Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 7, 2008, 09:34 PM   #1
ladyhrvy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
How to send a fax

Already tried to send a fax following "Help" but it isn't working for me. Seems like there are some things left out or are not pertaining to the process any longer. Can someone walk me through this, please? Thanks heaps.

Marie
ladyhrvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2008, 10:29 PM   #2
raquiros
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Would you tell us the steps you followed? on which one you get stucked? did you get an error message?

You can try this application as well:

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/8172/pagesender
__________________
Apple MacBook Pro 15.4'' 2.2 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 120 GB HDD - 128MB nVIDIA
Apple iPhone 2G 8 GB - 2.1 Firmware
raquiros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2008, 11:59 PM   #3
ladyhrvy
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by raquiros View Post
Would you tell us the steps you followed? on which one you get stucked? did you get an error message?

You can try this application as well:

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/8172/pagesender
I get as far as the window that has the box for the "To" -and I enter the phone # but the other options do not allow me to do anything. This is a .doc I scanned so it is a .jpg file that I am trying to send as a pdf so I may be messing up right there. First time to try to fax but I'd really like to do this ASAP because there is a time urgency. No error message.

Thanks for helping.

Marie
ladyhrvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2008, 12:33 AM   #4
raquiros
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladyhrvy View Post
I get as far as the window that has the box for the "To" -and I enter the phone # but the other options do not allow me to do anything. This is a .doc I scanned so it is a .jpg file that I am trying to send as a pdf so I may be messing up right there. First time to try to fax but I'd really like to do this ASAP because there is a time urgency. No error message.

Thanks for helping.

Marie
Ok, so did you check that the fax you added to the "Printers & Fax" is working ok? does it shows Idle?

As far as I know all you have to do once you checked the fax status is to click print.... then PDF & Fax and finally type the phone number in the "To" field..... you shouldn't need to enter anything else... so you can safely choose to send fax after setting the phone number...

Please let me know...
__________________
Apple MacBook Pro 15.4'' 2.2 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 120 GB HDD - 128MB nVIDIA
Apple iPhone 2G 8 GB - 2.1 Firmware
raquiros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2008, 12:48 AM   #5
ladyhrvy
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by raquiros View Post
Ok, so did you check that the fax you added to the "Printers & Fax" is working ok? does it shows Idle?

As far as I know all you have to do once you checked the fax status is to click print.... then PDF & Fax and finally type the phone number in the "To" field..... you shouldn't need to enter anything else... so you can safely choose to send fax after setting the phone number...

Please let me know...
I got the jpg changed to a pdf file. "Printers and Fax" does not show "Idle". Tried to configue the modem -- that goes to a "Fax List" that will not accept the pdf doc.Using ATT's modem so it has to be idiot here - after20+ years on Macs I still have a lot to learn! Thanks for trying.

Marie
ladyhrvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2008, 12:51 AM   #6
ladyhrvy
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladyhrvy View Post
I got the jpg changed to a pdf file. "Printers and Fax" does not show "Idle". Tried to configue the modem -- that goes to a "Fax List" that will not accept the pdf doc.Using ATT's modem so it has to be idiot here - after20+ years on Macs I still have a lot to learn! Thanks for trying.

Marie
CORRECTION - it DOES show "Idle" when in the Print window.
Marie
ladyhrvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fax app? riw7124 iPod 1 May 11, 2013 03:43 PM
I have Send as SMS set to off in imessage but it still send texts. richard371 iOS 6 0 Oct 30, 2012 06:32 PM
send my loc, FREE! send location to predefined contacts upon app start immediately! bsodify iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Jul 8, 2012 03:34 PM
Fax Software In Utopia Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jun 18, 2012 11:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC