Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 23, 2002, 07:06 PM   #1
mr.w
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to mr.w
Does anyone know about FireWire networking

Could anyone explain to me how you would go about setting up a firewire network??? I would like to share files from computer to computer somewhat easily. I know i could just use a cable, a hub, and convert my computer into a server, but i don't really want to do all of that. I live in a dorm, and about 6 of my friends have apple computers and we want to connect them to eachother with a somewhat fast connection (file sharing system). We could use an AirPort station, but at best we could get 11mbs. I know that computers can be connected via firewire, but I'm not really sure how to go about it. I'm under the impression that FireWire connect only works when you hold down some key (I forgot which one) during start-up... is this true?


Any thoughts
mr.w is offline   0
Old May 23, 2002, 07:16 PM   #2
mac15
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney
you can connect 2 computers over firewire and thats it
you connect the 2 together with your firewire cable and then you hold down the T key at startup....depending on which one you want to startup from.....but you can network anything over firewire
mac15 is offline   0
Old May 23, 2002, 08:01 PM   #3
mymemory
Banned
 
mymemory's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Miami
When you use the firewire connection like that (from one computer to other), the "slave" computer (the one with the "T" at the start up), would work as a external hard drive only, you can not work with it. The only really cool feature is that you can open the software in that computer and use the ram located in that computer. I mean.

If you use After Effect in the main computer and you need to open Photoshop but you do not have enough ram, you can connect a secund computer via firewire, start it up with the T key pressed and then you can opend the soft and run it. It is a bit slow for the system but it works.

To unmount the slave computer just drop the HD icons to the trash.

Sometimes I have problems with the firewire connection because my Pismo doesn't show up in my main computer. In that case I start up the slave computer first and then I connect the cable.
mymemory is offline   0
Old May 23, 2002, 09:20 PM   #4
mr.w
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to mr.w
okay. ohwell, i guess i'll just spend the time to do the job correctly and set up a server. that's ok, it'll give me a reason to beg my parents for an xserve. (i can only dream)
mr.w is offline   0
Old May 24, 2002, 02:37 PM   #5
mr.w
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to mr.w
"Check out a program called FireNet, it allows you to do Firewire networking, I am just looking at it, it is slower that 1000bs-t Ethernet network.

Ensign"

So i guess there is a way to connect more then 2 computers via firewire... just thought i'd let you all know
mr.w is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Networking help ! jdaniel Mac Peripherals 3 Nov 4, 2013 10:53 AM
Networking Issues willie45 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 11 May 2, 2013 11:21 AM
Networking Peripherals Z17 Mac Peripherals 1 Sep 25, 2012 07:34 AM
Networking Paul4444 Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 18, 2012 12:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC