Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 31, 2008, 12:25 PM   #1
cpnotebook80
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto
TV out using the iphone 3g

I dont see a TV out section in the new iphone 3g. I was looking to get the cables to hook it to my tv but not sure now.
any advice
__________________
MacPro 3,1 2x2.8ghz,10gb ram,1.8tb HD,120GB SSD OCZ vert2
Ati 4870 gpu| Apple 27" led cinema |64gb iP5|8GB iP4| 32gb 3rd gen iPad white| ATV2| rMBP late 2013 2.4/8/256
cpnotebook80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 12:26 PM   #2
soberbrain
macrumors 65816
 
soberbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Are you looking for Settings > iPod > TV Out?
__________________
13" MacBook Pro 2.26 GHz --- iPhone 4
"To start press any key."
Where's the ANY key!? --- HJS
soberbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 12:29 PM   #3
cpnotebook80
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto
ah there ya go.cool thanks.Ipod touch has it different.
Does iphone 3g come with cables specific for tv out?
__________________
MacPro 3,1 2x2.8ghz,10gb ram,1.8tb HD,120GB SSD OCZ vert2
Ati 4870 gpu| Apple 27" led cinema |64gb iP5|8GB iP4| 32gb 3rd gen iPad white| ATV2| rMBP late 2013 2.4/8/256
cpnotebook80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 12:34 PM   #4
sajawebb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
No, but you can buy a cable that allows viewing on your tv. It's also a charger for your phone.

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...ks&mco=MTQ2MjE
__________________
Wars, foreclosures, unemployment, banks closing, presidential approval rating @ 35%.
Bush: I don't see America as having any problems!
sajawebb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 12:45 PM   #5
Small White Car
macrumors G3
 
Small White Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpnotebook80 View Post
ah there ya go.cool thanks.Ipod touch has it different.
Does iphone 3g come with cables specific for tv out?
I haven't tried the iPhone yet, but if it's like the iPod you can use any 3-way mini-to-RCA cable, but the colors won't match.

In other words, if you buy the Apple cable then Yellow=Yellow, Red=Red, and White=White. If you buy some other brand the colors are mixed up, but it still works fine. Just move them around until you figure out what's what.

I point it out since the other cables are usually cheaper.
Small White Car is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 05:14 PM   #6
dan-o-mac
macrumors 6502a
 
dan-o-mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Send a message via AIM to dan-o-mac Send a message via Skype™ to dan-o-mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by Small White Car View Post
I haven't tried the iPhone yet, but if it's like the iPod you can use any 3-way mini-to-RCA cable, but the colors won't match.

In other words, if you buy the Apple cable then Yellow=Yellow, Red=Red, and White=White. If you buy some other brand the colors are mixed up, but it still works fine. Just move them around until you figure out what's what.

I point it out since the other cables are usually cheaper.
You can't use the old or third party cables. Apple now requires an "authentication chip" on the cable. Your only choice is to go with Apple's overpriced cable.
dan-o-mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 06:41 PM   #7
DenniZ
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
If only the new cable was able to output apps onto the screen

be sick playing super monkey ball on a plasma or lcd screen.
__________________
iPad WiFi + 3G 64GB | BB 9700 | MBP 15
DenniZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2009, 03:40 PM   #8
reddphoenix23
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Just Purchased AV Component

I just purchased the Apple AV Component for my iPhone 3G. However, I cannot get it to work. I made all the proper connections between the TV and the phone (so I thought ). What could I be doing wrong?
reddphoenix23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What video recorder application works on the iPhone 3G iOS 4.2.1? Granitel iPhone and iPod touch Apps 5 Oct 31, 2011 12:17 PM
Is the Iphone 3Gs out of date? cootersgarage6 iPhone 22 Nov 29, 2010 12:23 PM
will it be possible to use the iphone 3g as a backup phone to iphone 4? macaco74 iPhone 2 Jun 13, 2010 03:11 PM
HD tv shows on the iPhone 3G? R6Seven iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Dec 8, 2008 03:01 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC