Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 11, 2008, 07:32 AM   #1
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Suggestions for a switch?

Has anyone got any suggestions for a decent quality consumer 4 port 10/100 base-T switch? I've looked at Netgear's stuff and it seems cheap, a bit too cheap to be honest. I just want a quick and dirty hack to get my network up to scratch and then I can think about a long term solution so nothing too expensive either.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 09:48 AM   #2
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I would get a gigabit ethernet switch. Once in awhile you can get them for $20 after rebate for a 5 port (1 up, 4 down). Typically around $40-$50

Note you need cat 5e or cat 6 cables for gigabit ethernet speed, and also you need RAID on both computer to saturate gigabit ethernet.

Currently $15 after rebate, not gigabit though. Should work fine.
http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=203357327
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 01:20 PM   #3
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
Has anyone got any suggestions for a decent quality consumer 4 port 10/100 base-T switch? I've looked at Netgear's stuff and it seems cheap, a bit too cheap to be honest. I just want a quick and dirty hack to get my network up to scratch and then I can think about a long term solution so nothing too expensive either.
They are cheap because they are a simple device. I think a four port 10/100 base-T switch is now just a single chip. For most people even a cheap switch like this is overkill and a simple hub would work as well. but with sweitches being so cheap these is nothing to be saved by getting a hub. Just get one from D-link, lynksys, netgear or the like.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 06:58 AM   #4
Cromulent
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consultant View Post
I would get a gigabit ethernet switch. Once in awhile you can get them for $20 after rebate for a 5 port (1 up, 4 down). Typically around $40-$50

Note you need cat 5e or cat 6 cables for gigabit ethernet speed, and also you need RAID on both computer to saturate gigabit ethernet.

Currently $15 after rebate, not gigabit though. Should work fine.
http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=203357327
The problem with that is my current network is hardwired into the house (done before gigabit ethernet was common) and the house has just been decorated. I'd have to make quite a few sacrifices to rewire the network now (like my life ).

Still, thinking of the future is not a bad idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisA View Post
They are cheap because they are a simple device. I think a four port 10/100 base-T switch is now just a single chip. For most people even a cheap switch like this is overkill and a simple hub would work as well. but with sweitches being so cheap these is nothing to be saved by getting a hub. Just get one from D-link, lynksys, netgear or the like.
Okay I guess I'll just go for the best value for money then.

The reason I ask is because my current network has a 4 port router (10/100 base-T) in the study with all the ports hardwired in. I have one ethernet port in my room but three devices (Mac Pro, OpenBSD box and Xbox 360) and want to connect the switch to that port to effectively give all three devices access to the internet at the same time.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 08:45 AM   #5
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisA View Post
They are cheap because they are a simple device. I think a four port 10/100 base-T switch is now just a single chip. For most people even a cheap switch like this is overkill and a simple hub would work as well. but with sweitches being so cheap these is nothing to be saved by getting a hub. Just get one from D-link, lynksys, netgear or the like.
I'd agree. They've all gone to SoC (System on a Chip), so just because it's small and light weight, doesn't mean junk. The three manufacturers ChrisA listed are usually quite reliable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
The problem with that is my current network is hardwired into the house (done before gigabit ethernet was common) and the house has just been decorated. I'd have to make quite a few sacrifices to rewire the network now (like my life ).

Still, thinking of the future is not a bad idea.
Since you already have wire run, it's much easier to upgrade it. Attach Cat6 to the old stuff, and pull it through. Then terminate the new wire. That's the hard part.

If you aren't willing to run wire, or have it done, you may want to go wireless. Depending on the cable lengths and if you can DIY the cabling and termination, this may be your best option. Not bad at $150USD. Keep in mind though, each device will require interface components. The XBox360 may be a problem. You may be able to combine this(Ethernet to USB device) and this(USB WiFi). (The XBox wouldn't operate at Gigabit speeds(100Mbps though), and will drop the speed on the other devices IIRC).

By the time you add it up, rewiring may yet be less expensive. Sorry I can't be more specific, but I don't quite understand the physical installation well enough.
Sorry I can't be of more help.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 01:16 PM   #6
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
The OP is talking about internet access for other devices. For internet access, rewiring is NOT necessary and will not help unless your package is more than 100mbits.

Gigabit ethernet wires is only useful if you are transferring large files betweend different rooms, and if the devices have gigabit ethernet.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 08:56 PM   #7
Cromulent
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consultant View Post
The OP is talking about internet access for other devices. For internet access, rewiring is NOT necessary and will not help unless your package is more than 100mbits.

Gigabit ethernet wires is only useful if you are transferring large files betweend different rooms, and if the devices have gigabit ethernet.
To an extent anyway. This is all just a stop gap solution anyway until I can get a decent long term solution sorted. At some point We'll have to move to an ADSL2 router so that will most likely be the best time to sort things like that out. Ideally I'd like to make better use of the OpenBSD boxes.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2008, 04:59 PM   #8
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Search for D-Link DGS-2205 at circuit city. Expires soon.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 05:59 AM   #9
Cromulent
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consultant View Post
Search for D-Link DGS-2205 at circuit city. Expires soon.
That was a nice deal, but I am in England .
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2008, 05:35 PM   #10
Sesshi
Banned
 
Sesshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: One Nation Under Gordon
The HP Procurves have never failed me - well, they have failed on occasion but when they have, the warranty support has been decent.

The 1400-8G is a very cheap <50 8-port unmanaged gigabit switch with a full 16Gb switch fabric.

Dabs in the UK has it. HP part number is J9077A. I don't have any personal experience of the unmanaged Procurves but I don't think they'd be hugely worse or anything.
Sesshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phones: Possible Switch to Android, Phone Suggestions? hashholly Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 8 Sep 14, 2013 01:48 PM
Suggestions for a new TV sdilley14 Apple TV and Home Theater 39 Jan 2, 2013 08:56 AM
new TV suggestions mdehoogh Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Dec 31, 2012 09:31 AM
AT&T's Mobile Share Plan: To switch or not to switch? HXGuy iPhone 13 Sep 22, 2012 10:29 PM
I need some help.suggestions on what to do here.. srslycris Mac Pro 1 Jun 26, 2012 09:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC