Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 30, 2008, 03:42 PM   #1
brianld
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle
Phone number not showing in iTunes

Maybe I'm losing my mind, but I seem to recall seeing my phone number show up in iTunes when I connected my iPhone once upon a time. I noticed the other day that it no longer shows up.

Curious if anyone can tell me if this is because of 2.0 software update, has to do with 3G iPhones, or something else? It doesn't affect me too much since I obviously know my own phone number, but was just something I noticed.

Screenshot below to illustrate what I'm referring to.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	65
Size:	25.3 KB
ID:	127210  
brianld is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 03:44 PM   #2
gauchogolfer
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
That's interesting. I'm pretty sure that my Mac at home is displaying the phone number properly.

What OS are you running?
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 03:49 PM   #3
pyrodex
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to pyrodex Send a message via Skype™ to pyrodex
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianld View Post
Maybe I'm losing my mind, but I seem to recall seeing my phone number show up in iTunes when I connected my iPhone once upon a time. I noticed the other day that it no longer shows up.

Curious if anyone can tell me if this is because of 2.0 software update, has to do with 3G iPhones, or something else? It doesn't affect me too much since I obviously know my own phone number, but was just something I noticed.

Screenshot below to illustrate what I'm referring to.
Are you running itunes 7.7?
pyrodex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 03:56 PM   #4
nickspohn
macrumors 68040
 
nickspohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
1) Turn the iPhone on / off, reconnect to iTunes.
2) Make sure you're running iTunes 7.7
3) Backup/Restore the iPhone.


If those don't work, post back.
__________________
My Old Reviews: iPhone 4 | iPhone 3GS | iPhone 3G | iPhone
Macbook Pro 17inch Unibody Core i5
iPad 4
nickspohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 04:04 PM   #5
pauld
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tokyo (London for the holidays!)
Is that a US thing?
I don't seem to have it here in London with O2.
pauld is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 04:13 PM   #6
brianld
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle
Sorry - should've realized I needed to provide additional details. This is on MS Vista Business (32-bit)

Running iTunes 7.7 (just re-installed yesterday to be sure it wasn't a bug w/ my iTunes install)

I've tried restarting the phone, restoring from backup, and even setting up as new phone.
brianld is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 04:22 PM   #7
b1gted
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bartlesville, OK
Send a message via MSN to b1gted
I have one even better for ya!

My wife has her own 16g White Iphone, and her own Vista PC.
Her Itunes shows her phone # when phone is docked.

My 16g Black Iphone when docked on my own PC with windows Vista, doesn't show my phone #???

Now here is the kicker... I still have my OLD first gen Iphone, and when I dock it and look at Itunes, it DOES show my phone #??????

I actually have had them both docked at the same time, my old & new Iphone, and when I have Itunes open, I can switch back and forth between the 2 by chosing either one on the left hand column. New Iphone doesn't show #, Old Iphone does.

What is up with that? Especially when my wifes 3G does show her # on her Itunes?
__________________
27" iMac|iPhone 6+ 64GB (ATT)|iPad Mini 2nd Gen. 32GB wifi|Apple TV3|13" Macbook Air
b1gted is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 04:29 PM   #8
brianld
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gted View Post
My wife has her own 16g White Iphone, and her own Vista PC.
Her Itunes shows her phone # when phone is docked.

My 16g Black Iphone when docked on my own PC with windows Vista, doesn't show my phone #???

Now here is the kicker... I still have my OLD first gen Iphone, and when I dock it and look at Itunes, it DOES show my phone #??????
Interesting ... I do remember seeing my phone number show up in iTunes for my 1st-gen iPhone (don't have it any longer).

Complete coincidence that I too have a 16gb Black that's not showing the phone #?
brianld is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 04:32 PM   #9
b1gted
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bartlesville, OK
Send a message via MSN to b1gted
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianld View Post
Interesting ... I do remember seeing my phone number show up in iTunes for my 1st-gen iPhone (don't have it any longer).

Complete coincidence that I too have a 16gb Black that's not showing the phone #?
I think the common factor is more likely it has to do with previously having a first gen. Iphone on the same computer/Itunes.
__________________
27" iMac|iPhone 6+ 64GB (ATT)|iPad Mini 2nd Gen. 32GB wifi|Apple TV3|13" Macbook Air
b1gted is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 04:50 PM   #10
Ntombi
macrumors 68020
 
Ntombi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bostonian exiled in SoCal
Interesting, because I noticed last night that my number didn't show, but I couldn't remember if it had in the past. 3G with iTunes 7.7 here, and I never had an original iPhone.
__________________
2.53 GHz 13" MacBook Pro iPod Classic 128GB Silver iPhone 6

Ntombi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 04:55 PM   #11
Cynicalone
macrumors 68040
 
Cynicalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Okie land
It show's my phone number. I'm running Mac OS 10.5.4, iTunes 7.7, and have the latest firmware installed on my iPhone 3G. Might be another bug of the 2.0 software.
Cynicalone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 05:10 PM   #12
SFStateStudent
macrumors 604
 
SFStateStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Francisco California, USA
Send a message via AIM to SFStateStudent Send a message via Yahoo to SFStateStudent Send a message via Skype™ to SFStateStudent
^^^ Same with mine, it's all good...
__________________
MBP 2.5GHz 640GB 4GB RAM Mac Pro iPhone 4S iOS 5 Black 64GB AC+ NEW iPad Apple TV 2G
SFStateStudent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 05:10 PM   #13
Aravintht
macrumors 6502a
 
Aravintht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
it is to do with the sim cards

if your phone number is stored on the sim card then it will come up in iTunes and it will be shown first within contracts (iphone) as 'My Number'

-if your iPhone came with a sim card then it will have the number
-if o2 had to put a sim in your phone but the sim was not programmed with a number (universal sim) then it wont have your number
-if you upgraded but had an old sim, 2year+ then it wont show up

how i figured this out..

i was on an o2 simplicity contract for about 5months with a number that had been ported in. So my sim did not have my number stored on it, therefore it didnt show up in iTunes when i upgraded to the iPhone 3G from my American iPhone 2g.

i then tried a new pay as you go sim in it and found the number showed up

i though it might be that my sim is just old, requested o2 send me a new sim. They sent me a universal sim and said just to ring them when i received it and the would activate the sim to my number. the number did not show up in itunes with the new sim

this led me to conclude that if a number is assigned to a sim during the manufacturing process, it will appear in iTunes. if a new number is ported to that sim or the sim does not have a number assigned during manufacturing - it will not show up in itunes...
Aravintht is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 05:13 PM   #14
gauchogolfer
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
^^ I'm not sure what the OP's problem is, but I don't think this explains it.
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 05:31 PM   #15
DenniZ
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by gauchogolfer View Post
^^ I'm not sure what the OP's problem is, but I don't think this explains it.
Doesn't explain it, I had a replacement sim from my original iPhone, didn't show the number on that one, but when I upgraded and kept that sim for iPhone 3G, it shows it. I think it's more to do with whether its the only sim card that been in the phone. When I change the sim in the phone it doesn't show its own number at all then.
__________________
iPad WiFi + 3G 64GB | BB 9700 | MBP 15
DenniZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 05:38 PM   #16
brianld
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by gauchogolfer View Post
^^ I'm not sure what the OP's problem is
No "problem" per se, just trying to identify why it wasn't showing up in iTunes.

To follow up on what Aravintht posted regarding it being related to the SIM - you could be on to something there, as my phone number doesn't show up in my contacts list any longer either, though I had just attributed that to the fact that I was now using MS Exchange / ActiveSync.

FWIW, when I went from my 1st-gen iPhone to my new one, I didn't swap SIMs. In other words, the AT&T guy just activated my new 3G iPhone with the SIM that came in it, and told me to toss my old SIM.

-Brian
brianld is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 05:42 PM   #17
DenniZ
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianld View Post
No "problem" per se, just trying to identify why it wasn't showing up in iTunes.

To follow up on what Aravintht posted regarding it being related to the SIM - you could be on to something there, as my phone number doesn't show up in my contacts list any longer either, though I had just attributed that to the fact that I was now using MS Exchange / ActiveSync.

FWIW, when I went from my 1st-gen iPhone to my new one, I didn't swap SIMs. In other words, the AT&T guy just activated my new 3G iPhone with the SIM that came in it, and told me to toss my old SIM.

-Brian
If you use another phone, like a sony erricson there is a setting to type the line number of your sim card. I did enter that information before I put it in my new iPhone 3g, although it didn't show when I put it in my old iPhone.
__________________
iPad WiFi + 3G 64GB | BB 9700 | MBP 15
DenniZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 05:45 PM   #18
oclor
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston
WHO CARES??? haha
oclor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 07:18 PM   #19
fatalcure
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
2 iphones, my iphone does not show the number, my wife's does (both in itunes and in contacts)

the only difference is that my number was ported over from sprint and her's was a new at&t number....

not a big deal tho...
fatalcure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 07:55 PM   #20
michaelmaxwell2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
my iphone does not show my number. When I first connected my iPhone to the computer it asked me if I wanted to restore it from a backup which I pressed yes but what I restored it from was my old 1st gen iPhone with a another number.
__________________
512mb ipod shuffle (broken)
8gb iphone (stolen)
16gb WHITE iphone 3g
michaelmaxwell2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 04:35 AM   #21
musio
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
if you can, how to you view your own number on your iphone?
musio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:55 AM   #22
brianld
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by musio View Post
if you can, how to you view your own number on your iphone?
If it's functioning "normally", it will show up in the top of your Contacts list.
brianld is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 04:36 PM   #23
brianld
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle
Lightbulb RESOLUTION: Get a new SIM

I managed to solve this issue today by getting a new SIM at the AT&T store. Phone number shows up at top of Contacts list, and in iTunes as well.

One item of note is that "My Number: ..." doesn't show up when I access the Contacts app directly from the home screen, but does show up when I go in to it via Phone, then select Contacts from the bottom. Weird, as I thought they were one and the same and essentially pointed to the same thing, though it must be slightly different in this case.
brianld is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 05:39 PM   #24
musio
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
i must have an abnormal phone - nothing there!

EDIT: here is some more info WHERE it should appear:
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/4...nnumbertl2.png

As i read, this feature is for our US buddies. Can any UK people chime in if they do have their number?
musio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 06:26 PM   #25
DenniZ
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by musio View Post
i must have an abnormal phone - nothing there!

EDIT: here is some more info WHERE it should appear:
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/4...nnumbertl2.png

As i read, this feature is for our US buddies. Can any UK people chime in if they do have their number?
I have my number show up on my iTunes and throughout the menus in the phone.

(From UK, on O2 contract)

I have had a number show up when I unlocked my old phone as well. But only with one specific number otherwise it wouldn't show the number.
__________________
iPad WiFi + 3G 64GB | BB 9700 | MBP 15
DenniZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Movie Box video not on phone but showing in itunes bmms8 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Jan 30, 2014 06:24 PM
I'm receiving iMessages from old phone number on my new phone. Make it permanent? rrandyy iOS 7 5 Oct 31, 2013 08:00 PM
4S- Changed phone number, old number still shows up in messages dbabytro iPhone 4 Jul 18, 2013 01:58 PM
Serial number or phone number? davidra iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Mar 13, 2013 10:04 PM
For Tracking info use the phone number in your iTunes account snook911 iPhone 8 Sep 17, 2012 12:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC