Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

uva25

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 2, 2008
I have Apple TV and the Sonos music system throughout my house. The more I stream over my network (from Itunes) the more I worry. I am considering getting a NAS just for my music since the Sonos supports this. That way if my Apple TV is streaming a movie or syncing, I assume my music playing throughout my house won't be impacted, or at least as much. I would appreciate input on this theory as I am by no means a network expert.

If what I proposed makes sense, how can I by music on Itunes, or Amazon, and have both my IMacs hard drive and the NAS get the new downloads. For example, if I buy a song on my Apple TV and it syncs to my Imac hard drive, how do it get it to my NAS. Can you point purchases to download copies to two drives? Sorry if this is a crazy question. Thanks.

Monetthecat

macrumors newbie
Mar 14, 2008
I have ATV and Sonos in my house. This might not be the most elegant solution, but what I do is copy the downloaded tracks from my iTunes Library to my Sonos Library.

uva25

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 2, 2008
I have ATV and Sonos in my house. This might not be the most elegant solution, but what I do is copy the downloaded tracks from my iTunes Library to my Sonos Library.
That is what I am trying to avoid. Do you copy the entire library each time or just the new tunes? Seems like a pain to find individual tracks to copy if they are by multiple aritsts/albums. Thanks for the input. There probably is some software to sync drives but I am trying to avoid that.

uva25

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 2, 2008
Any reason I shouldn't just point Sonos and Itunes to the NAS for music?

Monetthecat

macrumors newbie
Mar 14, 2008