Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 29, 2008, 01:24 AM   #1
Jouissance
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Possible to Connect Airport Express to PC via ethernet?

So I have a problem. I share a house with a couple friends and they have an airport network upstairs, which I have an airport express configured to participate in, though not in WDS mode. I have absolutely no problems connecting my macbook to the network through airport, but I have an old xp pc that I would also like to add.

It (PC) has an old wifi card, but I cannot get it to connect because it doesn't support WPA and we don't want to relegate the network to WEP, because, well, just because. So is it possible to connect my pc to my airport express via ethernet, and be able to gain glorious internet access? I have the pc plugged in to the express currently, and it doesn't seem to be doing anything for me. Yes , no, maybe so?

Oh, and one another quicky...Is is possible to run different encryption settings from my express station than those used by the rest of the network, or do they have to be homogenized? For instance, while airport network is configured under WPA Personal, would it be possible for my airport express to run WEP and still be connected to the network?

Last edited by Jouissance; Jul 29, 2008 at 01:39 AM.
Jouissance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2008, 05:25 PM   #2
iOrlando
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
hmm..dont you have the express in front of you? If so, you would see there isnt an ethernet cord plug-in??

Maybe I misread your question. Express only contains usb plug and speaker out.
iOrlando is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2008, 01:48 PM   #3
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iOrlando View Post
hmm..dont you have the express in front of you? If so, you would see there isnt an ethernet cord plug-in??

Maybe I misread your question. Express only contains usb plug and speaker out.
maybe you don't have yours in front of you but, that plug that looks like a big phone plug next to the usb and speaker jacks on the express, it's an ethernet jack.

as to the OP, i believe if you set it up to extend the network via WDS, it will come out the ethernet jack, but you will have to get the roommates cooperation in setting up their airport to be extended.
but if it is set up to join, nothing will come out the ethernet jack. You know the one that iOrlando says doesn't exist, that's in the picture below

and if the express is connecting to the other network, it has to be on the same security settings unless you connect wired and start your own network.


Last edited by waw74; Aug 2, 2008 at 01:58 PM.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2008, 02:06 PM   #4
RainForRent
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by waw74 View Post
maybe you don't have yours in front of you but, that plug that looks like a big phone plug next to the usb and speaker jacks on the express, it's an ethernet jack.
That ethernet port is to plug in from your modem/router, bub.
Wireless routers only transmit, they still need a connection to the internet.
Gotta cool it on the attitude.

EDIT: Didn't fully understand OP at first. Thought APE was upstairs. I retract my statements.
__________________
[ insert signature here ]

Last edited by RainForRent; Aug 2, 2008 at 02:09 PM. Reason: Getting rid of that damn picture.
RainForRent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2008, 02:20 PM   #5
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
only had attitude in response to attitude.
my theory is if you're going to be a smart ass, be sure to have your facts straight first.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with Airport Express to PS3 via Ethernet!! stumptown Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Jan 18, 2011 09:16 PM
Possible to connect Airport Express and ethernet at the same time? billyyw Mac Peripherals 3 Jan 27, 2009 10:12 AM
Airport Express to PC via Ethernet? spimp31 Mac Peripherals 2 Dec 4, 2008 11:14 AM
Help Connecting Airport Express to PC...Please MattyMac Mac Peripherals 3 Sep 17, 2006 10:13 AM
is it possible to connect a PC to Mac via USB? teabgs Mac Help/Tips 12 Nov 13, 2002 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC