Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 25, 2003, 05:34 AM   #1
jvaska
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brussels/Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jvaska
how to configure firewall?

i'm pretty confused by how to setup the firewall in panther. yes, i know i just need to turn it on, but what options should i have selected?

i'm using an ethernet/adsl modem and i don't play things like games online...however, i do from time to time turn on hotwire (a peer to peer thing) to share files with some clients...

i don't get what they mean by "Allow" in the firewall config panel...should i have these things checked or not?

thanks much...v
__________________
FLASH plugin IS required.
jvaska is offline   0
Old Dec 25, 2003, 10:57 AM   #2
OutThere
macrumors 603
 
OutThere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NYC
'Allow' means that the firewall will allow traffic to pass through that port. You should only leave open the ports which you will transmit traffic through, which would be with 'Hotwire' (are you sure it's not Hotline?). You need to find out the port(s) that Hotwire uses and just "Allow" those. This way hackers and other folks won't have open acess to your computer.
__________________
puisqu'on est jeune et con, puisqu'ils sont vieux et fous. . .
OutThere is offline   0
Old Dec 25, 2003, 11:05 AM   #3
rainman::|:|
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: iowa
Send a message via Yahoo to rainman::|:|
Yep, find the ports and enable them for whatever software you use. Many apps, like Yahoo Messenger, have a Firewall setting, where they will connect over the HTTP port (the one you use to surf webpages). That's port 80. If the app doesn't have a setting like that, you'll need to open the port. Or, turn your firewall off every time you want to use the program, but that's not a terribly good solution.

paul
rainman::|:| is offline   0
Old Dec 25, 2003, 12:46 PM   #4
jvaska
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brussels/Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jvaska
thanks, i think i understand this now. a strange thing...when i launched ichat it says it won't work because of the firewall...then i waited a few secs and voila...it worked...i'll take it...

and yes, hotline...not hotwire...i was a little tired from christmas eve fun...heh...

__________________
FLASH plugin IS required.
jvaska is offline   0
Old Dec 25, 2003, 01:39 PM   #5
Westside guy
macrumors 601
 
Westside guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The soggy part of the Pacific NW
Answers may have been a bit misleading/unclear

You do NOT need to open ports in your firewall for outgoing applications. For instance, if you are using ssh to connect to a remote server, you don't need to leave port 22 open. If you are Web browsing, you don't need to leave port 80 and 443 open.

The only ports you need to leave open are those for INCOMING services you are providing. So for Hotline you'd have to open whatever port(s) that application uses - I'm assuming that's a peer-to-peer filesharing app along the lines of Kazaa.

Basically most users can turn on the firewall and not worry about opening any ports up. Things will still work. The only port I've got open is 22 (ssh), because I've found it useful on occasion to remotely log into this machine.
Westside guy is offline   0
Old Dec 27, 2003, 12:55 PM   #6
jvaska
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brussels/Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jvaska
thanks, it's clear...

i'll note that hotline is a peer to peer sharing thing, HOWEVER, i've got way more control over how knows it's there...i share it with two people only...kazaa couldn't find it in it's dreams...v
__________________
FLASH plugin IS required.
jvaska is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to convince my parents to let me buy a 17" MacBook Pro Ulf1103 Buying Tips and Advice 58 Nov 27, 2013 11:45 AM
Tutorial: How to get PCSX2 to run on Mac (without BootCamp) Mirrors Mac Applications and Mac App Store 22 Jun 14, 2013 08:19 PM
IPHONE 4 how to JAILBREAK AND UNLOCK bs2511feist Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Apr 14, 2012 05:52 PM
Does anybody know how to get TweetTask? xmelissaxmayhem Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jul 3, 2011 01:21 AM
[HOW TO] DIY iPhone 4 Swivel Car Mount QuarterSwede iPhone Accessories 13 Mar 8, 2011 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC