Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 17, 2008, 10:17 AM   #1
kenny1811
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
How to download bootcamp?

What do i need to download bootcamp? Does it cost money?
kenny1811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 10:29 AM   #2
Winter Charm
macrumors 6502a
 
Winter Charm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
bootcamp is free - ill give you the link enhoy Both OS's ok??

heres the link: http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/bootcamp.html

and if you are already running leopard - ALL you need to do is insert the leopard disk and everything you need is on there!!!!
Winter Charm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 10:29 AM   #3
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
You cannot download Bootcamp. It is built into Leopard. The beta version for Tiger has expired and is no longer available.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 11:10 AM   #4
kenny1811
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Leopard discs

What leopard disc? It came with 2 discs ( installation 1 &2) Which one do i insert?
kenny1811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 11:11 AM   #5
Mindflux
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Austin
Neither. Run the boot camp assistant in your utilities folder.
Mindflux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 11:18 AM   #6
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenny1811 View Post
What leopard disc? It came with 2 discs ( installation 1 &2) Which one do i insert?
Like ^^^ said, neither. Run the utility and be sure to print the instructions. After you install windows, you'll insert Disc 1 to install the drivers.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 11:26 AM   #7
Psyy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
So you'll have to burn a CD with the drivers for Windows? How am I suppose to do that with an Air?
Psyy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 11:27 AM   #8
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyy View Post
So you'll have to burn a CD with the drivers for Windows? How am I suppose to do that with an Air?
No. The drivers are on the Leopard DVD. How are you going to install Windows on an Air?
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 11:33 AM   #9
Psyy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I guess remote disc won't work? I guess I'll borrow my friends superdrive..
Psyy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 11:35 AM   #10
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyy View Post
I guess remote disc won't work? I guess I'll borrow my friends superdrive..
Yeah, I don't know for sure, but since it installs windows like it's a normal PC, I'm guessing that Remote Disc will not work.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 09:57 PM   #11
rip.syd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
well i got as far as "start windows installation"

its telling me: You'll need an authentic 32-bit Microsoft Windows XP home edition or professional with service pack 2 or later, OR windows Vista Home Basic, Home Premium, Business or Ultimate disc."

than after ive put that disk in, i can insert my Mac OS X Leopard disk to install additional drivers and other software

so i did like it says above and just inserted my leopard disk 1, says that "the installer disk could not be found. insert your Windows installer disc and wait a few seconds for the disc to be recognized"



any solutions?
or am i just missing something?
rip.syd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 10:02 PM   #12
Knolly
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
You're missing something.

What boot camp does is install Windows alongside OSX. Meaning that you need a copy of Windows to install. The installer disc its asking for is a Windows disc. Once Windows is installed, and you're booted into Windows, then you put in the Leopard disc.
Knolly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2008, 10:37 AM   #13
rip.syd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
hey, thanks for the quick response Knolly

one final question, i managed to get my hands on a burnt version of Windows xp service pack 2, i installed it and everything was going well until i tried to get into the Windows partition,

some sort of read disk error or something, followed by the big black screen with the "Press any key to restart" - ( and no keys will restart it )

the disk installed fine
and everything was going well, but i just cant get into that partition
rip.syd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2008, 11:05 AM   #14
Victor Star
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
When Windows was installing did you have it reformat the partition or did you leave the partition alone?
Victor Star is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2008, 11:09 AM   #15
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
reboot while holding down the option key. Two hard drives should show up.

On the left it will say Macintosh HD and on the right it should say Windows.

Click on the one that says windows and there ya go.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2009, 10:26 AM   #16
cazaknighty
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
My boot camp assistant does not work when i choose how much windows space I need then it says:
Verification Failed. This disk could not be partitioned

HELP! PLEASE!!!!!

This is so frustrating
cazaknighty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2009, 04:47 PM   #17
matthewscott661
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by cazaknighty View Post
My boot camp assistant does not work when i choose how much windows space I need then it says:
Verification Failed. This disk could not be partitioned

HELP! PLEASE!!!!!

This is so frustrating
You may not have enough continuous space on your HD to create a new partition. Move some big files off your HD and try again.
matthewscott661 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2009, 11:35 PM   #18
cazaknighty
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewscott661 View Post
You may not have enough continuous space on your HD to create a new partition. Move some big files off your HD and try again.
Tried that but thanks, I have 80G available, I says to try and repair it in Disk Utility but it is not read as a disk and I can not repair it.

Can some please some how send it to me or give me a link to download it because my Boot Camp Assistant no longer works.
cazaknighty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2009, 11:53 PM   #19
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
It sounds like your problem is the hard drive, not BCA.

Backup your drive through Time Machine or cloning, then reformat, and restore. If the restore fails, or BCA still doesn't work, then there is something wrong with the drive.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2010, 09:43 PM   #20
Uyllstide
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
What???

I tried installing Boot Camp not too long ago and it didn't partition right. I've been trying to delete the Boot Camp drive that is taking up 50GB of space. Someone suggested going into the Boot Camp Assistant, but when I try to open it, it tells me "Beta has expired". How do I fix this?
Uyllstide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2010, 10:04 PM   #21
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uyllstide View Post
I tried installing Boot Camp not too long ago and it didn't partition right. I've been trying to delete the Boot Camp drive that is taking up 50GB of space. Someone suggested going into the Boot Camp Assistant, but when I try to open it, it tells me "Beta has expired". How do I fix this?
Are you running 10.4?

You can erase the partition using Disk Utility, then resize the HFS partition to take up the entire drive.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 03:57 AM   #22
Saberlost
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
So, if I have installed windows 7 and want sound but have no snowlepord cd becouse I never take the any CD with me since I got the internet. I'm screwed? Why in this day and age do I need a CD to install anythingh? This is just BS.
Saberlost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2010, 07:06 PM   #23
UPAKO.016
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Smile Ahoooy!

I have a question SIR!

So I've read some of the discussions above and it seems that I'm having a similar problem. But I just want to clarify something...

I downloaded the trial version of PARALLEL and it was asking about the disk (windows?)

does this mean that I have to buy the Windows 7 disk to get it working in parallel with my Mac?

and Do I also need my Mac installation disk in this process? (BEcause I can't seem to find it...) lawl...

I hope I make sense... lol first post on this forums thingy...

but that is all... :O
UPAKO.016 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2010, 12:37 AM   #24
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Yes, you need to buy Windows in order for it to work with Parallels, but you don't need the OS X disc.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2010, 01:50 AM   #25
iDeving
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Download Bootcamp 3.1 link

Newest version of Bootcamps can be found here, just in case you dont have a Hard Copy of Leopard on disk...

http://www.apple.com/support/bootcamp/

run it after windows has installed, i recommend running Windows Update after bootcamp / apple updates are complete.
iDeving is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac download speeds much faster than bootcamp Ambergris Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 13 Jan 23, 2014 03:47 PM
Bootcamp never showed option to download drivers PhillipT Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Jul 14, 2013 01:48 PM
Bootcamp support software download hawk1410 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jan 3, 2013 06:46 AM
Retina macbook bootcamp download issues keerf MacBook Pro 1 Oct 21, 2012 06:25 PM
is there ANY WAY to directly download the W7 bootcamp drivers? emericana Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Jul 8, 2012 09:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC