Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 14, 2008, 01:58 PM   #1
Dmac77
macrumors 68020
 
Dmac77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Two Different Routers, for 802.11 b/n

Hi,

I would like to know if it is possible to hook my Linksys WRT54G up to my AEBS, and use the AEBS for 802.11 n only, and use the Linksys for 802.11 b & g only? I want to do this to improve streaming between my "n" devices, but I still want to be able to access the internet from the b & g devices. So basically I want everything on the same network, but I want one router broadcasting in "n" only, and the other broadcasting in "b" & "g". Is this possible?

Thanks!

Don
Dmac77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 02:04 PM   #2
EricNau
Moderator
 
EricNau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
I don't see why not. You might, however, get some interference between the two routers (make sure they're operating on different channels, with difference SSIDs).

Also, you'll want to disable DHCP on your Linksys; essentially the AEBS will handle all of the routing, while the linksys will be acting as an access point.
EricNau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 02:10 PM   #3
Dmac77
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Dmac77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricNau View Post
I don't see why not. You might, however, get some interference between the two routers (make sure they're operating on different channels, with difference SSIDs).

Also, you'll want to disable DHCP on your Linksys; essentially the AEBS will handle all of the routing, while the linksys will be acting as an access point.
Ok, so would I connect the Linksys to the AEBS via the WAN port, or one of the LAN ports? also, will I be able to use the LAN ports on the Linksys? Will the AEBS be able to assign an IP address to devices wired to the Lynksis. I'm asking because I only have 1 port left open on the AEBS, and need more wired connections to.

Also, for MAC filtering, would I just have to configure that on the AEBS, or will I have to configure it on the Linksys also?

Thanks!

Don
Dmac77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 05:52 PM   #4
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmac77 View Post
Hi,

I would like to know if it is possible to hook my Linksys WRT54G up to my AEBS, and use the AEBS for 802.11 n only, and use the Linksys for 802.11 b & g only?
Yes. You would just have two different networks. Not much different than if to people living in adjacent apartments each have wireless routers. If you opened a b/g/n capable notebook up it would detect two networks.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 06:09 PM   #5
EricNau
Moderator
 
EricNau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmac77 View Post
Ok, so would I connect the Linksys to the AEBS via the WAN port, or one of the LAN ports? also, will I be able to use the LAN ports on the Linksys? Will the AEBS be able to assign an IP address to devices wired to the Lynksis. I'm asking because I only have 1 port left open on the AEBS, and need more wired connections to.

Also, for MAC filtering, would I just have to configure that on the AEBS, or will I have to configure it on the Linksys also?

Thanks!

Don
You would connect the linksys to a LAN port on the AEBS, and yes, you could use the LAN ports on the linksys; the AEBS will indeed assign addresses to anything connected to the entire network.

I believe you need to assign MAC address filtering to both the AEBS and the linksys.
EricNau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 06:46 PM   #6
Dmac77
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Dmac77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricNau View Post
You would connect the linksys to a LAN port on the AEBS, and yes, you could use the LAN ports on the linksys; the AEBS will indeed assign addresses to anything connected to the entire network.

I believe you need to assign MAC address filtering to both the AEBS and the linksys.
OK, I was looking on the setup page of the Linksys, and I don't know what mode I would set it to, DCHP (I'm assuming no), PPpoe, Static IP, and Telstra Cable. Which of these would I set it to?

Thanks,

Don
Dmac77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 06:47 PM   #7
operator207
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisA View Post
Yes. You would just have two different networks. Not much different than if to people living in adjacent apartments each have wireless routers. If you opened a b/g/n capable notebook up it would detect two networks.
Not 2 different networks, thats not a good option. Set the B/G router to AP mode, set the authentication (so no one gains access to your network unless you give them the password), and let the ABES do the routing/DHCP for every connection ethernet/Wifi N/Wifi BG.

This is how many networks are setup (Wifi device is in AP mode, not router mode), especially when wireless is not the main connectivity method to the network.
operator207 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 07:05 PM   #8
Dmac77
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Dmac77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
OK, sorry, but I'm totally confused! I don't see a AP mode in the config page for the WRT54G. The modes that I do have are, DCHP, Static IP, PPPoE, PPTP, L2TP, and Telstra Cable. Which of these would I set the WRT54G to?

Thanks,

Don
Dmac77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2008, 12:29 PM   #9
operator207
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmac77 View Post
OK, sorry, but I'm totally confused! I don't see a AP mode in the config page for the WRT54G. The modes that I do have are, DCHP, Static IP, PPPoE, PPTP, L2TP, and Telstra Cable. Which of these would I set the WRT54G to?

Thanks,

Don
Sorry, was on vacation.

To get the WRT54G to do "ap only", you turn off DHCP, connect a LAN port to your existing network, do NOT use the WAN port. You give it an IP in your current IP range, as you may need to get to the web interface. It wont do routing if the WAN port is disconnected.

Depending on your version of the wrt54g, you might consider DD-WRT.
operator207 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2008, 12:35 PM   #10
Apple Ink
macrumors 68000
 
Apple Ink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
It is always RECOMMENDED that you use b/g and n with separate routers as using a single router for n. g. b will decrease its 'n' throughput considerably!

And dont worry about interference since b/g uses the 2.4 GHz medium while n uses 5 GHz!
__________________
Either we're alone in the universe or we aren't. Both are equally terrifying..
- Arthur C. Clarke
Apple Ink is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What routers do I need to buy in order to take advantage of 802.11 ac Wi-Fi? minkim91 MacBook Pro 15 Oct 29, 2013 10:12 PM
802.11ac Routers Prior to Finalization of IEEE Standard? xlr8or Mac Peripherals 1 Aug 30, 2013 11:22 AM
PowerBook G4 802.11b AirPort and 802.11ac Time Capsule abingor PowerPC Macs 0 Jul 27, 2013 04:19 AM
802.11n -> 802.11ac SparkyCanada MacBook Pro 35 Feb 6, 2013 12:45 AM
802.11g --> 802.11n improvements? evangw Mac Peripherals 11 Aug 10, 2012 01:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC