Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 14, 2008, 12:23 AM   #1
MaxaMillion711
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
SD Card Wont Mount - HELP!

hello

I have this card reader



i have this brand new SD card



when I plug the card reader in....and put the SD card in...the card reader blinks the light...and then, on my disk utility...all i see is this:



...so it does not show up on the desktop. it seems i cant mount it. i cant erase it or anything...it says "permission denied" when i try to format it....

any ideas?

here is this also



i have a mac pro too
MaxaMillion711 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2008, 09:41 AM   #2
cyclingplatypus
macrumors 6502a
 
cyclingplatypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Hamsphire
Send a message via Skype™ to cyclingplatypus
Is the little LOCK switch slid to the LOCK position?

I believe that the Belkin "disk" that shows up is actually your new card. If it shows up in disk utilities than it is mounted, just because it isn't showing on the desktop it should show up in finder.

To get it to show on the desktop, go into finder preferences and make sure you have the "external disk" box checked.
cyclingplatypus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 08:07 AM   #3
dashard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York City
Send a message via AIM to dashard
Same issue here. Slightly different Card (2Gb Kingston SD) and slightly different Card reader, but same problem. I get an error...



If I proceed to initialize it, it seems to spin its whells a bit but then throws up an error I've actually never seen before in Disk Utility...



I'm stymied right now. And no, it's NOT LOCKED!
Anyone? Any ideas?
dashard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 08:12 AM   #4
dashard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York City
Send a message via AIM to dashard
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclingplatypus View Post
If it shows up in disk utilities than it is mounted, just because it isn't showing on the desktop it should show up in finder.
You are passing around completely inaccurate information. "Visible to the operating system" does not equal mounted. There's a "disk" (which this is) and there's a "Volume," which is what mounts and appears on the Desktop.

If the "disk" has not been formatted with a "Volume" then the disk is indeed visible to the OS but there is nothing "mounted."

Wanting to help is great, but it's kind of like guessing at driving directions when asked, but not telling the person who's lost that you're guessing. Not such a great thing to do.
dashard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 08:56 AM   #5
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
Are these brandnew SD card - ie unformatted ?

Are you going to use them in a camera or PDA or something - if so format the cards on those devices.

Are you going to use them as storage or something ?
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 05:25 PM   #6
rmb7984
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lawrence, KS
Same problem

What a perfect thread - I'm having a similar problem as dashard. However, my card and reader are not "visible" to the operation system (i.e., they do not show up in disk utility). I use the card in a Canon SD750 digital camera. I've formatted the card using the camera itself, but that didn't seem to help any. My suspicion is that the card needs to be initialized, but I don't know how to do this if my computer doesn't know the card exists! Any insights are greatly appreciated!
rmb7984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 10:34 PM   #7
cyclingplatypus
macrumors 6502a
 
cyclingplatypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Hamsphire
Send a message via Skype™ to cyclingplatypus
Quote:
Originally Posted by dashard View Post
You are passing around completely inaccurate information. "Visible to the operating system" does not equal mounted. There's a "disk" (which this is) and there's a "Volume," which is what mounts and appears on the Desktop.

If the "disk" has not been formatted with a "Volume" then the disk is indeed visible to the OS but there is nothing "mounted."

Wanting to help is great, but it's kind of like guessing at driving directions when asked, but not telling the person who's lost that you're guessing. Not such a great thing to do.
Actually, I was saying that if you have "Show External Disks on Desktop" box unchecked as I have pictured here a volume won't be visible on the desktop BUT it would show up in Finder as I was alluding to, therefore the information I gave out was not incorrect your interpretation of it was.

Another possible solution suggestion would be if the cards (not the OP) are SDHC cards a standard card reader won't work, you'll need an SDHC reader or direct hook up to the device (i.e. camera).
Attached Images
 

Last edited by cyclingplatypus; Jul 30, 2008 at 10:44 PM. Reason: Spelling.
cyclingplatypus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 11:00 AM   #8
DottoreFausto
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Problem Mounting SD Card - through HP PSC-1350 All-in-one

Similar problem here. I just purchased an SD HC card (for whatever HD stands for) and cannot mount it when inserted in the card reader. The only way is throught USB-cable between camera and Macbook Pro. I'd like to mount and initialize it or download software that will enable the card-reader on my printer.

Any clues? Formating with the camera did not do it.

I've read somewhere on a French posting that NTFS-3G could be useful. I don't understand what it stands for and if it would work. Has anybody tried that?

Any other hints please?

Thanks,

Simon
DottoreFausto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 01:22 PM   #9
cyclingplatypus
macrumors 6502a
 
cyclingplatypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Hamsphire
Send a message via Skype™ to cyclingplatypus
Quote:
Originally Posted by DottoreFausto View Post
Similar problem here. I just purchased an SD HC card (for whatever HD stands for) and cannot mount it when inserted in the card reader. The only way is throught USB-cable between camera and Macbook Pro. I'd like to mount and initialize it or download software that will enable the card-reader on my printer.

Any clues? Formating with the camera did not do it.

I've read somewhere on a French posting that NTFS-3G could be useful. I don't understand what it stands for and if it would work. Has anybody tried that?

Any other hints please?

Thanks,

Simon
Is you reader able to read SDHC cards? HC (High Capacity) cards can't be read by older readers, the newer readers are backwards compatible with standard SD cards.
cyclingplatypus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 01:38 AM   #10
sirmarksalot
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dashard View Post
Same issue here. Slightly different Card (2Gb Kingston SD) and slightly different Card reader, but same problem. I get an error...



If I proceed to initialize it, it seems to spin its whells a bit but then throws up an error I've actually never seen before in Disk Utility...



I'm stymied right now. And no, it's NOT LOCKED!
Anyone? Any ideas?




Sorry to resurrect an old thread. But it seems nobody has answered this question. I have the similar problem, pretty frustrating not being able to get your videos from the SD card to the computer.
sirmarksalot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 02:52 PM   #11
CrackedButter
macrumors 68040
 
CrackedButter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 51st State of America
Resurrecting an old thread again.

I don't even get an error message, unless I format the card, nothing happens.
__________________
"Absorb what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own" - Bruce Lee
http://jonathanjk.com
CrackedButter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 09:39 AM   #12
jsheets19
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
My experience.

Same reader and a Lexar Media reader.

I cannot get these readers to work to save my life. They are fine on a PC but will not work with a Mac.

I have found you can use your camera as a reader/hard drive. Hook up the camera with the SD card that you wish to add info to or dump from. Use it as a hard drive.

You must format the disk to the camera.

If I can figure out a way to get the darn readers to work, I will come back for sure!
jsheets19 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 10:21 AM   #13
jsheets19
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Another helpful link

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964

for macbook pro
jsheets19 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD card not mounting or seen in Disk Utility nwbusa MacBook Pro 8 Mar 10, 2013 07:34 AM
MBA 2011 SD Card kimbermatic MacBook Air 0 Jul 23, 2011 11:38 AM
MBP reading SD Card and Ext Hard Drive space wrong Jakerz MacBook Pro 6 Apr 6, 2011 09:00 AM
T2i SD card won't mount to desktop bmorris Digital Video 7 May 10, 2010 12:18 PM
SD Card Data Recovery - Help Needed DCBass Digital Photography 7 Jan 26, 2010 02:14 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC