Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 17, 2008, 03:03 AM   #1
philgilder
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
safari java not working

Hi, java isn't working on any site on safari, yet works fine on firefox

java is enabled in safari preferences, i also tried uninstalling java and running software update, but it didnt offer to download java, so i downloaded "Java for Mac OS X" from developer.apple.com

still, it doesn't work and i get the 'Java is unavailable or not installed' error. Does anyone have any ideas as to how I could fix this?
Thanks
__________________
SJ Our belief was that if we kept putting great products in front of customers, they would continue to open their wallets So THATS why I have no money
philgilder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 04:28 AM   #2
İhris
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Phil, I also had this problem and no matter what I did, Java won't work on safari.

I suggest just using firefox. Annoying i know, but firefox is probably better anyway

Good luck
İhris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 04:50 AM   #3
philgilder
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
i tried to switch to firefox, but i have loads of passwords saved in my keychain which firefox can't access
and since every password is 100% unique, and its a random mix of punctuation, numbers and letters, theres no way i can manually re-enter them into firefox!

thanks for the suggestion though
__________________
SJ Our belief was that if we kept putting great products in front of customers, they would continue to open their wallets So THATS why I have no money
philgilder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 01:22 PM   #4
philgilder
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
anyone else have any other ideas?
__________________
SJ Our belief was that if we kept putting great products in front of customers, they would continue to open their wallets So THATS why I have no money
philgilder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2008, 11:13 AM   #5
autometer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I have the same problem. Our guy that is the contact for our website needs to log in on occasion & do maintenance on the site. Problem is, the menus are Java & he can not see them. I can not get it to work on my Mac either.

Tim
autometer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2008, 11:28 AM   #6
portent
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Define "doesn't work."

What do you see when you go to
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/testvm.xml

What do you seen when you open /Applications/Utilitites/Java/J2SE 5.0/Java Preferences ?
__________________
"And then I got fired. How can you get fired from a company you started?"
portent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2008, 09:36 PM   #7
İhris
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
I'm sure you can transfer your keychain to firefox through the firefox preferences, Phil.

I think there just may be a problem with Safari which won't let java work with it, no matter what you do.

Just go for firefox (Unless you can find a solution, of course!)
İhris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2008, 09:25 AM   #8
autometer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I tried your link, and it worked. That is what is confusing to us, we can see everything except the one page that we need to see (our webhost). We can view their page on PC's, but not on the Mac's that we need to see it on. We keep coming to the conclusion that we are ok, and they are the problem but we don't know why. But then we think we can see it on the PC's, so it must the be Mac's that are the problem So we check everything and it seems to work...except the one page we need. But it can't be us as everything else works

We think it may be a permission problem on their end in that it is not letting us in. But really don't have a clue. It could be on our end...it could be on their end So we keep looking and try to find people that say we are ok so we can pass that on to them in an attempt to get them to do more than just say it is your problem and not even look in to it

So...now to the part that relates to this thread. With what I rambled about above, do you think I have a problem with my java
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenCapture.jpg
Views:	256
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	130759  
autometer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2008, 10:27 AM   #9
philgilder
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
for some reason, java now appears to be working
no idea how or why, as it wasn't disabled or anything...
but oh well, all seems ok now, so thanks!
__________________
SJ Our belief was that if we kept putting great products in front of customers, they would continue to open their wallets So THATS why I have no money
philgilder is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java Not working 10.8.3 hcri50 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Mar 21, 2013 11:55 PM
Why is Java not working? Nermal OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 7 Feb 2, 2013 03:29 AM
Java not working kittycatrock Mac Basics and Help 4 Feb 1, 2013 10:08 AM
Java not working/How do I use DirSyncPro? Malumen Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Sep 21, 2012 06:42 PM
Java 1.5 not working in OS X 10.8 xedod OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Aug 8, 2012 01:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC