Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 13, 2008, 11:41 PM   #1
andyx181x
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
upgrading imac g5 intel processor

curiosity here, i looked up a while back to see if it was possible to swap out the first intel processors with the newer ones the imacs are coming with. i found this info and mainly looks just as tricky as open heart surgery to risk my imac doing, and thats just replacing the processor itself. wouldn't it be easier to just swap out motherboards with the new processor already installed? assuming of course you can buy/find it like that, since the new intel chips are running the same mother boards
andyx181x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2008, 11:44 PM   #2
aross99
macrumors 68000
 
aross99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Are you talking about an iMac G5 to Intel iMac upgrade?

Thats not going to work...

For an Intel iMac to Intel iMac upgrade, I don't know what else would be involved other than swapping motherboards. DOubt you can find a cost effective source for motherboards anyway.

I read about some Core Solo to Core Duo upgrade on the Intel Mac Mini, but nothing on the iMac's.

Not sure the iMac is really a good choice for this type of upgrade...
aross99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 08:35 AM   #3
andyx181x
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
i did find photos on someone upgrading the imac g5 first intels, removing the actual processor and installing the newer intel core duo. heres the link

http://www.maclife.com/article/creat..._duo_processor

but someone else told me the performance increase is really only 10-20% so it's not worth the processor swap
andyx181x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 08:49 AM   #4
ewilson6
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
You either have a G5 processor or an Intel Processor.

There is no such thing as a G5 Intel Processor or G5 Intel
Macintosh Computer.

--Eric
ewilson6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 08:16 PM   #5
aross99
macrumors 68000
 
aross99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyx181x View Post
i did find photos on someone upgrading the imac g5 first intels, removing the actual processor and installing the newer intel core duo. heres the link

http://www.maclife.com/article/creat..._duo_processor

but someone else told me the performance increase is really only 10-20% so it's not worth the processor swap
I think you are confusing the White Intel iMac with the iMac G5 - they look identical.

The CPU swap you are talking about is basically what I mentioned above with the Mac Mini...
aross99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 08:19 PM   #6
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyx181x View Post
i did find photos on someone upgrading the imac g5 first intels, removing the actual processor and installing the newer intel core duo. heres the link

http://www.maclife.com/article/creat..._duo_processor

but someone else told me the performance increase is really only 10-20% so it's not worth the processor swap
lol not gonna happen if you have a g5 imac
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 08:25 PM   #7
Dustman
macrumors 65816
 
Dustman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
If you have an iMac Core Duo, yes the processor is theoretically upgradable because it is not soldered in.

If you have an iMac G5 (PowerPC, not intel) it's a lot harder than that... harder as in impossible.

EDIT: It would also help if you posted the specs of your iMac.
__________________
iMac 27" i5 2.8Ghz Mavericks; Dell 5150 P4 3.8Ghz Win2000; Samsung Galaxy S5; ATV2 4.1 J'b; MacBook 2.1Ghz Mountain Lion via MLPostFactor

Last edited by Dustman; Aug 14, 2008 at 08:31 PM.
Dustman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 09:30 PM   #8
iMav
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Columbus, WI
Send a message via ICQ to iMav Send a message via AIM to iMav Send a message via MSN to iMav Send a message via Yahoo to iMav Send a message via Skype™ to iMav
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustman View Post
If you have an iMac Core Duo, yes the processor is theoretically upgradable because it is not soldered in.
I had the original Intel 20" iMac (core duo) and almost swapped it out for a core solo CPU out of our first Mac mini intel system.

Why? Simply because I thought it would be hilarious and definitely the only one of its kind. Never got around to it though.
__________________
-=iMav=-
http://geekhack.org
iMav is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 11:08 PM   #9
andyx181x
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
sorry i keep calling it a g5 cause its the fifth generation, i haven't gotten use to calling it just intel mac.
andyx181x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 06:59 AM   #10
Lord Zedd
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
G5 is something completely different.
Lord Zedd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 09:43 AM   #11
iGrant
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Abingdon
Send a message via AIM to iGrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Zedd View Post
G5 is something completely different.
HAHAHA yeah it is, to all of us old PPC Guys . . . the G5 alot of us have a lot of respect and good memories of . . . and some have bad, but I have good memories!!!

-iGrant
__________________
Once you use a Mac, you never going back!
Macbook Air C2D 1.6, Mac Mini CD 1.6Ghz; iPod Touch 32gb
iGrant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use an Intel "K" processor in late 2013 Haswell iMac? CompanionCube iMac 39 May 30, 2014 03:50 AM
Upgrading rMBP Processor Opinion... cjgonzales1900 MacBook Pro 8 Nov 2, 2013 01:23 PM
Is there a noticeable speed gain from upgrading processor? kat.hayes iMac 4 Oct 17, 2013 04:52 AM
Updating processor in Intel core duo iMac? mcman77 iMac 5 Nov 29, 2012 05:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC