Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 15, 2008, 11:13 PM   #1
lukeman3000
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Can you input GPS coordinates into iPhone?

Is it possible to go cache hunting with the iPhone? For example, if I had a set of coordinates, how would I enter them into my iPhone?
lukeman3000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 11:19 PM   #2
PoitNarf
macrumors 65816
 
PoitNarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern NJ
Yes, for example in the Maps app on the iPhone if you enter in the search "loc: 40.748342, -73.984606" it will drop a pin directly on the Empire State Building.

Edit: Actually, you don't need to put "loc:" in front of the coordinates.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	esb.jpg
Views:	83243
Size:	93.9 KB
ID:	124803  

Last edited by PoitNarf; Jul 15, 2008 at 11:26 PM.
PoitNarf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 11:20 PM   #3
michaelmaxwell2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Well I guess you can, because when we had the fake jailbroken navigation it would put in coordinates on the maps search. And if you want to try it just put in the search the Latitude a comma then the Longitude. So it would be like this 40.823655, -73.810994 or like this N4049.4193, W07348.65964 these are real coordinates in bronx,ny so try these out and tell me if it comes up.
__________________
512mb ipod shuffle (broken)
8gb iphone (stolen)
16gb WHITE iphone 3g
michaelmaxwell2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 03:41 AM   #4
lagavulin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
How to calculate coordinates

How do you calculate the real coordinates to the ones you put into the iphone?

I divided it with 0.6 and got the right result with the example in Bronx, but when I tried the same thing with the first example, Empire state building. It didn't match, I got something and then ,232452352345 and that I couldn't be put into the phone. I calculated the other way and the number I got back is 0,595........

stupid gps, why not make it possible to enter real coordinates. That would be helpful when you are out fishing or in the alps....and someone wants to find you, then you can give them your coordinates and the enter them in the iPhone and get the best route

Last edited by lagavulin; Aug 21, 2008 at 03:43 AM. Reason: forgot something
lagavulin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 12:28 PM   #5
bredell
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Send a message via Skype™ to bredell
Quote:
Originally Posted by lagavulin View Post
How do you calculate the real coordinates to the ones you put into the iphone?

I divided it with 0.6 and got the right result with the example in Bronx, but when I tried the same thing with the first example, Empire state building. It didn't match, I got something and then ,232452352345 and that I couldn't be put into the phone. I calculated the other way and the number I got back is 0,595........

stupid gps, why not make it possible to enter real coordinates. That would be helpful when you are out fishing or in the alps....and someone wants to find you, then you can give them your coordinates and the enter them in the iPhone and get the best route
Well, what do you consider being "real" coordinates? Using the decimal form is more natural. Anyway, the system with minutes and seconds uses 60 as a number base, so if you have the following coordinate:

D M' S"

then the coordinate will be

D + (M/60) + (S/3600)

Edit:

Actually, a bit of experimenting shows that you can enter coordinates in either format. Doing a search for the string +40 44' 54.03", -73 59' 4.58" gives you the Empire State Building in the example above. My keyboard doesn't have the degrees symbol but fortunately it seems that the Maps application doesn't need it.

Last edited by bredell; Aug 21, 2008 at 12:40 PM.
bredell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:58 PM   #6
Stocktrader
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Just Deg Min Sec with spaces:
40 46 49 -73 58 08 will put you in Central Park (by the theater).
Stocktrader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 04:01 PM   #7
t0mat0
macrumors 601
 
t0mat0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Home
I thought there was a geocache app already? If not, there might be a web app that can more easily put in the location by a spin wheel for the lat longs.
__________________
Next up - Haswell, Maxwell and 22nm
t0mat0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 11:53 PM   #8
Neebee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Home of the 2010 Olympics
Not working for me

I've been messing around with it for the last 30+ minutes and I am not able to enter co-ordinates using the digital format, at least not enter any that the iPhone or Google maps on the iPhone does. I even copied co-ordinates from google maps online. Any suggestions? I dont want to have to calculate my co-ordinates each time which is real lame since Google online doesn't use that format.

I found this link, perhaps we can send the creator of the program $.50 or a $1 or more since this is the only user friendly and working converter I found on the web: http://www.cosports.com/index.php/tool/tools/latlong

Last edited by Neebee; Sep 4, 2008 at 12:26 AM. Reason: Added link
Neebee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 12:14 AM   #9
Manzana
macrumors 6502a
 
Manzana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stocktrader View Post
Just Deg Min Sec with spaces:
40 46 49 -73 58 08 will put you in Central Park (by the theater).
That actually worked perfect for me, I typed it into the map application just like you have it and it took me to central park where it showed the coordinates to be:
+40 46' 49.00", -73 58' 8.00"

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelmaxwell2
So it would be like this 40.823655, -73.810994 or like this N4049.4193, W07348.65964 these are real coordinates in bronx,ny so try these out and tell me if it comes up.
These did not work for me at all.
Manzana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 12:27 AM   #10
Neebee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Home of the 2010 Olympics
Me too, this works 40 46 49 -73 58 08 but not decimal degrees.
Neebee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 01:03 AM   #11
ntrigue
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Send a message via AIM to ntrigue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stocktrader View Post
Just Deg Min Sec with spaces:
40 46 49 -73 58 08 will put you in Central Park (by the theater).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manzana View Post
That actually worked perfect for me, I typed it into the map application just like you have it and it took me to central park where it showed the coordinates to be:
+40 46' 49.00", -73 58' 8.00"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neebee View Post
Me too, this works 40 46 49 -73 58 08 but not decimal degrees.
Me three!
ntrigue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 07:18 AM   #12
Stocktrader
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manzana View Post
Originally Posted by Neebee
Me too, this works 40 46 49 -73 58 08 but not decimal degrees.

These did not work for me at all.
Enter Decimal Degrees as in pic below:
Stocktrader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 10:35 AM   #13
Manzana
macrumors 6502a
 
Manzana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
so if you can input coordinates, how can you retrieve the coordinates of where you are?
Manzana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 12:15 PM   #14
anjinha
macrumors 604
 
anjinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manzana View Post
so if you can input coordinates, how can you retrieve the coordinates of where you are?
I'd like to know that too...
__________________
Thank you Steve.
anjinha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 12:50 PM   #15
Neebee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Home of the 2010 Olympics
I think we need a third party app for that. I believe there may be one or two in the apps store.
Neebee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 01:01 PM   #16
Small White Car
macrumors G3
 
Small White Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manzana View Post
so if you can input coordinates, how can you retrieve the coordinates of where you are?
Try the applications "Here I Am"

(There are 2 named that, but I think they both work the same way, so it probably doesn't matter which you pick. I have the one with the blue icon, for what it's worth.)

It finds your coordinates and sends them to Mail as a google-map link. You then e-mail that to someone. The point is, it shows the numbers BEFORE you send it to Mail, so you can just use it to get the numbers, and then not e-mail anyone.
Small White Car is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 05:18 PM   #17
Nipz
macrumors 65816
 
Nipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Can you get the coordinates of where you currently are without any other apps?
__________________
15" Uni MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz Quad Core i7 | White iPad 2 16GB WiFi + 3G | iPhone 5 | 3 MiFi
Nipz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 06:45 PM   #18
Neebee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Home of the 2010 Olympics
Nipz, no.
Neebee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2008, 07:00 PM   #19
Manzana
macrumors 6502a
 
Manzana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Small White Car View Post
Try the applications "Here I Am"
Time to download apps #46 and #47!

Thanks for the tip.
Manzana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2008, 04:11 AM   #20
Nipz
macrumors 65816
 
Nipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neebee View Post
Nipz, no.
Thanks
__________________
15" Uni MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz Quad Core i7 | White iPad 2 16GB WiFi + 3G | iPhone 5 | 3 MiFi
Nipz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 11:38 PM   #21
neiljcrump
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Use @ sign.

I've been trying to search maps by decimal coordinates. It originally worked using Facebook places. Then I just started searching by decimal, but had to input it like this...
@38.211794,-84.248500
Using the @ symbol, then comma, dash- and long
Hope this helps!
neiljcrump is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 07:48 AM   #22
warrmr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neebee View Post
Nipz, no.
Actually you can,

The built in compass app has the coords display at the bottom


EDIT: I have just noticed how old this thread is. What is the deal with people digging up dead threads.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by warrmr; Oct 7, 2010 at 08:14 AM.
warrmr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 09:48 AM   #23
lexvo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Netherlands
I like the fact this thread is digged up because I like the tips given here

The method of straight entering the decimal coordinates as well as deg/min/sec both work for me.
__________________
27" iMac i5 - iPod 80GB - iPhone 5s 64GB - iPad3 - ATV3 - Airport Extreme - Airport Express
lexvo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 09:53 AM   #24
DirtySocks85
macrumors 65816
 
DirtySocks85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wichita, KS
Great tips in this thread, and I know that this is an old one, but in response to the OP (or others using their iPhone for Geocaching), I highly recommend the official Groundspeak Geocaching app, it allows for this as well as paperless caching with field notes. Best $9.99 I've spent in the app store in the 2 years since the store launched.
__________________
13"MacBook Pro (mid 2010) iPhone 5 32GB Black/Slate iPod Classic 80GB
Canon EOS Rebel T3i Nexus 7
JStiles Photography Website JStiles Photography on Facebook
DirtySocks85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 05:21 PM   #25
jkutsch
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtySocks85 View Post
Great tips in this thread, and I know that this is an old one, but in response to the OP (or others using their iPhone for Geocaching), I highly recommend the official Groundspeak Geocaching app, it allows for this as well as paperless caching with field notes. Best $9.99 I've spent in the app store in the 2 years since the store launched.
I agree! I dont even use my handheld GPS for caching anymore. Just my 3GS and my wife's IP4.
jkutsch is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General: GPS in Maps, how to copy coordinates PracticalMac iOS 6 3 Jun 20, 2014 01:45 PM
Help/Input for a damaged iPhone 5 JSENNY25 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 9 May 31, 2014 03:22 PM
iPhone 5 or 5S-- Need your input pecas iPhone 2 Oct 22, 2013 03:28 PM
GPS Coordinates? Jalopybox iPhone and iPod touch Apps 2 Mar 13, 2013 08:28 PM
From iPhone 5 to Note input. streetfoldsfive Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 5 Feb 15, 2013 06:46 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC