Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 9, 2008, 10:41 AM   #1
watermelon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NYC
iPhone 3g won't do 3 way calls?

Hey,
I have 3 way calling in my plan, but when I click merge calls they don't merge into one call, even after the person has picked up?
Thanks!
__________________
uni
watermelon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2008, 11:54 AM   #2
watermelon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NYC
.
__________________
uni
watermelon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2008, 12:11 PM   #3
Auzburner
macrumors 65816
 
Auzburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Syracuse, NY - USA
Send a message via AIM to Auzburner
IDK what to tell you man. This should work... Does for me with my standard iPhone plan...
__________________
Primary stuff: - 2012 Retina MacBook Pro+2.7GHz+16GB RAM+512GB - iPhone 5S 32GB
Auzburner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2008, 12:24 PM   #4
RFR79
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bay Area, California
OP maybe you should contact Apple because mine works fine.
RFR79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2008, 12:29 PM   #5
Ntombi
macrumors 68020
 
Ntombi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bostonian exiled in SoCal
I would make an appointment with the Genius bar, because that's something that's easy to demonstrate. If it's a problem with the phone, they'll replace it. If you're doing something wrong, they'll explain it.
__________________
2.53 GHz 13" MacBook Pro iPod Classic 64GB Black iPhone 5
Switching to AT&T? PM me for a $25 gift card!
Ntombi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2008, 12:41 PM   #6
tjespo22
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island NY
Send a message via AIM to tjespo22
try restarting the phone? i used to make 3 way calls all the time but once in a while it would just not work. try restarting your phone.
__________________
Apple MBP; 32gb Iphone 4
tjespo22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 12:09 AM   #7
narjise
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Angry Same Pb Here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by watermelon View Post
Hey,
I have 3 way calling in my plan, but when I click merge calls they don't merge into one call, even after the person has picked up?
Thanks!
I have exact same problem as you said.
Problem is when you merge 2 parties into one; it is either you hear nothing at all from both parties, or you only can talk to 1 person putting the other person on hold.
I called at&t 10 times to find a solution, still no go.
Talking to a service representatives did not help much. They just remove 3 way call feature and put it back on to yyour account from their at&t system, or they suggest power cycle the phone, or call apple.(duh!) At times, it worked momentarily then voila, the same problem.
Then I talked to a tech support, I do not know what it is called but the tech disconnected my iPhone 3g from the network and reconnected it. She said this process is different from partial remove/add features that customer support rep did, it was rather total reset from the network.
Right after the talk with tech support, I was able to connect & merge 3 people together that I could not before. Next day, I tried three way calling for the same 3 people but it did not work ever since.
I test called three way call today, calling 611 and Apple iPhone support number 800-694-7400 , and it works!. However, problem still exists when I try to connect my friends, the same 3 people mentioned above. What gives?
Does the problem have something to do with my friends' carriers? One has T-mo, the other one has Helio, and the third has vonage VOIP home service.
Please let me know what happens.
narjise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 12:46 AM   #8
JWages
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Illinois, USA
Send a message via AIM to JWages Send a message via MSN to JWages
I called my house phone and my other cell phone and it wouldn't merge the calls They all have three-way calling, so I don't know what is wrong. I'm going to call AT&T tomorrow and see what they suggest.
__________________
 15" MBP 2.4GHz, 2GB Ram
 16GB iPhone (Black)
 30GB Black Video iPod
JWages is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 01:11 AM   #9
aphexii
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
haven't tried yet with the 3G, i'll give it a whirl tomm.
__________________
References: eBay (363+, 100%) Heatware (149+, 100%)
aphexii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 02:32 AM   #10
cambridge1807
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Mine works perfectly, even though I've only used it once. If you truly believe it doesn't work, take it in to Apple and see what's up with it. Maybe you have a faulty phone or aren't doing something correctly, which I highly doubt because it's so simple.
cambridge1807 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 02:32 AM   #11
marksman
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Maybe one of the parties is a little nervous and hesitate to do something like this.

Ply them with alcohol and try again.
marksman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 03:26 AM   #12
narjise
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Question



Please folks, try three way calling with your iPhone 3G if you haven't.

So far 3 people in this thread reported problem with "merging."

Let's see how it goes.
narjise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 07:51 AM   #13
Ferrd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by narjise View Post


Please folks, try three way calling with your iPhone 3G if you haven't.

So far 3 people in this thread reported problem with "merging."

Let's see how it goes.
No problems here. I had 4 bars, and full 3G service.

Ferrd
Ferrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 08:23 AM   #14
Donz0r
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
has worked fine for me with 3G
Donz0r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 11:20 AM   #15
sms0217ny
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I've had the same problem, 3 way call works sometimes but most of the times i've tried it either no one can hear each other or you can only hear one of the callers, very annoying
sms0217ny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 09:47 PM   #16
watermelon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NYC
wow i feel special that im not the only one with this problem!
Sometimes it will work BUT theres another problem even when it does work!
You know how when you call, lets say, a store, and It's like press 1 for blah blah...well when I press 1 for blah blah nothing happens, and the other party in the 3 way call has to press it ... if anyone else is having this problem?

But with the other issue at hand with merging the calls, I still have the problem most of the time
__________________
uni
watermelon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 11:45 PM   #17
narjise
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by watermelon View Post
wow i feel special that im not the only one with this problem!
Sometimes it will work BUT theres another problem even when it does work!
You know how when you call, lets say, a store, and It's like press 1 for blah blah...well when I press 1 for blah blah nothing happens, and the other party in the 3 way call has to press it ... if anyone else is having this problem?

But with the other issue at hand with merging the calls, I still have the problem most of the time
I tried that dialing 611 and Apple support. When they both are connected tapping number pad did not work for me.
Three way call problem continues......

Folks, what are the carriers of your connected parties when you have merge problems ?
narjise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 11:50 PM   #18
deannnnn
macrumors 68000
 
deannnnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City & South Florida
No problems here.
Just tried three-way calling for the first time... (I never find the need to do it lol)... but it worked!
__________________
MacBook Pro (Retina) / iPhone 5S
deannnnn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 02:15 AM   #19
watermelon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by narjise View Post
I tried that dialing 611 and Apple support. When they both are connected tapping number pad did not work for me.
Three way call problem continues......

Folks, what are the carriers of your connected parties when you have merge problems ?
wow i feel even more special that im not the only one with the number pad problem now!
The carriers are verizon.
__________________
uni
watermelon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 02:36 AM   #20
narjise
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by watermelon View Post
wow i feel even more special that im not the only one with the number pad problem now!
The carriers are verizon.
I tried that again and the number pad worked while on three way call.
narjise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 09:32 AM   #21
manhattanboy
macrumors 6502a
 
manhattanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
Quote:
Originally Posted by narjise View Post
I have exact same problem as you said.
Problem is when you merge 2 parties into one; it is either you hear nothing at all from both parties, or you only can talk to 1 person putting the other person on hold.
I called at&t 10 times to find a solution, still no go.
Talking to a service representatives did not help much. They just remove 3 way call feature and put it back on to yyour account from their at&t system, or they suggest power cycle the phone, or call apple.(duh!) At times, it worked momentarily then voila, the same problem.
Then I talked to a tech support, I do not know what it is called but the tech disconnected my iPhone 3g from the network and reconnected it. She said this process is different from partial remove/add features that customer support rep did, it was rather total reset from the network.
Right after the talk with tech support, I was able to connect & merge 3 people together that I could not before. Next day, I tried three way calling for the same 3 people but it did not work ever since.
I test called three way call today, calling 611 and Apple iPhone support number 800-694-7400 , and it works!. However, problem still exists when I try to connect my friends, the same 3 people mentioned above. What gives?
Does the problem have something to do with my friends' carriers? One has T-mo, the other one has Helio, and the third has vonage VOIP home service.
Please let me know what happens.
I used to have this problem but then it magically started working. Do a reset with the home and power keys and try it again.
__________________
jeans, boots with the fur...gotta love summer!
manhattanboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 09:34 AM   #22
manhattanboy
macrumors 6502a
 
manhattanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
Quote:
Originally Posted by watermelon View Post
wow i feel even more special that im not the only one with the number pad problem now!
The carriers are verizon.
I got it to work with 2 Verizon customers...
just reset it and try patiently again.
__________________
jeans, boots with the fur...gotta love summer!
manhattanboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 09:49 AM   #23
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
FWIW, I've been able to do this since 1st Gen. Actually, I've done 4-way calls a few times, and once a 5-way. It all still works on 3G.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 01:56 PM   #24
pj rage
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I tried it successfully first try right after I got the phone. Haven't tried it since, with 2.0.1.
pj rage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 02:02 PM   #25
narjise
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by manhattanboy View Post
I used to have this problem but then it magically started working. Do a reset with the home and power keys and try it again.
Thanks manhattanboy for the info. That's what apple suggested.
I'll try that again and report back.
narjise is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone won't ring or vibrate on calls tomwvr iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Nov 28, 2013 06:55 PM
iPhone 5 - Tmobile/EE sometimes won't receive calls slapbang12 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jul 12, 2013 02:55 PM
iPhone 5 car Bluetooth handsfree won't let me answer calls Farrellcollie iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Feb 5, 2013 09:59 PM
iPhone: JB Iphone freezes on incoming calls (FaceTime and Cellular calls) seance765 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Dec 6, 2012 02:56 AM
iPhone 4S screen won't turn off during calls... iBroken iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Aug 17, 2012 05:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC