Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 10, 2010, 09:05 AM   #26
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimme View Post
You need to use Boot Camp!
Seconded!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macs4u View Post
What i mean is...

Its almost like the flightsim doesnt take into consideration drag? , If i fly level at low speed(close to the stall) and go to a seriously high climb angle, it will do so instantly , no lag , no drag , no bogging down , nothing. That isnt realistic!
X-Plane calculates drag based on airframe components and power based on what the designer of the airplane designates. It's the only retail flight sim that I know of that does this. And X-Plane as been certified by the FAA. That means something. I used to fly a DC9 (a real one) and took an X-Plane DC9 on a cross country trip and it's performance was very realistic. Now there are thousands of aircraft out there that have been designed by individuals who could have been unrealistic in their power designation or created fantasy planes.

The best way to test this is see if you can find a WWI aircraft modeled in X-Plane and try your maneuver. If you don't stall post haste, then I might agree there are some holes in the flight model. The other possibility would be to email the X-Plane author, Austin Myer at X-Plane.com.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.

Last edited by Huntn; Feb 10, 2010 at 09:11 AM.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2010, 01:34 PM   #27
Aikiman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I liked Falcon 4.0 unfortunately it was never released on OSX. It was more than a flight sim, it was mission based fighter pilot adventure in South Korea...very cool.
__________________
newbie programmer alert.
Aikiman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2010, 02:28 PM   #28
GreatDrok
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Zealand
When I was learning to fly a few years back the weather was bad one day when I had booked a flight so I was told I could have some time on their flight sim setup. They had both MSFS and X-plane. Since I only have Macs and hadn't had a chance to try MSFS I thought I would give it a go. I did a perfect takeoff, circuit and landing. At that stage, there is simply no way I could have done that. X-plane wins my vote for being much more realistic although I have to admit that for practicing my procedures for circuits I thought FlightGear was also very good because it had mouse-look so I could look over my shoulder down at the runway as I paralleled it.

9/10ths of the realism comes from taking it seriously though. Have a proper yoke and pedals and act like you're really flying - I bought all the stuff so I could just drill myself without having to pay for time in a real plane and for that it worked really well.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro 13" i5 16GB 500GB SSD, Mac mini C2D + 20" ACD 8GB 960GB SSD, iPad mini 64G WiFi+cellular, ATV2, ATV3, iPhone 4 16GB
GreatDrok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2010, 11:24 PM   #29
dmr727
macrumors G3
 
dmr727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
I used to fly a DC9 (a real one)
::drool::
dmr727 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 08:09 AM   #30
lairdjtk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Flight sim

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
Hello the xplane looks very good but anyone know of good controls that work on xplane & imac

would like a joystick then maybe throttles and pedals

though price may rule this idea
lairdjtk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 09:12 AM   #31
maccompaq
macrumors 65816
 
maccompaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by lairdjtk View Post
Hello the xplane looks very good but anyone know of good controls that work on xplane & imac

would like a joystick then maybe throttles and pedals

though price may rule this idea
I'm using Saitek Pro Yoke and Throttle Quadrant on my Core i7 desktop for X-Plane 9 with Snow Leopard and MS FSX with 64 bit Windows 7. I'm using CH Flightstick Pro on my Core2Duo 2.8 GHz desktop for X-Plane 9 with Leopard. Both the joystick and the yoke work great for me with X-Plane.

FSX did not like my joystick, but it somewhat likes my Yoke. X-Plane likes both units. I have the yoke and quadrant programmed for utmost efficiency in X-Plane, and everything works to perfection. Same for the CH joystick and X-Plane.
I am having a problem getting the yoke and quadrant programmed in FSX just like I had with the joystick. Some programming would take, but then would not work with the next flight. Other programming just will not take. Anyone have clues to make it work?
maccompaq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 07:17 PM   #32
Kaver
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Godzone
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aikiman View Post
I liked Falcon 4.0 unfortunately it was never released on OSX. It was more than a flight sim, it was mission based fighter pilot adventure in South Korea...very cool.
There is a note on the GraphSim website - to the effect that an OS-X version of Falcon 4.0 (Allied Force) is currently in beta testing at Lead Pursuit - no details of a release date.

http://www.graphsim.com/
http://www.lead-pursuit.com/

This was confirmed by an email I received from GraphSim when I enquired further!

I can hardly wait ...... Now, if only they would release a new version of F/A-18 Hornet (OIF) with updated graphics. Along with X-Plane, OS-X would be fairly well served with flight simulators.
Kaver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 09:02 AM   #33
maccompaq
macrumors 65816
 
maccompaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaver View Post
What's up with Graphsim charging $49 for X-Plane 9 for Mac and $29 for X-Plane 9 for Windows?

Just buy X-Plane 9 from the X-Plane 9 web site (http://www.x-plane.com/pg_store.html) for $29 and get all three versions for that price (Mac, Windows, Linux)
maccompaq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 09:33 AM   #34
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmr727 View Post
This question comes up quite a bit.

But I agree with the X-Plane answer.
I also agree with X-Plane except that it has no damage modeling. If you want to dogfight other people, I'd recommend Warbirds although my disclaimer is it's been a decade since I've played it and I believe it requires a subscription.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2010, 10:58 AM   #35
ComputerPilot
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
X-Plane didn't work for me at all

After reading so many good things about X-Plane I downloaded their trial version for both Mac and PC. Both failed miserably. I don't have a joystick or rudder pedals so for demo purposes I had to use the keyboard/mouse.

On the PC, pressing F2 to open the throttle simply started Microsoft Word software. On the Mac it increased the screen brightness.

Pressing the "b" key to release the brakes did nothing in either case.

Lower half of the instrument panel was hidden in both cases. Couldn't move it and could not operate those controls.

Clicking the mouse in the center of the windscreen brought up a white box but nothing else happened.

The only thing that seemed to work was that I could listen to tower chatter.
ComputerPilot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2010, 11:18 AM   #36
Topper
macrumors 65816
 
Topper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ComputerPilot View Post
After reading so many good things about X-Plane I downloaded their trial version for both Mac and PC. Both failed miserably. I don't have a joystick or rudder pedals so for demo purposes I had to use the keyboard/mouse.

On the PC, pressing F2 to open the throttle simply started Microsoft Word software. On the Mac it increased the screen brightness.

Pressing the "b" key to release the brakes did nothing in either case.

Lower half of the instrument panel was hidden in both cases. Couldn't move it and could not operate those controls.

Clicking the mouse in the center of the windscreen brought up a white box but nothing else happened.

The only thing that seemed to work was that I could listen to tower chatter.
I wouldn't say that X-Plane is the easiest software to learn.
I think your main problem is your keys are conflicting with other applications.
I do not understand why "b" wouldn't work. You could try "v" as that will apply and release the brakes also.
I know this is obvious but make sure you don't have your caps or numbers locked on the keyboard.
Go to Settings>>Joystick & Equipment>>Keys. You can change your keys there.

With a little practice the mouse should work okay for you.
I like using my Wacom tablet and pen.
__________________
ASUS Z87-Pro, Core i7-4770k, 16GB DDR 1866, EVGA Nvidia GTX Titan 6GB, HP LP3065
Topper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2010, 11:22 AM   #37
saxon48
macrumors 6502a
 
saxon48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Barad-dr
xplane. without a doubt
__________________
15" MacBook Pro (Mid-2009) 2.53 GHz
iPhone 5S 32 GB

http://www.last.fm/user/saxon48
saxon48 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2010, 10:22 AM   #38
maccompaq
macrumors 65816
 
maccompaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
I also agree with X-Plane except that it has no damage modeling. If you want to dogfight other people, I'd recommend Warbirds although my disclaimer is it's been a decade since I've played it and I believe it requires a subscription.
X-Plane 9 is a very good simulator for flying and keeping flight skills current. It was not designed to be a "shoot m up" game.
maccompaq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2010, 11:16 AM   #39
dimme
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SF, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topper View Post
I like using my Wacom tablet and pen.
Do you really fly with a wacom tablet. One of the reasons I like MSFSX over X-plane is the controls feel better in MSFSX that in X-plane. I X-plane things are always jumping around.
__________________
dimme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 12:04 AM   #40
MindBrain
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimme View Post
Do you really fly with a wacom tablet. One of the reasons I like MSFSX over X-plane is the controls feel better in MSFSX that in X-plane. I X-plane things are always jumping around.
You might want to try turning down all of the wind speeds in the weather panel. I've heard they are greatly exaggerated.
MindBrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 05:30 AM   #41
Topper
macrumors 65816
 
Topper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimme View Post
Do you really fly with a wacom tablet. One of the reasons I like MSFSX over X-plane is the controls feel better in MSFSX that in X-plane. I X-plane things are always jumping around.
Yeah, I do. I've been doing it for a long time so it feels good to me.
I've got a Saitek Pro Flight Yoke with a quadrant throttle. I suppose I should set that up one of these days.

I've got MSFS also. The main reason I prefer X-Plane is I am used to it.
I've got some nice planes and plug-ins for it.

Right now I am using Reality XP's GNS 530 WAAS. Very, very nice.
It's got all the bells and whistles of the real GNS 530.
I program it with my flight plan, throw it up into the top right hand corner.
All my keys are programed.
I turn off the cockpit view and nagivate strictly by the GNS 530 and keyboard.
Great fun!
__________________
ASUS Z87-Pro, Core i7-4770k, 16GB DDR 1866, EVGA Nvidia GTX Titan 6GB, HP LP3065
Topper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 08:58 AM   #42
maccompaq
macrumors 65816
 
maccompaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topper View Post
I've got a Saitek Pro Flight Yoke with a quadrant throttle. I suppose I should set that up one of these days.

I've got MSFS also. The main reason I prefer X-Plane is I am used to it.
I've got some nice planes and plug-ins for it.
Your Saitek Pro Flight Yoke works great with X-Plane.

But I cannot get it to accept programming with FSX so I have to use the default settings.
maccompaq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 10:54 AM   #43
dmr727
macrumors G3
 
dmr727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topper View Post
I turn off the cockpit view and nagivate strictly by the GNS 530 and keyboard.
Great fun!
Sadly, too many pilots do the same thing in a real airplane these days.
dmr727 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 03:03 PM   #44
ducatidog996
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
hey guys, i know i am a bit of a "noob" here and all but can you run a flight simulator on a macbook, not a desktop? and still use a joy stick with it?

once again sorry i know i am a noob i just need answers please!
ducatidog996 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 03:47 PM   #45
NewGenAdam
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducatidog996 View Post
hey guys, i know i am a bit of a "noob" here and all but can you run a flight simulator on a macbook, not a desktop? and still use a joy stick with it?

once again sorry i know i am a noob i just need answers please!
Let's see... In principle the only difference whatsoever between a laptop (MacBook) and a desktop is the form factor. Pretty much everything else is common between them. The main differences will be processing capability; but you get this between desktops and between laptops too. A MacBook should be fine from this stand-point.

I can think of no reason why a joystick wouldn't work!

We're normally quite kind to 'noobs' here; there aren't many flamethrowers either!

/geek's way of saying 'no'
NewGenAdam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 04:14 PM   #46
Topper
macrumors 65816
 
Topper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducatidog996 View Post
hey guys, i know i am a bit of a "noob" here and all but can you run a flight simulator on a macbook, not a desktop? and still use a joy stick with it?

once again sorry i know i am a noob i just need answers please!
There are many people running X-Plane on MacBook Pros and MacBooks and using a joystick.
You can find most of them at forums.x-plane.org
__________________
ASUS Z87-Pro, Core i7-4770k, 16GB DDR 1866, EVGA Nvidia GTX Titan 6GB, HP LP3065
Topper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 04:33 PM   #47
ducatidog996
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
haha ok thank you guys...i am going to download the demo, see how she is
ducatidog996 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 11:39 PM   #48
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by maccompaq View Post
X-Plane 9 is a very good simulator for flying and keeping flight skills current. It was not designed to be a "shoot m up" game.
X-Plane is a very good flight sim, but damage modeling is essential for bragging rights.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 08:07 AM   #49
maccompaq
macrumors 65816
 
maccompaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducatidog996 View Post
hey guys, i know i am a bit of a "noob" here and all but can you run a flight simulator on a macbook, not a desktop? and still use a joy stick with it?
A Macbook has integrated graphics, so I do not know how well it will run X-Plane. One thing I know for sure, from the X-Plane web site, that the program will not run on Intel integrated graphics.
Anyone have comments?
maccompaq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 10:04 AM   #50
Topper
macrumors 65816
 
Topper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by maccompaq View Post
A Macbook has integrated graphics, so I do not know how well it will run X-Plane. One thing I know for sure, from the X-Plane web site, that the program will not run on Intel integrated graphics.
Anyone have comments?
This is my understanding...the newest MacBook and MacBook Pros have both an NVIDIA video card and integrated Intel HD Graphics.
They will actually swtich from one to another seamlessly depending upon the workload.
For gaming, the NVIDIA video card will kick-in.
Apple calls it automatic graphics switching.
Apple also claims that the MacBook and MacBook Pro give up to 1.8 times better gaming performance than previous generations.

__________________
ASUS Z87-Pro, Core i7-4770k, 16GB DDR 1866, EVGA Nvidia GTX Titan 6GB, HP LP3065
Topper is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flight Simulator on iMac tommy0614 iMac 6 Feb 4, 2013 07:54 PM
Windows: Flight simulator x videos abyfredde79 Mac and PC Games 1 Nov 7, 2012 12:52 PM
Specs for MS flight simulator? Jord5i Mac and PC Games 2 Sep 25, 2012 09:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC