Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Old Jul 17, 2008, 01:44 PM   #1
polopinojoe
macrumors newbie

My best option for my new lacie external drive ntfs of fat 32?

OK so I did some research already... I am new to mac I just bought a new iMac and a new Lacie 1tb external harddrive. I first tried to use Target Disk Mode and transfer my media files from my pc to my iMac although that didn't work my pc did not see the mac as a firewire drive. I would really just like to keep my media files on my lacie external harddrive but I would have to reformat my lacie drive to ntfs or fat 32 first just to put them on there... what is my best option here?
p.s. My imac will be my main computer after the transfer of files is complete so do I need to refomat to HFS afterwards?
polopinojoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2008, 05:22 PM   #2
chscag
macrumors 6502

How about this:

Use the disk manager utility from Windows and divide the 1TB drive into two partitions of 500 Gb each. Leave the first partition as raw (unformatted) and format the second partition as FAT-32. Hook the drive to your Mac and format the first partition of the drive as HFS +.

Now you can copy your media files from the PC to the FAT-32 partition of the drive. Your Mac can read and write to FAT-32 so the transfer will be straight forward. The first partition of the drive once formatted to HFS + can be used as a backup drive for Time Machine.

Note: Without third party software, Mac OS X can only read NTFS, not write.
Windows - without third party software, can neither read nor write to HFS +.

Once all your files are transferred to the Mac, you can continue to use the external drive for storage (FAT-32 partition) and for backing up your Mac with Time Machine (HFS+ partition). Or, if the FAT-32 partition is no longer needed just reformat the entire drive as HFS+.

Regards.