Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 20, 2008, 06:00 PM   #1
Badandy
macrumors 68040
 
Badandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terminus
Set up as new iPhone or restore from backup?

Hey guys, I've heard two different versions of what I should do.


I have an old iPhone now running 2.0 that has just been pwned and unlocked. itunes opened up and is asking me whether i want to set it up as a new iPhone or restore from a backup. I want the same stuff on it, but it would be pretty easy to just re-add it if I should set it up as a new iPhone.


Any thoughts?
__________________
2012 13" Macbook Air: 1.8, 128 SSD, 8GB RAM
iPhone 4S 32GB (Black)
Badandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 06:09 PM   #2
Badandy
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Badandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terminus
I'm just gonna set it up as new and have a clean slate. Please reply though for future people who might search for posts/threads with this title. Thanks guys.
__________________
2012 13" Macbook Air: 1.8, 128 SSD, 8GB RAM
iPhone 4S 32GB (Black)
Badandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 06:24 PM   #3
spinstorm
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
You always want to set up as new where your phone was previously jailbreaked as there are lots of 3rd party settings which can cause wierd issues.

However if your phone was not jailbreaked - just a standard phone then restoring from back up won't cause any problems because its all Apple applications that are restored - there are no files that shouldn't be there or may cause problems.
__________________
US 8GB FW 1.0.2>iUnlock>iPhoneSIMfree>1.1.1>1.1.2>Soft upgrade 1.1.3>1.1.4 using signal.app
UK 16GB FW 1.1.3 OOB>1.1.4>iPlus 1.2 unlocked!
spinstorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 06:44 PM   #4
AlecEdworthy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Loughborough, Leicestershire, UK
How much do you like your SMSs/Notes/Call History/Camera Roll/...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badandy View Post
I'm just gonna set it up as new and have a clean slate. Please reply though for future people who might search for posts/threads with this title. Thanks guys.
As I see it, anything that is sync'ed on (so music, videos, podcasts, contacts, calendars, e-mails, applications from the iStore) will go straight back on with the first sync whether you select restore from backup or set up as a new phone. What I do not think will reappear if you choose set up as a new phone are things such as previously sent and received SMSs, call history, saved wireless networks, notes and photos stored in the Camera Roll (as opposed to photos taken with the camera, downloaded into iPhoto and then reuploaded to the phone via Photo syncing in iTunes). Personally I really want the SMSs in particular to come across (photos I can get via iPhoto, notes are nice but not essential, previous call history is something I can live without).

Of course, if you have already Jailbroken the iPhone you can copy off the required databases, set up as a new phone and then restore the databases remembering to chown the files as mobile:mobile after coping them back on (as you will copy them on as the root user but they need to be writeable as the mobile user and I suggest powering off and on again afterwards to just to be safe.

Alternatively if you have a recent backup of the phone via iTunes (see folders inside ~/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup) you can retrieve the databases from there by following the instructions at http://www.tuaw.com/2007/08/22/howto...es-from-a-mac/ (substituting in different locations on the iPhone when restoring the files for the newer firmware, so mobile not root, and different databases, e.g. /var/mobile/Library/SMS/) - note this still needs a Jailbroken iPhone to restore the databases to it (just not to get them in the first place) and will need the chown'ing as above.

Just my 0.02 GBP...

Alec
__________________
I support the MacRumors Blood Drive!
B+ donors get out there and donate now!
AlecEdworthy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2008, 07:42 PM   #5
almostaskater62
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Maybe you can answer this question that I've tried asking seven hundred times-
If I choose to set up an iPhone as a new one after a clean restore, how do you link it to yur existing AT&T account and activate?

Thank you kindly
almostaskater62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2008, 01:44 PM   #6
almostaskater62
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
can no on answer his question? I've asked it on numerous forums numerous times. Any answer will be greatly appreciated.


Thanks
almostaskater62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2008, 01:51 PM   #7
spinstorm
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
It doesn't need to be activated to get your network settings!

It is all down to the SIM card - if your on a legitimate iphone contract it will take all the settings off the SIM card (and those saved in the firmware) and everything will work again.
__________________
US 8GB FW 1.0.2>iUnlock>iPhoneSIMfree>1.1.1>1.1.2>Soft upgrade 1.1.3>1.1.4 using signal.app
UK 16GB FW 1.1.3 OOB>1.1.4>iPlus 1.2 unlocked!
spinstorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2008, 02:11 PM   #8
msmaron
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
well i did restore it with the backup so lets see what happens now..

mark
msmaron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2008, 02:23 PM   #9
msmaron
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by msmaron View Post
well i did restore it with the backup so lets see what happens now..

mark
WORKS GREAT.. and doing upgrades for Cydia as we speak.. Only problem is cant change the background picture from my photos.. but could not before???
msmaron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2008, 02:25 PM   #10
tdevers
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I upgraded from a pwnage 1.1.4 to a pwnage 2.0 with restore and mail fails to start, I get a new mail notification once a minute and a flat battery in 1-2 hours.

I'm going to reinstall 2.0 tonight and set it up as a new phone. Like someone mentioned above, a clean slate is nice to have. I say got for a restore, if you have any issues re-do it as a new phone.
__________________
Black Macbook 2.2 C2D 500GB 4GB, Black Macbook 2.0 CD
Power Mac G5 Dual 2.0GHZ 160GB 1GB
Silver iPod Nano Gen2 4GB, 16GB iPod Touch
tdevers is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set up as new, THEN restore from iCloud? Jantelagen iOS 5 and earlier 5 Jun 9, 2012 07:00 AM
possible to set up as new phone WITHOUT restoring to latest software twisted-pixel Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Oct 18, 2010 08:01 AM
Set up as new iPad or restore from iPhone backup? jent iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Sep 24, 2010 02:54 PM
JB restore from backup/set up as new iPhone jimmy83 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jul 8, 2009 09:10 AM
Any truth to set up as new iphone or back up? michael31986 iPhone 11 Jun 18, 2009 11:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC