Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:48 PM   #1
aaronthomas
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Handbreak audio

Hey all... so i ripped some of my dvds and im having a issue with the volume.... not so much the back ground noise but with the dialogue. Im using the ipod hi-rez preset with aac+ac3 audio and 160kbps audio... anybody have any ideas what i could do to boost up the voices... Thanks
Aaron

Last edited by aaronthomas; Jul 31, 2008 at 12:09 AM.
aaronthomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 09:06 AM   #2
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Well, the only way to modify the volume of your aac track (which is the one you hear on your ipod) is http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/DynRangeCompression

Note, It's controlled in the Audio Tab of course and has no effect on the ac3 track, just the aac track.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 10:32 AM   #3
aaronthomas
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Thanks Dynaflash.... but im still confused.... Should i just use the aac audio or can i still use the aac +ac3 audio and change the dynamic range compression. Im using my ipod to watch on my tv if that helps.
aaronthomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 10:45 AM   #4
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Well, you can certainly bump up the dynamic range and see if you like it better. Its fine to use with aac+ac3 as it won't touch the ac3 track and only gets applied to the aac track (which of course is all your using with your ipod). I recommend testing a chapter that you don't like the sound on and see how you like a few different settings.

One note: Beware that just like subs, this is hardcoded into your movie, in other words there is no way to turn it off once you've encoded it.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:14 AM   #5
aaronthomas
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Ok... ill give it a shot! Last question will bumping up the bitrate in audio quality to 160 help as well? Dynaflash thanks so much!
aaronthomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:19 AM   #6
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronthomas View Post
Last question will bumping up the bitrate in audio quality to 160 help as well?
Um, for dpl2 I recommend it. However in your OP you said thats what you're already using <confused>. At any rate, yes I would use 160 kbps for your aac audio bitrate.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:25 AM   #7
aaronthomas
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Yeah... just wanted to make sure it was the right thing.... Thanks again for your help!
aaronthomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbreak problems with converted image kasidydevlin Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 13, 2013 05:43 PM
Handbreak best settings for sport DVDs? dontlookback82 Apple TV and Home Theater 0 May 26, 2013 05:23 AM
Handbreak Taking Forever, Is My MacBook The Problem? giocav89 MacBook 8 Feb 7, 2013 01:47 AM
Hardcoding subs in Handbreak theGuest Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Jan 14, 2013 05:46 PM
Handbreak and CPU usage Germania79 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 11, 2012 06:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC