Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 7, 2008, 02:48 PM   #1
d9pe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Diegten, Switzerland
OS X Server on VMware Fusion

i just tested Mac OS X Server on VMware Fusion 2 Beta 2

http://gallery.me.com/d9pe#100032

its just great...

some one got also experience with that?
__________________
www.thomasmaurer.ch - me on Twitter
d9pe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 10:42 AM   #2
louden
macrumors 65816
 
louden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Did you burn a CD/DVD image?

Is there a way to just point the DMG file to Fusion when you want to create a new VM? It looks like Fusion can only work with actual media or ISO files...
__________________

Dell Pentium 2 with 500 MB HD Windows 95
Compaq iPaq w/ 64MB of Ram
louden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2008, 12:53 PM   #3
suprajoe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I just got the update Fusion 2.0 and am about to install Mac OS X Server on it shortly. I will post up my experience when I'm done.
suprajoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 03:59 PM   #4
aplnub
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by suprajoe View Post
I just got the update Fusion 2.0 and am about to install Mac OS X Server on it shortly. I will post up my experience when I'm done.
How about an update?

I have installed Server now several times on my iMac in Fusion and it is working fine, minus the fact I am having DNS problems so I can't invite other users on the network. A problem for a later discussion since I am not familiar with Leopard Server and am trying to learn.
aplnub is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 10:08 PM   #5
ghostalker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I am thinking of also trying OS X server in a VM

To what extent does Fusion support virtual networking? Their product literature us not clear on this.

Is it possible to network between isolated VM instances?
Will it support multiple virtual IP addresses?
ghostalker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2009, 03:38 PM   #6
RHochstenbach
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Send a message via MSN to RHochstenbach Send a message via Skype™ to RHochstenbach
I'm trying to install Mac OS X 10.5 Server on Fusion as well, but it doesn't seem to work. I see the Apple logo and then the OS X Server wallpaper. But nothing happens. I only keep seeing the famous beech ball as mouse cursor
RHochstenbach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2009, 09:28 AM   #7
RHochstenbach
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Send a message via MSN to RHochstenbach Send a message via Skype™ to RHochstenbach
I just found a way to get OS X Server to install and to boot. When turning on the virtual machine, hold down SHIFT. When the Apple logo appears, keep holding shift. Just after that, you are able to get it working. It's in safe-mode, but it works.

However when I don't use safe-mode when I want to boot OS X Server, it doesn't do anything. When running it in Verbose mode, I only see the message "RpcOut_Send returned a failure". At the end of line first line, ATSServer is mentoined, and at the second is loginwindow mentioned. Those lines keep appearing and I can't boot normally


UPDATE: I've just updated Mac OS X Server to 10.5.6. Now I see the following message: AF ALERT: socketwall_cntl_updaterules ctl_enqueuedate rts err 55. I notice hige HDD activity, and then it just freezes.

UPDATE2: I solved the problem. First I've loaded the installation program of Mac OS X Server and used the Disk Utility to repair file permissions. Then updated Fusion to version 2.0.2. I then got a message that VMware tools was outdated. Installed VMware Tools, rebooted and then I could boot Mac OS X Server normally

Last edited by RHochstenbach; Feb 12, 2009 at 10:54 AM.
RHochstenbach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2009, 10:12 AM   #8
kremer4
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA
I've got it running on my iMac.

I'm hosting 3 of my websites on Leopard Server running on my iMac in Vmware fusion 2.0.2
kremer4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2009, 11:51 AM   #9
mgodfre3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
10.5 Server on VMWare

I am a mac sys admin, and I have installed and had in production a leopard server running virtual through fusion on an xserve. I use the server for Symantec Admin Console, Apple Software Update Server and as a Task server for ARD. So far it has been a champ, and as I would rather use VM ESX like the rest of my setup for windows(about 80 vms total) this seems to do the trick for now.
mgodfre3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMware Fusion 4 and Fusion Drive Kilamite Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Apr 24, 2013 04:54 AM
VMware Fusion 5 vs VMware Fusion 4: impact on OS X performance ozaz Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Feb 16, 2013 10:35 AM
Fusion 5 Vmware Converter lists only up to Fusion 4.x. Will it work? kristenanne77 Mac mini 2 Jan 2, 2013 08:54 PM
VMWare Fusion 3 doesn't work on Mountain Lion, VMWare asking full price for Fusion 4! Marc4 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 20 Jul 29, 2012 09:07 PM
VMware Fusion 4.x Scuba629 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 6 Jul 26, 2012 12:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC