Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kolax

macrumors G3
Original poster
Mar 20, 2007
I already own a TV tuner that uses the EyeTV software, but the annoying thing is having to move the aerial about and find good reception, and the fact that I have to sit in specific places in order to get reception just annoys me.

So I saw this - ideal solution. Plug into my Airport Extreme N and wirelessly watch TV without having to worry about whether I'm going to get a signal in the place I'm sitting.

Now, I heard a while back that network TV tuners suck up bandwidth, and the quality isn't always that good. But I've had no experience using network TV tuners, and I'm hoping that on an N network, bandwidth issues won't be a problem.

Does anyone have any experience with this TV tuner? Is it worth the money?

kolax

macrumors G3
Original poster
Mar 20, 2007
Never mind, found the answer on the Elgato's FAQ's.

For those who are interested in this concept:

HDHomeRun typically receives video streams between 19 and 38 Mbps. This means 100BaseT Ethernet (100Mbps) is the ideal network setup. 802.11 wireless probably won't offer enough bandwidth - even the new 802.11n architecture may not perform as well as 100BaseT.

If you try to use HDHomeRun with a network not up to the task, then the video may not appear at all. If your network is filled with lots of other traffic, then that can also affect the performance of HDHomeRun.

PcBgone

macrumors 6502
Feb 3, 2008
I have the hdhomerun. I use it on my imac, my wife her macbook. Ive never tried wirelessly until now after reading your thread.

At first when I first got it I wasnt to impressed. I even contacted el gato about the choppiness of the video. They couldnt help resolve. I got it resolved by getting a better Antenna, the antenna I was using was an indoor antenna, which I have changed to an outdoor antenna. Its a night and day difference!