Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ikarus79m

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 30, 2006
I have discovered an obscurity with my 3G iPhone and MobileMe. Whenever I am connected via 3G or EDGE my mail gets pushed instantaneously to my iPhone.

However, if I am connected via Wifi (at home) push to my iPhone mail application doesn't work anymore.

I can reproduce this every time. Turn on 3G/EDGE, send myself an email: Works. Switch to WiFi, send myself an email... nothing.

Is that weird? Is push not supposed to work via WiFi?

What are you guys observing?

ikarus79m

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 30, 2006
Marksman. Could you try it out right now? See if it works? Just send yourself an Email while the iPhone is connected to Wifi and see if it works.

soLoredd

macrumors 6502a
Mar 12, 2007
California
Count me as one having problems with push over WiFi. I work in a hospital and I lose EDGE constantly so I turned on Airport Mode and WiFi. Nothing pushes to my iPhone now. I tested this by going outside and turning off Airport Mode and WiFi and sure enough, my newly created iCal event pushed to my iPhone (after it synced to the cloud from my Mac - "automatically" :rolleyes: ).

Kind of weird. I wonder why this happens? How can Apple even control something like that?

wolfpackfan

macrumors 68000
Jun 10, 2007
Cary, NC
I am having the very same problems. My iPhone does not have any AT&T service right now, so all I have is WiFi (so it basically works as a Touch). When I initially setup Mobile Me on the iPhone - Calendar, Contacts and Bookmarks are retrieved; but after that nothing else is pushed. I can get email manually, but if I delete an email, it is not deleted on Mobile Me.

markym07931

macrumors regular
May 14, 2008
i don't get push via wifi either...... i've never had any push come through... hang on... let me just turn wifi off, and see what happens!

M