Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 16, 2008, 01:07 PM   #1
froggytreafrogg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisiana
Speed Control: Overclock the PowerMac

Hello, I recently finished building my B&W PowerMac G3. I looked across the motherboard but took a closer look at the "warrantee void if seal is broken" sticker. I looked near the white bar that the sticker was covering and saw printed on the motherboard that it is like a speed control: called "speed/clt." I was wondering what this is and if it can overclock the speed of my processor to make it faster.
__________________
Q: Why were Microsoft computers created? A: So computer repairmen can have a job...
froggytreafrogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2008, 01:24 PM   #2
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Thats exactly what it is. You pull of the jumper block and can up the processor speed by changing where jumpers are placed. On a B&W I've never gotten any more than 50MHz out of an overclock, and on a Beige not more than 350MHz out of a 333MHz to run stable. Give it a shot.

http://drivejumper.com/ClockupG3/b%26wclockup.html
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.16, Dual 2.0 G5, Dual 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2008, 06:28 PM   #3
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
see vendor information in user profile
After the warranty ran out, I managed to get my rev 2/350mhz B&W up to 500mhz.......but it is best if you try it in 50mhz steps, and check it for stability after each step. I remember being so thrilled at getting the extra speed for FREE

Just as a precaution, I added a small fan on top of of the heatsink, just to be sure it didn't fry itself. I ran it that way for 2 years nottaneveraproblemo.
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 08:45 AM   #4
froggytreafrogg
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmurfBoxMasta View Post
After the warranty ran out, I managed to get my rev 2/350mhz B&W up to 500mhz.......but it is best if you try it in 50mhz steps, and check it for stability after each step. I remember being so thrilled at getting the extra speed for FREE

Just as a precaution, I added a small fan on top of of the heatsink, just to be sure it didn't fry itself. I ran it that way for 2 years nottaneveraproblemo.
how important is it to have the fan. the heat sink doesn't have a fan: is it important to put one if i optomize the processor? Thanks
PS: nice signature
__________________
Q: Why were Microsoft computers created? A: So computer repairmen can have a job...
froggytreafrogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 11:16 AM   #5
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by froggytreafrogg View Post
how important is it to have the fan. the heat sink doesn't have a fan: is it important to put one if i optomize the processor? Thanks
PS: nice signature
The PSU fan blows air over the CPU heatsink in the B&W G3 models, you don't need an extra fan, though I suppose it couldn't hurt. Not sure where you'd put one, though.
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 07:39 PM   #6
froggytreafrogg
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly2002 View Post
The PSU fan blows air over the CPU heatsink in the B&W G3 models, you don't need an extra fan, though I suppose it couldn't hurt. Not sure where you'd put one, though.
yeah, i see what you mean. i clocked it up to 450 (from 400) im scared to push it any harder.
__________________
Q: Why were Microsoft computers created? A: So computer repairmen can have a job...
froggytreafrogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 07:47 PM   #7
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by froggytreafrogg View Post
yeah, i see what you mean. i clocked it up to 450 (from 400) im scared to push it any harder.
Don't worry, go for 500. You can't hurt the processor... it'll either fail to boot (no boot chime), freeze after a while or during startup, or run fine.

You can't damage a CPU unless you overvolt it, which isn't possible on a B&W G3 without a soldering iron (you have to desolder a few resistors).
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro Overclocking -BigMac- Mac Pro 2 May 10, 2011 06:58 AM
Tweaking the voltage to overclock from windows 7 alejandroc19 iMac 3 Apr 4, 2011 09:25 AM
Overclocking G3 Powermac supermario19 PowerPC Macs 7 Mar 9, 2007 03:36 AM
What is the safest speeds to overclock an iMac's 9600? Fredstar Macintosh Computers 7 Jul 21, 2005 06:16 AM
Overclock the 133 MHz bus on the Dual 867? onemoof Mac Help/Tips 21 Aug 20, 2002 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC