iPhone will not connect to 3G network - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 23, 2008, 10:11 AM   #1
cooldaddybeck
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Send a message via Skype™ to cooldaddybeck
iPhone will not connect to 3G network

So, my wife's iPhone works like a charm. Full signal, says "3G" next to the signal indicator. It will also show "E" for Edge connections.

My iPhone, right next to hers, has 1 bar or no signal and I have not yet seen it connect to 3G. No Edge indicator either, and I am unable to access any email/internet content unless I am on WiFi.

Is anyone familiar with this? Do I need to go get my iPhone swapped?

tx


****EDIT****

I'm on the phone with Apple/AT&T, here's what happened:

My iPhone did not have the iPhone data plan attached to it, therefore preventing it from accessing 3G and (apparently) Edge.

They are changing that now and I should be up and running shortly. I'll post a follow up in a bit.

Last edited by cooldaddybeck; Jul 23, 2008 at 12:03 PM.
cooldaddybeck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2008, 10:13 AM   #2
montecarloss919
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Call AT&T

I had the same problem, at ask them for a booster? idk what that means but it worked...or you could bring it to the store and have them check the sim card...it could be faulty
montecarloss919 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2008, 10:15 AM   #3
cooldaddybeck
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Send a message via Skype™ to cooldaddybeck
Quote:
Originally Posted by montecarloss919 View Post
I had the same problem, at ask them for a booster? idk what that means but it worked...or you could bring it to the store and have them check the sim card...it could be faulty
Is the booster something they do virtually or a physical device to pick up at the store?

thanks,

cdb
cooldaddybeck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2008, 12:26 PM   #4
cooldaddybeck
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Send a message via Skype™ to cooldaddybeck
All better. Adding the data plan to my iPhone, which I was told was added upon activation, took care of the issue.

:0)
cooldaddybeck is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5s unable to connect to wi-fi network Tech198 iPhone 0 May 20, 2014 07:25 PM
New iMac won't connect to the Internet, but will connect to network. iTnetennba iMac 6 Jan 16, 2013 11:55 AM
iPhone 5 can't connect to WPA 2 network afurry13 iPhone 10 Oct 30, 2012 06:05 AM
Will my iPhone 4S automatically connect to 4G after network upgrade? Rodney2009 iPhone 16 Oct 25, 2012 03:42 PM
iPad (and iPhone) cannot connect to iMac network LGL iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jun 27, 2012 06:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC