Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

View Poll Results: Faster speed with 3g using 2.0.1?
yes 23 51.11%
no 22 48.89%
Voters: 45. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2008, 12:18 PM   #1
bubbagumpshrimp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Post your 3g speed w/ 2.0.1 update

Their has been talk about faster 3g speeds since 2.0.1, has this been the case for you?

2.0.1- 500kb avg download.
2.0 -about the same, maybe a little less.

Still not happy with 3g speed in my area.

Last edited by bubbagumpshrimp; Aug 5, 2008 at 12:29 PM.
bubbagumpshrimp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 01:15 PM   #2
AustinSTI
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbagumpshrimp View Post
Their has been talk about faster 3g speeds since 2.0.1, has this been the case for you?

2.0.1- 500kb avg download.
2.0 -about the same, maybe a little less.

Still not happy with 3g speed in my area.
Today is the same as yesterday if not a bit lower - 2 bars, .44Mbps, 54kb/s
I average about 100-150 in austin kb/s so I'm lowered at the moment but thats not a firmware issues as much as its a being in a hardened facility issue...
AustinSTI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 04:00 PM   #3
manhattanboy
macrumors 6502a
 
manhattanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
Thumbs down

my speed is slow as dirt mainly because now my phone want to connect to edge instead of 3 g
__________________
jeans, boots with the fur...gotta love summer!
manhattanboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 04:06 PM   #4
ibosie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
2.0.1 has ruined my phone - 3G performance is terrible I had 1.6Mbps downloads on 2.0 with full signal. I'm in London UK.
ibosie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 04:33 PM   #5
rablat
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Classified NSA intel
No change for me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Speed.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	128429  
rablat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 05:19 PM   #6
jephersun
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Daly City, CA
I'm currently in Daly City, CA - a suburb of San Francisco.

This is what i just got from a speed test.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	securedownload.jpeg
Views:	9
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	128439  
jephersun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 05:31 PM   #7
albeli
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Here
Mine's a bit faster now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	speed.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	58.4 KB
ID:	128441  
albeli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 08:19 PM   #8
cdd543
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denver
I get 667kbps down from dslreports.com/mspeed. It seems more accurate than test my iphone that showed double the speed.
cdd543 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 08:21 PM   #9
profetto
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Mine seems to want to use EDGE now instead of 3G!?!
__________________
20" iMac
iPhone
3G
profetto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 08:27 PM   #10
Cynicalone
macrumors 68040
 
Cynicalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Okie land
I can't tell the difference I mean look at that blazing 3G speed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0001.PNG
Views:	3
Size:	64.3 KB
ID:	128465   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.PNG
Views:	5
Size:	64.7 KB
ID:	128466  
Cynicalone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 10:55 PM   #11
Nikhil72
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York City
Send a message via AIM to Nikhil72
I definitely noticed a sharp increase in speeds. In my house, where I would average 400-550 kbps on 3G, I'm now getting readings between 1.1 and 1.5 mbps using the same tests. This is has been very constant.
__________________
13" MacBook Air 2012 2GHz-512GB-8GB; 64GB iPad mini LTE; 64gb iPhone 5S - GOLD!
Nikhil72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 01:16 AM   #12
Zanneth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhil72 View Post
I definitely noticed a sharp increase in speeds. In my house, where I would average 400-550 kbps on 3G, I'm now getting readings between 1.1 and 1.5 mbps using the same tests. This is has been very constant.
Jesus Christ, I hope you mean between 1.1 and 1.5 Mbps, because mbps and Mbps are different measurements.
Zanneth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 01:26 AM   #13
MICHAELSD
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynicalone View Post
I can't tell the difference I mean look at that blazing 3G speed
I get faster 3G than your wifi connection . Mine's usually always over 1mbp/s, at its' fastest I got close to 2mbp/s. This was with testmyiphone.com.
MICHAELSD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 01:29 AM   #14
lavrishevo
macrumors 65816
 
lavrishevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Georgia
I am very excited. Just got home from the ATL with my new 3G and I am getting 5 bars at the house speed wise about 956 kbps. Very happy considering I live 20 min outside the metro area.
lavrishevo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 02:10 AM   #15
allurbase
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I'm now getting 3-5 bars of 3g in my house when I used to rarely get 1 and usually be auto-switched onto edge. Just took a couple speed tests on testmyiphone and got speeds between 1.5 and 1.7, very happy with the firmware update.
allurbase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 10:31 AM   #16
Cynicalone
macrumors 68040
 
Cynicalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Okie land
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICHAELSD View Post
I get faster 3G than your wifi connection . Mine's usually always over 1mbp/s, at its' fastest I got close to 2mbp/s. This was with testmyiphone.com.
And I have 5 full bars on 3G.

Of course it's different everytime I run it, sometimes my 3G pulls ahead of my wifi. Which has got to be an iPhone issue, because my Macbook Air on the same wi-fi network get's a consistent 10-15 Mbps.

Odd but hey I have never lost a call and the GPS and mail always seem to work so I'm happy with my 3G signal here in Okie land.
Cynicalone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 10:42 AM   #17
aristotle
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
I'm getting about 3 bars on 3G at home and 1.8Mbps download speed with Fido. We may pay a bit more than Americans but we have really fast 3G.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	128537  
aristotle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 10:51 AM   #18
DenniZ
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristotle View Post
I'm getting about 3 bars on 3G at home and 1.8Mbps download speed with Fido. We may pay a bit more than Americans but we have really fast 3G.
Got pretty much the same with O2 UK, only with 1-2 bars of reception.
__________________
iPad WiFi + 3G 64GB | BB 9700 | MBP 15
DenniZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 10:53 AM   #19
Harpy007
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Same speed for me also
Harpy007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 11:29 AM   #20
Cynicalone
macrumors 68040
 
Cynicalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Okie land
I don't think these test work really well here is my result's from another website. I do reset my phone after each test to clear the memory, so I try to make these as accurate as possible...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0001.PNG
Views:	3
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	128546   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.PNG
Views:	3
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	128547  
Cynicalone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 12:47 PM   #21
iJay
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Lightning fast with 2.0.1

Nothing wrong with 2.0.1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0001[1].png
Views:	4
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	128569  
__________________
16gb White iPhone 3G
iJay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 03:40 PM   #22
andrewmjang
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
here in the magical land of make-believe..

we get incredible speeds here...and free rides on Mr. Roger's trolley
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	128599  
andrewmjang is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 04:05 PM   #23
Bernie-Mac
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sin City, NV
I got 1.04 Mbps here on vacation in the boonies of Kaua'i with 3G, I expect a bit faster when I get home to Vegas tho
Bernie-Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 04:11 PM   #24
rwd hero
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Edge

3G

WIFI
rwd hero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2008, 04:12 PM   #25
rwd hero
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
My 3G conection is horrible. i keep the phone on Edge all of the time unless im home, then i turn WIFI on. I am in Baltimore, Maryland, it is a pretty big city. With my 8525 i had perfect 3g signal, this iphone is crap when it comes to service.
rwd hero is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery "usage" status is inaccurate after 5.0.1 update? ryanstewart iOS 5 and earlier 5 Nov 12, 2011 03:30 AM
Post Your 3G Speed Here! w00t951 iPhone 8 Aug 23, 2011 06:03 PM
Post your 3G speeds - Michigan Speedracer04 iPhone 5 Aug 27, 2008 12:31 PM
iTunes won't backup pwned 2.0 3G and iTunes does not show 2.0.1 update hamz01 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Aug 8, 2008 12:15 PM
Getting "Setup your iPhone" screen after 2.0.1 update Geckotek iPhone 1 Aug 5, 2008 12:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC