Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SirJ

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 29, 2008
hey guys,
i'll be honest i'm not in the market for a new laptop right now (waiting out for nehalem or whatever's out by next summer) but i am a musician and use several DAWs and Reason to create, record and produce my own music.
My question is, however, as a college student needing a laptop, would a macbook suffice for this kind of workload? i dont know if i'd be running anything graphically intensive but i have been getting into photoshop and am working with a friend in video production so there's a potential there, but based solely on the music aspect which would you recommend?

nephilim7

macrumors regular
Jun 13, 2008
I use a macbook pro as my main music machine. I use logic pro as my main daw without a problem. The other day for kicks I had reason, max/msp, 6 instaces of Massive, 14 instances of Kontakt3, some fairly serious filter plugins and 2 instances of structure and it handled it all.

with a decent firewire interface (I use a MOTU traveller) like a firebox or an onyx satellite I can literally replace what filled an entire room 15 years ago on the space of a coffee table.

to be totally honest a regular macbook can do just as well, the main reason I got a pro 17" is for screen real estate (you can get a 1920x1200 hd screen as an option).. and plastic makes my skin crawl.. mbp has some serious style.

if you have any specific questions I'd be happy to answer them.

best

brodeur

macrumors newbie
May 21, 2008
the graphics card is irrelevant for imaging/video work... that relies on the CPU, mostly. though snow leopard might change that somehow, i don't know.