Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 18, 2008, 04:39 PM   #1
seattle67fstbck
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
PM G5 Dual 1.8 4GB RAM - How useful??

Having been going back and forth between a dual g5 1.8 w/ 4gb ram and a 2.0 C2D mini- Ended up getting a way better deal on the G5 and now am wondering to what extent is this machine going to be useful? Originally I envisioned using it strickly as a server, but it seems like it should be capable of so much more-
Anybody have any recommendations (I already have a MBP to use as my primary machine) ??
seattle67fstbck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2008, 09:39 PM   #2
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
That's a plenty capable machine, and very expandable... you should be able to plunk down 16 GB RAM.

It'll be good for photoshopping, Aperture/Lightroom, should be fine for video editing too (FCS etc).

It's not as fast as your MBP, but you can have a hell of a lot more storage (and RAM) in it.
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 12:02 AM   #3
iGrant
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Abingdon
Send a message via AIM to iGrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly2002 View Post
That's a plenty capable machine, and very expandable... you should be able to plunk down 16 GB RAM.

It'll be good for photoshopping, Aperture/Lightroom, should be fine for video editing too (FCS etc).

It's not as fast as your MBP, but you can have a hell of a lot more storage (and RAM) in it.
That is all true except for the ram. There were two models of the Dual 1.8Ghz G5s, one with 4 slots for memory and one with 8 slots for memory. Each slot can hold a maximum of 1gig.

I have the 8 gig model and I love my G5, its my Tivo unit and it works like a champ. I am so glad I got it instead of a Mini!!!!

-iGrant
__________________
Once you use a Mac, you never going back!
Macbook Air C2D 1.6, Mac Mini CD 1.6Ghz; iPod Touch 32gb
iGrant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 10:47 AM   #4
zmttoxics
macrumors 65816
 
zmttoxics's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
I got the dual 2.0 late 2005 model (supports 16 gigs of ram, 4 pci-e slots) instead of a new mini. I love it. Aside from being a G5 and soon to be unsupported its amazing. It benchmarks the same as my macbook which is saying something considering the age difference.

4 gigs of ram is more then enough for anything too. That machine should scream with leopard on it!
__________________
iMac 20" 2.66 C2D|9400M|4GB RAM|320GB HD ;; MacBook Pro 15" 2.4 Ci5|GT330M|4GB RAM|320GB HD
HP w2558hc 25.5" - not quite an ACD, but damn awesome.
zmttoxics is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 10:47 AM   #5
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGrant View Post
That is all true except for the ram. There were two models of the Dual 1.8Ghz G5s, one with 4 slots for memory and one with 8 slots for memory. Each slot can hold a maximum of 1gig.

I have the 8 gig model and I love my G5, its my Tivo unit and it works like a champ. I am so glad I got it instead of a Mini!!!!

-iGrant
Oh hm. I'd thought that it was only the 1.6 that was crippled like that. I also thought that Barefeats had shown you could actually use 2 GB DIMMs..... was that on a different model, then?
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 10:54 AM   #6
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly2002 View Post
Oh hm. I'd thought that it was only the 1.6 that was crippled like that. I also thought that Barefeats had shown you could actually use 2 GB DIMMs..... was that on a different model, then?
The Dual-Processor G5s (that is, all models up to 2 GHz which were produced before October 2005) use PC3200 DDR memory, the maximum RAM module is 1 GB

The Dual-core G5s (2 GHz and up) introduced Oct 2005 use DDR2-533 memory and can take 2 GB modules.

Note that there is an overlap in speed at the 2 GHz mark, so you have to be careful in specifying which machine you have.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 11:03 AM   #7
Toronto Mike
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
I recently bought a used dual 2.0 G5 with 5 gigs of Ram (close to what you have) and I was impressed with it's speed using Photoshop CS2. I'm not an experienced computer user, but I was doing 300mg files with reasonable speed. With the expansion options, expecially the graphic cards, a second HD for a scratch disk, I think the dual 1.8 G5 is a great option. Right now they sell for decent prices on Craig's list. If you are patient like I was, a very good deal will swing your way with all the features you want.

I am going to stick with CS2 and Tiger so that I can squeeze out the performance of what the G5 was designed for. Hopefully getting the previous generation of software is an option for you.

Mike
Toronto Mike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 11:52 AM   #8
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Leopard

A good dual G5 will rock with Leopard as Leopard is designed to take more advantage of multiple processors than Tiger ever did.
Earl Urly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 10:15 PM   #9
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
I've heard conflicting reports on that, and would love to hear from some designers on it, in practical terms (i.e., noticeable performance). I had heard that Leopard actually runs slower on G5s, and then others say it runs faster. So far I've stuck with Tiger...
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rMBP 13" (late 2013) 4GB RAM vs 8GB RAM Thomasasz MacBook Pro 9 Nov 10, 2013 05:38 PM
Resolved: Does macbook (late 2007) support a maximum of 4gb RAM or 6gb RAM? ItsDaKronic MacBook 2 Sep 18, 2013 07:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC