Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 16, 2008, 03:22 AM   #1
Stevenson1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Africa
Photoshop Keeps Quitting

Hi,

I recently bought a new Mac Pro G5. Everytime I start it up, I launch Photoshop CS2 and I get a message that The Application has unexpectedly quit, Close, Reopen or Report.

However, I tried reinstalling CS2 but still it does the same. How do I go about this.
Stevenson1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2008, 11:58 PM   #2
jimleszczynski
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Send a message via AIM to jimleszczynski Send a message via Skype™ to jimleszczynski
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevenson1 View Post
Hi,

I recently bought a new Mac Pro G5. Everytime I start it up, I launch Photoshop CS2 and I get a message that The Application has unexpectedly quit, Close, Reopen or Report.

However, I tried reinstalling CS2 but still it does the same. How do I go about this.
Read this on Adobe Website!

"Photoshop CS2 is no hit on an Intel machine (all new iMacs are Intel machines) as it runs in emulation mode in Rosetta and it will also not get updated for compatibilities with Leopard."

Also, if it is a non legal version (bootleg) copy of CS2. You may experience problems. Hopefully it is legal and you can obtain the CS3 upgrade for relatively cheap.

Good Luck
jimleszczynski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2008, 12:26 AM   #3
trainguy77
macrumors 68040
 
trainguy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Send a message via AIM to trainguy77 Send a message via MSN to trainguy77 Send a message via Yahoo to trainguy77
I would try deleting the preference files from your user library folder.
trainguy77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2008, 05:48 AM   #4
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevenson1 View Post
Mac Pro G5


What machine is this

If you have an actual G5, which is a PPC machine, then the above warning from Adobe does NOT apply.......and you have another problem of some type..... CS2 runs GREAT on PPC machines G4's & G5's

IF OTOH, you have an INTEL-powered mac, you would be well advised to do some googling on this subject, as there is alot of postings about it
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2008, 08:21 AM   #5
agentphish
macrumors 65816
 
agentphish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
MacPro = Intel = CS3
PowerMac = PPC G5 = CS2

It's that simple. CS2 on an Intel Mac is just plain bad.
__________________
agentphish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2008, 02:58 AM   #6
Stevenson1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Africa
Hi, I have a Dual Core Intel Xeon, 3Gb of Ram, 2Ghz processor Speed and my Photoshop cs2 still quits.

What must I do?

Confused.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmurfBoxMasta View Post
What machine is this

If you have an actual G5, which is a PPC machine, then the above warning from Adobe does NOT apply.......and you have another problem of some type..... CS2 runs GREAT on PPC machines G4's & G5's

IF OTOH, you have an INTEL-powered mac, you would be well advised to do some googling on this subject, as there is alot of postings about it
Stevenson1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2008, 08:37 AM   #7
therealmrbob
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Send a message via AIM to therealmrbob
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevenson1 View Post
Hi, I have a Dual Core Intel Xeon, 3Gb of Ram, 2Ghz processor Speed and my Photoshop cs2 still quits.

What must I do?

Confused.
Ugrade to CS3...

haha
__________________
20" iMac, 2.66ghz, 2gb GB RAM, 320 GB HD ; 15" Macbook Pro, 2.5 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 200 GB HD (7200 RPM) ; 8gb iPod Touch - 2.1 pWned
therealmrbob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 02:10 AM   #8
Stevenson1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Africa
Can't save files as Jpeg's

Hi there,

Sometimes when I save Photoshop tiff files as jpeg's, I come across a message like this: could not save as "Steven.jpg" because of a program error.

I still use Adobe Photoshop CS2 and the problems quiet often.

How can I eradicate this kind of message? Please help

Stevenson1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 02:31 AM   #9
Stevenson1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Africa
Hi, I am still awaiting a response on the topic below. Please help asap as I have to give feedback to one of my clients.

Thanks, Steven




Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevenson1 View Post
Hi there,

Sometimes when I save Photoshop tiff files as jpeg's, I come across a message like this: could not save as "Steven.jpg" because of a program error.

I still use Adobe Photoshop CS2 and the problems quiet often.

How can I eradicate this kind of message? Please help

Stevenson1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes 11.1.5 quitting TXCherokee Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 4, 2014 02:07 PM
iPad: Air Safari quitting patseguin iPad 2 Dec 5, 2013 07:14 PM
Photoshop vs. Photoshop Elements for Novice Photographer guzhogi Digital Photography 13 Nov 16, 2013 06:30 AM
Adobe Offering Photoshop CC and Lightroom for $9.99/Month to Current Photoshop Owners MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 162 Oct 12, 2013 10:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC