Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 20, 2008, 08:55 AM   #1
mcdj
macrumors 603
 
mcdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Do you get a random volume icon popping up?

On my 2nd 3G phone. Both have had the typical 2.0 bugs, but one I haven't seen mentioned. At random, I get a volume icon pop up on the screen. Not often, but enough to make it annoying. I have verified my hand is no where near the volume button. Anyone else?
__________________
Great cage! No bird...
50f/2
mcdj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 10:19 AM   #2
otep1760
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
my phone does that too. I have a first gen iPhone with 2.0
__________________
80gb MacBook, 2gb ram Power G4 Desktop 4gb iPhone 80gb iPod Classic 2gb 1st generation iPod nano
otep1760 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 10:20 AM   #3
ivtecDOu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mass
only when my case switches the button from ring to viberate
__________________
Nexus 5 4.4 kit kat
Samsung Galaxy S3 Running 4.3.1
2x-Black 16 gig iPhone 4black 8 gig 3g-destroyed 2x -pwned 8 gig first gen iphone-sold
ivtecDOu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 10:24 AM   #4
bluenoise
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I had that happen once yesterday and thought it was strange, too. I have a black 16 GB iPhone 3G.
bluenoise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 11:08 AM   #5
zub3qin
macrumors 65816
 
zub3qin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5A347 Safari/525.20)

I get the same icon as well. And I don't even have a volume button since I am using an iPod touch!
zub3qin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 11:11 AM   #6
elbirth
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Carolina, US
Send a message via AIM to elbirth
I've seen it pop up a couple times while playing a game or something, but never just sitting at the home screen or using an Apple-made app
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 2.66GHz Core i7, 4GB RAM, SSD
Mac Pro 2 x 3GHz Quad-Core Xeon, 14GB RAM, 3 24" LCDs
iPhone 5 - Black, 32GB
elbirth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 02:23 PM   #7
Wavell
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
yep same here.. it's happened twice today.. glad this thread is here, I thought I was going insane
Wavell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2008, 05:10 PM   #8
mellenger
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: White Rock, BC
Same here. I have the 16GB black 3G iPhone and the volume pops up randomly. it doesn't bug me too much right now.
mellenger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2008, 06:09 PM   #9
SayCheese
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Just outside of London
I also have the same issue. Thought I was going mad.
SayCheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2008, 06:29 PM   #10
Ding.Dong
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles
I've had this happen to me several times. I have a 1st gen 8GB iPhone. The volume icon that shows up shows my volume as being exactly halfway between zero and full (which has no relation to the actual volume setting on my iPhone). It goes away after a second, just like if I actually pressed the volume button, and seems to have no effect on anything I'm doing. It's just kind of annoying. I assume this is another 2.0 firmware bug.
Ding.Dong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2008, 06:36 PM   #11
Auzburner
macrumors 65816
 
Auzburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Syracuse, NY - USA
Send a message via AIM to Auzburner
Unhappy Another 2.0 bug.

My 1st gen iPhone is EXTREMELY laggy with this in 2.0. I can press my volume buttons and the volume see thru icon pops-up 5 seconds later. This could be what's happening... Sometimes it pops-up randomly as well. Another 2.0 bug.
__________________
My main squeeze:-2012 RETINA MacBook Pro+2.7GHz+16GB RAM+512GB - iPhone 5S 32GB
Auzburner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2008, 06:48 PM   #12
dacreativeguy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Yup. Happened to my once a few days ago on my orig iphone with 2.0. I think the 2.0 firmware has a bad memory leak. I'm to the point of having to reset or turn off(red slider)/on every day or so.

I've also noticed that some sounds don't play after a while. For example, all the click sounds when you turn the iphone on and off go silent after a while, but are restored after I reset or turn off/on.

2.0.1 should be here soon, I think.
dacreativeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2008, 06:56 PM   #13
Auzburner
macrumors 65816
 
Auzburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Syracuse, NY - USA
Send a message via AIM to Auzburner
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacreativeguy View Post
Yup. Happened to my once a few days ago on my orig iphone with 2.0. I think the 2.0 firmware has a bad memory leak. I'm to the point of having to reset or turn off(red slider)/on every day or so.

I've also noticed that some sounds don't play after a while. For example, all the click sounds when you turn the iphone on and off go silent after a while, but are restored after I reset or turn off/on.

2.0.1 should be here soon, I think.
The lock sounds for me slowly lag behind after pushing the button more and more the longer the day goes on until it gets to the point where the iPhone quits making the noise at all. At that point I do a hard restart to get everything back straight.
__________________
My main squeeze:-2012 RETINA MacBook Pro+2.7GHz+16GB RAM+512GB - iPhone 5S 32GB
Auzburner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2008, 07:03 PM   #14
dacreativeguy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
The interesting thing is that my problems intensified over the past few days. I've updated AIM, Facebook, Mobile News, and other apps recently so I'm wondering if an app has exacerbated the problem with the firmware. If not, then it really appears like the 2.0 firmware is slowly destroying itself, ala MS Windows OSs.
dacreativeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pop up windows at boot bobbytomorow Mac Basics and Help 1 Jan 1, 2011 05:44 PM
random blue screens popping up shakir OS X 8 Mar 10, 2010 03:46 PM
how do i get the nes roms through cydia..how do you get themes and change icons Vegan TJ Wasteland 2 Jul 29, 2008 05:35 PM
How do you get the Volume keys to work on a G4 w/ Leopard? krye MacBook Pro 2 Jul 28, 2008 12:49 PM
Tiny icon pops up before Apple logo on Start Up OldManJimbo OS X 4 Jul 21, 2007 01:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC