Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 11, 2008, 07:39 AM   #1
jonnyb
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Add remote in Apple TV greyed out

So I've got my iPhone 3G and I've updated my Apple TV to 2.1 but when I go to set up a new remote on the Apple TV, 'add remote' is greyed out. Can anyone tell me what I've done wrong?

thanks
jonnyb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 08:12 AM   #2
ayale99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyb View Post
So I've got my iPhone 3G and I've updated my Apple TV to 2.1 but when I go to set up a new remote on the Apple TV, 'add remote' is greyed out. Can anyone tell me what I've done wrong?

thanks
I had that problem at first too. You have to have your iphone on with the remote app running. AppleTv will then recognize it. Then all you have to do is enter the passcode.
ayale99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 08:38 AM   #3
jonnyb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayale99 View Post
I had that problem at first too. You have to have your iphone on with the remote app running. AppleTv will then recognize it. Then all you have to do is enter the passcode.
Hmm..I've done that but it's still greyed out. It's driving me nuts!
jonnyb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 09:07 AM   #4
kevinbal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Storrs, CT
Send a message via AIM to kevinbal
I'm having this same issue but I think it is the setup that I have that is the problem. I've got an airport express hooked up to the airport extreme. I keep the b/g devices on the express and N only devices on the extreme. I'm not quite sure how to alleviate this problem at the moment.
__________________
2.5 Ghz i5 Mac Mini with SSD // 1.3 Ghz i5 13" MBA // 16 GB iPhone 5 // 32 GB iPad Air (T-Mobile) // TV (2 and 3)
kevinbal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 10:00 AM   #5
omni
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I had the same issue and I finally figured out what's going on.

Update itunes to 7.7 obviously
Update AppleTV obviously
Update iPhone/iTouch obviously
Download and install Remote app

Go to settings, general, remotes on the appleTV and then open up the Remote app on the iPhone and push settings on the App until you get to choose a library. From there everything should light up like a christmas tree. Mine is already working but you might need to click on Add Library to make everything light up. Either way you should get a 4 digit code from the remote app that you need to input into the AppleTV itself.
omni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2008, 10:43 AM   #6
jonnyb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Thank you very much - that worked perfectly!
jonnyb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2008, 01:12 PM   #7
Kyle-N
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
tried it - still no good

I'm running into the same problem and tried your advice with no luck.

updated my iTunes, updated my AppleTV, updated my iPhone 3G, I even deleted and re-installed the Remote App, but "Add Remote" in my AppleTV's remote settings is "greyed out."

No problem adding my iTunes library, though. And, I tried adding my iTunes library first or adding AppleTV first. I tried every combination of opening AppleTV's setting then Remote App Settings, or vice versa.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Last edited by Kyle-N; Aug 2, 2008 at 01:18 PM.
Kyle-N is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2008, 01:16 PM   #8
benlee
macrumors 65816
 
benlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Make sure you are connected to the same network.

Open up the settings on Apple TV first. Then open up the remote app.

Try rebooting both if still not working.
benlee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2008, 05:57 AM   #9
rules909
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Maybe too simple but... make sure you are connected wireless.
Cable won't work.
rules909 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2008, 06:49 AM   #10
Monetthecat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Connecting by ethernet (cable?) works perfectly. I'm connected via ethernet and have no issues using my iPod Touch as a remote
Monetthecat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2008, 03:45 PM   #11
rules909
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monetthecat View Post
Connecting by ethernet (cable?) works perfectly. I'm connected via ethernet and have no issues using my iPod Touch as a remote
Really? My Iphone remote can't find the apple tv when connected wireless. It works well wireless. Weird..

Last edited by rules909; Aug 4, 2008 at 05:52 PM.
rules909 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 05:55 PM   #12
rules909
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Does anyone have a solution to this problem?
I would love to get it to work via Ethernet.
My setup:
Internet->Router(wired)->iMac->wireless to Iphone
->Router(wired)->Apple tv

So when I unplug the Ethernet cable from my atv and switch to wireless the iPhone remote works.

Help appreciated.
rules909 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2009, 01:26 PM   #13
ladysman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rules909 View Post
Does anyone have a solution to this problem?
I would love to get it to work via Ethernet.
My setup:
Internet->Router(wired)->iMac->wireless to Iphone
->Router(wired)->Apple tv

So when I unplug the Ethernet cable from my atv and switch to wireless the iPhone remote works.

Help appreciated.
I know, i know, this is a very old thread but i'm having the same problem. Although my apple TV is on wireless and the remote app will NOT connect to it unless I put it on the network via LAN cable.

I have 2 appleTV's and one of them is on LAN and one is wifi. The one on the LAN i have zero issues with the Remote App. The one I have on wifi, i can't use the remote app unless i hook it up via a LAN cable connection. As soon as I disconnect it, it shows our iphones but the remote app won't connect to control it.

Anyone else have this problem?
ladysman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2009, 08:25 PM   #14
ladysman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Anyone??
ladysman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2009, 08:33 PM   #15
jwcoleman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Same problem. Mac Pro ethernet, Apple TV ethernet, Airport express ethernet. Remote recognized itunes library and appletv before snow leopard.
jwcoleman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2009, 02:27 AM   #16
MyMacDaddy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Solved!

You have to go to settings in the Remote app on your iPhone (or iPod Touch) and Add Library. A series of 4 numbers will come up. This threw me because I'd just added a library which linked to my music library. I thought that it was prompting me to add those numbers again on my Mac.

But instead I went to the remote setting on my Apple TV and...lo and behold...it wasn't greyed out anymore. I just entered those numbers on the TV and it worked.
MyMacDaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Doesn't apple add an App store for Apple TV?? peteo Apple TV and Home Theater 24 Jan 15, 2014 12:34 PM
Remote iOS App Updated to Add iTunes Radio Control on Mac or PC MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 26 Dec 17, 2013 11:27 AM
Is there a way of setting up the remote app without apple tv remote? carlmacdiarmada Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Dec 8, 2013 12:57 PM
How can I add 2 Apple gift cards to the Apple Store iPhone app? DaveTheRave Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 16, 2013 09:08 AM
Apple TV remote as Wifi remote for other components cray410 Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Mar 6, 2013 09:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC