Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:48 PM   #1
aaronthomas
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Handbreak audio

Hey all... so i ripped some of my dvds and im having a issue with the volume.... not so much the back ground noise but with the dialogue. Im using the ipod hi-rez preset with aac+ac3 audio and 160kbps audio... anybody have any ideas what i could do to boost up the voices... Thanks
Aaron

Last edited by aaronthomas; Jul 31, 2008 at 12:09 AM.
aaronthomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 09:06 AM   #2
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Well, the only way to modify the volume of your aac track (which is the one you hear on your ipod) is http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/DynRangeCompression

Note, It's controlled in the Audio Tab of course and has no effect on the ac3 track, just the aac track.
dynaflash is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 10:32 AM   #3
aaronthomas
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Thanks Dynaflash.... but im still confused.... Should i just use the aac audio or can i still use the aac +ac3 audio and change the dynamic range compression. Im using my ipod to watch on my tv if that helps.
aaronthomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 10:45 AM   #4
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Well, you can certainly bump up the dynamic range and see if you like it better. Its fine to use with aac+ac3 as it won't touch the ac3 track and only gets applied to the aac track (which of course is all your using with your ipod). I recommend testing a chapter that you don't like the sound on and see how you like a few different settings.

One note: Beware that just like subs, this is hardcoded into your movie, in other words there is no way to turn it off once you've encoded it.
dynaflash is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:14 AM   #5
aaronthomas
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Ok... ill give it a shot! Last question will bumping up the bitrate in audio quality to 160 help as well? Dynaflash thanks so much!
aaronthomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:19 AM   #6
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronthomas View Post
Last question will bumping up the bitrate in audio quality to 160 help as well?
Um, for dpl2 I recommend it. However in your OP you said thats what you're already using <confused>. At any rate, yes I would use 160 kbps for your aac audio bitrate.
dynaflash is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:25 AM   #7
aaronthomas
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Yeah... just wanted to make sure it was the right thing.... Thanks again for your help!
aaronthomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjust audio (in FCP7) to sound better on iphone steveOooo Digital Video 2 Oct 2, 2011 04:00 AM
which audio format is closest to CD quality? benji888 Mac Basics and Help 8 Dec 15, 2010 09:55 AM
Help! Is this an audio problem, or my whole iMac schnerg iMac 0 Nov 11, 2010 04:55 PM
My Mac thinks all my audio CDs are blank! SonicHowler MacBook Pro 0 Nov 9, 2010 12:10 PM
Handbreak audio is off... help? LeahM Mac Basics and Help 0 Jun 21, 2008 11:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC