Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 16, 2008, 01:07 PM   #1
froggytreafrogg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisiana
Speed Control: Overclock the PowerMac

Hello, I recently finished building my B&W PowerMac G3. I looked across the motherboard but took a closer look at the "warrantee void if seal is broken" sticker. I looked near the white bar that the sticker was covering and saw printed on the motherboard that it is like a speed control: called "speed/clt." I was wondering what this is and if it can overclock the speed of my processor to make it faster.
__________________
Q: Why were Microsoft computers created? A: So computer repairmen can have a job...
froggytreafrogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2008, 01:24 PM   #2
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Thats exactly what it is. You pull of the jumper block and can up the processor speed by changing where jumpers are placed. On a B&W I've never gotten any more than 50MHz out of an overclock, and on a Beige not more than 350MHz out of a 333MHz to run stable. Give it a shot.

http://drivejumper.com/ClockupG3/b%26wclockup.html
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2008, 06:28 PM   #3
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
After the warranty ran out, I managed to get my rev 2/350mhz B&W up to 500mhz.......but it is best if you try it in 50mhz steps, and check it for stability after each step. I remember being so thrilled at getting the extra speed for FREE

Just as a precaution, I added a small fan on top of of the heatsink, just to be sure it didn't fry itself. I ran it that way for 2 years nottaneveraproblemo.
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 08:45 AM   #4
froggytreafrogg
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmurfBoxMasta View Post
After the warranty ran out, I managed to get my rev 2/350mhz B&W up to 500mhz.......but it is best if you try it in 50mhz steps, and check it for stability after each step. I remember being so thrilled at getting the extra speed for FREE

Just as a precaution, I added a small fan on top of of the heatsink, just to be sure it didn't fry itself. I ran it that way for 2 years nottaneveraproblemo.
how important is it to have the fan. the heat sink doesn't have a fan: is it important to put one if i optomize the processor? Thanks
PS: nice signature
__________________
Q: Why were Microsoft computers created? A: So computer repairmen can have a job...
froggytreafrogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 11:16 AM   #5
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by froggytreafrogg View Post
how important is it to have the fan. the heat sink doesn't have a fan: is it important to put one if i optomize the processor? Thanks
PS: nice signature
The PSU fan blows air over the CPU heatsink in the B&W G3 models, you don't need an extra fan, though I suppose it couldn't hurt. Not sure where you'd put one, though.
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 07:39 PM   #6
froggytreafrogg
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly2002 View Post
The PSU fan blows air over the CPU heatsink in the B&W G3 models, you don't need an extra fan, though I suppose it couldn't hurt. Not sure where you'd put one, though.
yeah, i see what you mean. i clocked it up to 450 (from 400) im scared to push it any harder.
__________________
Q: Why were Microsoft computers created? A: So computer repairmen can have a job...
froggytreafrogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 07:47 PM   #7
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by froggytreafrogg View Post
yeah, i see what you mean. i clocked it up to 450 (from 400) im scared to push it any harder.
Don't worry, go for 500. You can't hurt the processor... it'll either fail to boot (no boot chime), freeze after a while or during startup, or run fine.

You can't damage a CPU unless you overvolt it, which isn't possible on a B&W G3 without a soldering iron (you have to desolder a few resistors).
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G5 top exhaust fan now full speed...help! tom vilsack PowerPC Macs 6 Apr 11, 2014 09:59 AM
Doon Snake - a fascinating game about speed and control Doonsoft Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 21, 2014 03:17 AM
Digital Audio G4 - overclock the bus speed? macuser453787 PowerPC Macs 11 Feb 28, 2013 08:17 PM
Mission Control/Desktop Animation Speed rheb1026 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Aug 9, 2012 06:01 PM
Speed up a 800Mhz G4 PowerMac..? drjarv05 PowerPC Macs 10 Jun 10, 2012 05:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC