Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 26, 2008, 06:25 PM   #1
ElectricMan5
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Changing the WebServer location????

I just went out and bought a 500GB external hard drive, and i want to transfer my webserver content over to it. Now, I'm using the built in webserver that comes with leopard, where you put all your stuff in the WebServer folder. Now how do i change the directory to which this folder is placed? I can't just drag the folder into the harddrive...

How do I change the location of the files for the webserver to run, without purchasing any applications? Thanks!
ElectricMan5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2008, 06:55 PM   #2
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricMan5 View Post
I just went out and bought a 500GB external hard drive, and i want to transfer my webserver content over to it. Now, I'm using the built in webserver that comes with leopard, where you put all your stuff in the WebServer folder. Now how do i change the directory to which this folder is placed? I can't just drag the folder into the harddrive...

How do I change the location of the files for the webserver to run, without purchasing any applications? Thanks!
Edit the file /etc/apache2/httpd.conf and change the relevant setting. It should be pretty obvious which one it is. You'll need to restart the web server from the System Preferences panel before the change will take effect though.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2008, 06:58 PM   #3
ElectricMan5
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I can't find the folder. Where's the exact location of it??

Last edited by ElectricMan5; Jul 26, 2008 at 07:04 PM. Reason: It didn't work
ElectricMan5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2008, 07:15 PM   #4
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricMan5 View Post
I can't find the folder. Where's the exact location of it??
You need to open the Terminal application and type (exactly - without the quotes) "open /etc".
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2008, 07:20 PM   #5
ElectricMan5
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
You need to open the Terminal application and type (exactly - without the quotes) "open /etc".
thanks! it worked. i'll go see if i can change the directory...
ElectricMan5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2008, 07:30 PM   #6
ElectricMan5
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
Edit the file /etc/apache2/httpd.conf and change the relevant setting. It should be pretty obvious which one it is. You'll need to restart the web server from the System Preferences panel before the change will take effect though.
It's saying i have insufficient permissions. How do i fix this?
ElectricMan5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2008, 02:02 PM   #7
iGrant
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Abingdon
Send a message via AIM to iGrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricMan5 View Post
It's saying i have insufficient permissions. How do i fix this?
The best way to edit the httpd.conf file is in Terminal with VIM. Essential you need to open VIM and do the following:

1. cd /etc/apache2
2. sudo vim httpd.conf
3. You then need to change the location in httpd.conf, to edit the file hit the "i" key and then you can type and delete. To save and quit, you will hit esc to get out of the editing mode then type :wq which stands for write and quite.

There are several tutorials online for VIM. Let me know if you need more help!

Thanks
iGrant
__________________
Once you use a Mac, you never going back!
Macbook Air C2D 1.6, Mac Mini CD 1.6Ghz; iPod Touch 32gb
iGrant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Default Screenshot Location RMD68 OS X 9 Apr 23, 2014 08:02 PM
Changing Mac Screenshots Location mikegml Mac mini 3 Oct 27, 2013 12:59 PM
iPhone: Need some help changing location on LS Theme bobright Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 13, 2013 06:41 PM
Query regarding changing iTunes location cooa99 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 8, 2012 07:01 AM
Changing user folder location? PC2MAC2012 iMac 2 Jun 27, 2012 08:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC