Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 12, 2008, 08:02 PM   #1
bigandy
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murka
iPhone 3G GPS Accuracy

I've been toying around with the Maps app on my new 3G, and have noticed some serious issues with the accuracy when grabbing my location...

See the map below? I'm where the bright red dot is. The iPhone keeps telling me I'm where the bright green dot is. That's a difference of 380 miles.






Has anyone else had an issue with glaring issues with accuracy? It's making me think there might be a problem with my iPhone.



And the really scary thing is that the place it keeps pinpointing me at is where I used to live!
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 08:04 PM   #2
tttexxan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
No issues here but the GPS is a JOKE!!!!!!!!
Map does not reorient and dot often goes off the screen without refreshing?? Come on

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigandy View Post
I've been toying around with the Maps app on my new 3G, and have noticed some serious issues with the accuracy when grabbing my location...

See the map below? I'm where the bright red dot is. The iPhone keeps telling me I'm where the bright green dot is. That's a difference of 380 miles.






Has anyone else had an issue with glaring issues with accuracy? It's making me think there might be a problem with my iPhone.



And the really scary thing is that the place it keeps pinpointing me at is where I used to live!
tttexxan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 08:05 PM   #3
rfrankl
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigandy View Post
I've been toying around with the Maps app on my new 3G, and have noticed some serious issues with the accuracy when grabbing my location...

See the map below? I'm where the bright red dot is. The iPhone keeps telling me I'm where the bright green dot is. That's a difference of 380 miles.






Has anyone else had an issue with glaring issues with accuracy? It's making me think there might be a problem with my iPhone.



And the really scary thing is that the place it keeps pinpointing me at is where I used to live!
Are you inside or outside when doing this? GPS does not do well inside. When I am outside, the GPS is dead on and comes up quick.
rfrankl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 08:12 PM   #4
bigandy
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murka
Both inside and outside.

I've tried in a few different locations, but I'm not going back to the Apple Store until Wednesday.. I'll hope I can find it works somewhere, but SRSLY? Almost 400 miles out? Yeesh.
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 08:12 PM   #5
SteveMc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
So far, it seems solid enough - within 25-30 feet from what I've been testing so far.
SteveMc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 08:15 PM   #6
MadGoat
macrumors 65816
 
MadGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
I've enjoyed it immensely , always within a few meters of my position
__________________
I have a computer and a cell phone
(Why do people list an inventory of their products?)
MadGoat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 08:20 PM   #7
mpw
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigandy View Post
...See the map below? I'm where the bright red dot is. The iPhone keeps telling me I'm where the bright green dot is. That's a difference of 380 miles...
Wanna choose your hardware? No chance, you must use the hardware Apple choose to let you.
Wanna choose your service provider? No chance, you must use the service provider Apple choose to let you.
Wanna choose where to live? No chance you must live at the place Apple allocate you!
mpw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2008, 08:22 PM   #8
bigandy
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murka
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpw View Post
Wanna choose your hardware? No chance, you must use the hardware Apple choose to let you.
Wanna choose your service provider? No chance, you must use the service provider Apple choose to let you.
Wanna choose where to live? No chance you must live at the place Apple allocate you!
congrats on your humour, as usual

Scary thing is I did live there until two months ago! Maybe I should move back, so the GPS is right.
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 08:23 AM   #9
firestarter
macrumors Demi-God
 
firestarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Green and pleasant land
For some reason the 'GPS' has chosen to override itself by using wi-fi based location.

The reason it thinks you're where you used to live is that the Skyhook database still thinks your wifi router's location is where it used to be.

I understand that their database will 'heal' itself after a week or two, based on it seeing other wifi routers in your area (if your new home hadn't been mapped, then you may be out of luck - I can't see a way on the skyhook website to get them to forget a previous entry).
firestarter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 08:29 AM   #10
vertigomhs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
make sure wifi is off, and then let gps do the locating because if your on wifi it just uses that for some reason, mines is pretty accurate within 10 feet or so, says im in neighbors backyard.
vertigomhs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 09:03 AM   #11
JeromeOD
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by tttexxan View Post
No issues here but the GPS is a JOKE!!!!!!!!
Map does not reorient and dot often goes off the screen without refreshing?? Come on
Er....keep the blue "locate" button bottom left lit and the map will track.
JeromeOD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 11:15 AM   #12
byron_hinson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Been fine for me when walking - tried it in the car with the misses and I get the feeling turn by turn will have problems as it doesn't seem to keep up as well as other GPS navigation hardware.
__________________
Byron Hinson
http://www.neowin.net/
http://www.byronhinson.com
byron_hinson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 11:58 AM   #13
animenick65
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
The GPS seems pretty accurate here, its Google Maps that sucks wind. Sometimes it keeps the dot centered, sometimes it doesn't and you have to manually move the map as you go. Its also extremely slow to download even the simple map. This map data is extremely simple and should download quickly even over edge speeds. The device waiting on parts of the map to download has cost me quite a bit of gas and time already missing exits. Why can't map data be cached? Many parts of the map where I live are also outdated. Whats the point of having real time map downloads if the maps are incorrect? Would seem to me they should be more accurate if you are downloading the info on the fly.
animenick65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 12:06 PM   #14
The General
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tttexxan View Post
No issues here but the GPS is a JOKE!!!!!!!!
Map does not reorient and dot often goes off the screen without refreshing?? Come on
If you pan around the map and the dot goes off the screen, simply tap the locate button to lock back onto the dot again.

Maybe if it's 380 miles off you have something to worry about ... but the GPS works great, I don't know what you people are expecting. We aren't doing land surveying with this thing, it's a freaking cell phone.

What do you expect, freaking Trimble?
The General is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 02:35 PM   #15
benfilan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ireland
Send a message via Yahoo to benfilan
My iPhone thinks I'm in...

Bangkok!

When I use 'locate me' in google maps it locates me to Bangkok, Thailand. I'm in the north of ireland

It's been doing it for the past 48 hours, after working well initially. I've tried turning 3g off, using wifi only and vice versa....very strange!
__________________
User since 2002
benfilan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 03:32 PM   #16
bigandy
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murka
Quote:
Originally Posted by firestarter View Post
For some reason the 'GPS' has chosen to override itself by using wi-fi based location.

The reason it thinks you're where you used to live is that the Skyhook database still thinks your wifi router's location is where it used to be.

I understand that their database will 'heal' itself after a week or two, based on it seeing other wifi routers in your area (if your new home hadn't been mapped, then you may be out of luck - I can't see a way on the skyhook website to get them to forget a previous entry).
I loved your explanation, but unfortunately, FAIL

- I'm not using any of the same hardware as I was in Scotland right now.

- The iPhone is the new 3G model, and hasn't had a restore from my previous iPhone, so isn't aware of the previous hardware setup I had.


While I can't exactly understand why it chose my previous home as the location to pinpoint me (there really isn't ANYTHING on that phone that could tie me to that place), I've noticed the problem seems to just be with certain areas inside and *around* our house here. Big trees or something.

Today I got the first chance to test properly outside the area, and it was freakishly accurate.

/me is happy now
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 04:28 PM   #17
firestarter
macrumors Demi-God
 
firestarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Green and pleasant land
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigandy View Post
I loved your explanation, but unfortunately, FAIL
G*ddamn!
Quote:
/me is happy now
What, even though you've ruled out the plausible but incorrect reason (skyhook wifi screwup)... and the only reason you're left with is some obscure MI5 / alien conspiracy?

"When you have eliminated the impossible, what is left, no matter how unlikely, is the truth." - Sherlock Holmes/Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

firestarter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 09:08 PM   #18
geekmommy4
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
I've been using the GPS on my phone since Friday and it has been so accurate...so much better than the previous locate functionality.

However, I was at a friend's house last night and she asked to see my phone so I tried to show her the GPS functionality. I was ready for it to lock in on her house, but the blue blip settled about 3 blocks from where we were. After a couple of minutes, it started flying around the intersection near her house. Every once in a while it would settle on her house, but then would start flying around again. It never did settle down on her house. Any idea what would cause this?
geekmommy4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 09:14 PM   #19
csupinski
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cape Canaveral, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by tttexxan View Post
No issues here but the GPS is a JOKE!!!!!!!!
Map does not reorient and dot often goes off the screen without refreshing?? Come on
If you touch the icon on the left lower corner when the blue dot moves off the screen it will make dot appear in the middle of the screen and move with you. The location service (weather triangulation or GPS) works better then anything I've had. I used it yesterday and it was to the foot accurate.
csupinski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 05:21 AM   #20
steveapp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I have had a similar problem with google maps on a windows smartphone, just relying on the cell towers for approx location, when near a mast just east of my village in North East England the map jumps telling me im in Madrid. I suspect that the individual mast is registered as an incorrect location and hence it things im in Madrid. If the iPhone initially relies on that for fast satelite reception which is how I understand it works then it probably wont get a signal as its not where it thinks relative to the satelites, hence the distance.

If im right any other devices that use this method would give the same error - and if you move to a new location a few miles away say, then you will probably find the right location. I did wonder if there was a web site to report these glitches to google, but I was too lazy to search ;-)
steveapp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 07:50 AM   #21
monkeytennis
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
When I'm at home in Battersea my iPhone likes to think I'm locationed a couple of miles from Taunton, in Devon.

However at work, inside and presumably just using the WiFi nodes to navigate, it gets it spot on, right on the corner of Paul and Scrutton Street in Shoreditch.
monkeytennis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 04:56 PM   #22
mrparis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by benfilan View Post
Bangkok!

When I use 'locate me' in google maps it locates me to Bangkok, Thailand. I'm in the north of ireland

It's been doing it for the past 48 hours, after working well initially. I've tried turning 3g off, using wifi only and vice versa....very strange!
Having exactly the same issue. Also in the North of Ireland and GPS tells me I'm in Houston. It did work initially very well, but now can't get the thing to tell me I'm anywhere else but Houston Texas.

Apart from that, extremely happy. 3g working well, wifi excellent and batterylife (kinda) ok.

All happy apart from the GPS problems.
mrparis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2008, 01:08 PM   #23
notsofatjames
macrumors 6502a
 
notsofatjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wales, UK
i never get a gps signal, howver before i upgrade the iPhone always thought i was about 60 miles south of where i was. Hopefully time will correct this.
__________________
Search before you post: MRoogle
notsofatjames is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 12:45 PM   #24
mrparis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Came across this thread in the apple support forums, not sure if anyone else has read it but has resolved my GPS problems

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....7972&tstart=30

Maybe worth a look for anyone still having problems.

Cheers
mrparis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 05:47 PM   #25
john9876
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
My GPS generally works fine (in central Scotland so far) but for some reason inside Glasgow Airport it insisted that I was in Gdansk.

Just before going inside the building and after leaving it located me no problem.

I guess it wouldn't get a GPS lock inside the building so it'll be working on cell towers and/or the WiFi database. I wonder whether they have micro-cells inside the building which confuse the a-gps, or whether there was a Russian with a laptop nearby?

You'd think perhaps the firmware or Google Maps could incorporate some sort of sense-check so that after tracking you around one part of the country for a while it doesn't suddenly try to place you 1,400 miles away a minute later?
john9876 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone battery meter accuracy? Faize iPhone 5 Feb 15, 2014 11:04 PM
Problem with the touch screen accuracy of my new iPhone 5s garycoleman2 iPhone 7 Dec 10, 2013 12:10 AM
Typing accuracy problems iPhone iOS7 BasilFawlty iOS 7 8 Nov 30, 2013 09:26 AM
iPhone's GPS accuracy in the woods moonman239 iPhone 8 May 4, 2013 08:09 PM
iPhone: Losing Gps Accuracy after deleting LaunchDaemons Dron Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jan 3, 2013 02:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC