Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rdp5008

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 23, 2006
Florida
So I found a site for the government discount from the online Apple Store.

I am just beginning officer training, so I think I qualify for this.

My question is, if you purchase a mac using the government or military discount do you have to use it for work purposes?

Anyone else have experience with this specific discount? It seems to be even better than my student discount that I am about to lose.

Googon

macrumors member
Aug 13, 2008
Well if the government is going to pay for it then yes, you most likely will ave to use it for work. With the educational promotion, they expect people to use the products they buy on a discount to help them with schooling, and to generally use FOR school/education.

Although, that doesn't mean you can't spend your spare time on it and play some games, etc. (My cat is eating a spider right now...)

rdp5008

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 23, 2006
Florida
If I pay for the computer using my military discount and have the computer in my home.......is that abusing the discount (or is it even allowed?)?

I just found out about this discount and I don't know much about it.

JNB

macrumors 604
If you qualify, use it for any damn thing you want. There is NO restriction as to where or how you can use the machine based on any discount received, period.

The Mil/Gov't discount pretty much bites, anyway. Something like 4% (or less, depending on the purchase). And I use mine every time I buy something from the Apple Store, and I've been retired for ten years now. Show 'em the card, and off comes a few pennies.

Googon

macrumors member
Aug 13, 2008