Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 12, 2008, 01:28 PM   #1
RustyM
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
No SIM error on iPhone 3G

My iPhone 3G says I have no SIM card installed. And, of course, all phone operation isn't happening right now. Restarts aren't fixing it. Tried popping out the sim card and also syncing with iTunes. I'll head out to the apple store in an hour or so.

Anyone else having this problem?
RustyM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 01:38 PM   #2
Cudadown
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I had that problem with my 1st gen iPhone. I had to take out the sim, clean contacts and noticed the sim card was a little warped. I gently took the warp out of the sim by bending it a little and it has never done the error since.
Cudadown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 02:03 PM   #3
RustyM
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Hey Hey! I just followed your advise. The sim wasn't warped, but I used a bit of spit shine to clean the contacts. It worked! Thanks Cudadown.
RustyM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 07:24 PM   #4
tekachen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
this happened to me too. thanks for the tip. i didn't even think to check the sim...
tekachen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2008, 05:10 AM   #5
julE
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Hi you guys,

I'm new around here, i had the same problem, found this solution, it's quite similar to the one suggested here, so i guess this is quite a popular problem. This is what i found -
http://www.fixya.com/support/t777183...card_installed


I hope i helped a bit,
have a good weekend,
Julie.
julE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2009, 12:38 PM   #6
mfantom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
had an actual problem with my SIM card

I am an addict and could not wait to get to the store so I first tried resetting "network" and then "all" settings to no avail. After also tring to remove and replace the SIM card without that fixing the problem I decided to look at my actual SIM card for problems and when I did I found a tiny piece of something that was bridging the gap between two of the connector plates on the card. The gap is tiny but I saw it and removed it by brushing it away with my fingernail. When I inserted it back in the phone it came right up.

Maybe I am lucky or maybe this was a real fix but worth looking at if you are having this issue I guess.

cheers
mfantom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 10:14 AM   #7
GirliPhone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I live in the SF Bay area, which has notoriously bad 3G network service, and my iPhone is about 9 months old. I went to sleep listening to music on my iPhone and woke up to the "No SIM installed" message.

I'm in favor of starting with the least invasive solutions first, so I did a few hard reboots. It didn't work.

I read about resetting network connections as a solution and was about to do that next when I read somewhere to try putting the phone into "Airplane Mode" and doing a hard reboot, then taking it off "Airplane Mode". THIS WORKED for me. As soon as I took it off "Airplane Mode" it redetected the network.
GirliPhone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 12:43 PM   #8
Storm Shadow
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I had this problem and it wouldnt go away. It just randomly started happening the other day. I had the SIM tested by O2 and it was working fine so booked an appointment with an Apple Genius and they replaced the handset there and then - the genius thought the SIM reader may have been faulty.

I dont know if maybe this is a larger problem and perhaps mine just died completely whereas others may just have temperamental SIM readers..
__________________
Aluminium Macbook iPhone 4
Storm Shadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 01:51 AM   #9
polynikes1k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
cleaning my sim card off worked, but it still read "No SIM" until I turned airplane mode on then back off. fired right up away after that. yay
polynikes1k is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using iPhone 3G as a GoPhone? benhollberg iPhone 40 Nov 13, 2012 09:48 PM
Transferring info on old iPhone 3G sim card to new iPhone 4s zachleon11 iPhone 5 Oct 14, 2011 04:36 PM
is it ok to restore my unlocked iphone 3g? & no pushnotifications/unlocked iphone? poohbear19 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Dec 10, 2010 07:55 PM
NO SIM indicator on iPhone 4 dwcerra iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jun 26, 2010 09:28 PM
"No Sim Card Inserted" error on Iphone 3G absolutic iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Jul 19, 2008 06:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC