22
JeimyGirl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
You guys are so freaking awesome!!! I have literally been on this computer for 24 hours trying to fix t, and this very small thing did it! thank you so much!!!!! :-DD
JeimyGirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 09:06 PM   #23
ultraonion
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
arghhh ...i cant restore my iphone using itunes 7.5, this is what it says "software for this iphone is currently not available, make sure you have the latest version of itunes before trying ." can any1 help??
ultraonion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 11:35 PM   #24
macdre
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
A few more points for anyone still stuck:
  • You definately need an older version of iTunes, I used 7.5
  • You must use DFU mode to restore the first time. Look up how to do that. Its not the normal restore mode - The screen is blank during patching.
  • You may need to download the 1.1.4 firmware version separately and force iTunes to use it if it insists on trying a different version. For Windows - hold shift while clicking on restore. OSX - Hold option while clicking on restore - then select the firmware.

I did this all in windows because I didn't want to mess with downgrading iTunes from 7.7 to something earlier in OSX.

Good luck!
macdre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2008, 02:11 AM   #25
andyhargreaves
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticmoz View Post
Seems like my SMS is broken though (error sending message).
I had that at first, but it worked with different sim cards so I ignored it...
__________________
This account is no longer used, due to unnecessary abuse from other members.
So long, MacRumors, it has been fun until recently.
andyhargreaves is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: iOS 7 BETA Baseband/Modem Firmware CanesDrew iOS 7 2 Jul 29, 2013 04:46 PM
Modem firmware question Ijustwannaknow iPhone 1 Apr 28, 2013 04:50 PM
JAILBROKEN IPHONE 4S, 5.1.1, modem firmware 1.0.13 LoMayoKicksU iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Apr 23, 2013 02:23 PM
T-Mobile iPhone 5 Modem Firmware? mike5411 iPhone 4 Apr 12, 2013 12:12 PM
iOS6 Modem Firmware LaNina iOS 6 2 Sep 19, 2012 01:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC