Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 20, 2008, 09:00 AM   #1
jhawk2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
iBook G3 $75

Hey Guys!
I just got an ibook G3 500mhz 128ram for $75 on craigslist. My first mac! It has OS 9.
Tell me what you think. Also where can I get really cheap OS X cd? I dont really care what version.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Good mac pic.JPG
Views:	28
Size:	803.1 KB
ID:	130916   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mac with small light.JPG
Views:	21
Size:	653.0 KB
ID:	130917   Click image for larger version

Name:	sideangle.JPG
Views:	35
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	130918  

jhawk2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 09:06 AM   #2
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Congrats. I bought my very first iBook on here in January for about $180 but it came with a charger/battery/airport card and all the original software. You can find Jaguar or Panther on ebay or in the marketplace(if you can access it) for under $20. Drop a larger HDD, upgrade to 640mb ram and maybe a DVD drive in there and that will run Tiger like a champ.


Just watch out for the dreaded "video card" failure that's plagued about 75% of all ibooks.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 09:08 AM   #3
jhawk2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nice!
It came with everything except the airport card.
jhawk2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 09:15 AM   #4
*Sandy*
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Always in a path of a Hurricane!
Very Nice find!
*Sandy* is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 02:21 PM   #5
bpl323
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Cool pickup.
bpl323 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 05:09 PM   #6
joshuaaaron
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Send a message via AIM to joshuaaaron
haha omg i want one!
joshuaaaron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 08:32 PM   #7
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
U FINALLY GOT IT!!! GOOD job what os does it have on it? look what i did to my macbook link in sig. nvm it says os 9 but i got a place where u can get jag

If cassie still has it she can tell u


COugh i hope u still have it somewhere
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7

Last edited by MacHappytjg; Aug 21, 2008 at 01:44 AM.
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:44 AM   #8
SkyBell
macrumors 603
 
SkyBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texas, unfortunately.
Awesome. Enjoy!
__________________
MR's PowerPC Fangirl
eMac 1.42 GHz G4 - 10.5.8
12" PowerBook G4 1.5 GHz - 10.4.11
Blueberry iBook G3, Apple IIc
SkyBell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:48 AM   #9
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassie View Post
Awesome. Enjoy!
uhm it looks grey to me
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7

Last edited by MacHappytjg; Aug 21, 2008 at 09:50 AM.
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:57 AM   #10
revenuee
macrumors 68020
 
revenuee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A place where i am supreme emporer
Now you just need Jaguar ... like somone suggested.

There is a a piece of software call xdefacto or something like that. It will allow you to by pass the hardware check.

I have Tiger running on a G3 Powerbook --- But I took out the hard drive, threw it into a firewire enclosure, installed it on a different PPC machine, and then threw the harddrive back in.

ORRRRR --- get yourself a copy of xubuntu --- i tried ... but my cd rom is fried and after a week of playing around with netboot and HD, ISO partitions, i went the other other root ... but ya ... xubuntu ... I have it running on another machine ...AWESOME... just a thought
__________________
"I trust blindly, but the hell I will unleash when i get crossed is like nothing you have ever seen" - ME
"Girls Girls Girls" - Motley Crue
revenuee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 09:49 AM   #11
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
i have tiger with the 4 cd version but it runs slow with 128 mb of ram i tried with my imac without firewire , but yea jag or panther should be fine until he gets some more ram, assuming it would be easy since he has the 128 built in and an open slot for 512, but yea hes new to macs and wants to use osx as he explained in a different forum which is in his or cassies link cough cough
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 10:31 AM   #12
revenuee
macrumors 68020
 
revenuee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A place where i am supreme emporer
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHappytjg View Post
i have tiger with the 4 cd version but it runs slow with 128 mb of ram i tried with my imac without firewire , but yea jag or panther should be fine until he gets some more ram, assuming it would be easy since he has the 128 built in and an open slot for 512, but yea hes new to macs and wants to use osx as he explained in a different forum which is in his or cassies link cough cough
oh it's painfull to run anything my g3 is 333 mhz with 128 running tiger... I just run text edit and a few services, afp, ftp, http, and vine server
__________________
"I trust blindly, but the hell I will unleash when i get crossed is like nothing you have ever seen" - ME
"Girls Girls Girls" - Motley Crue
revenuee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 10:48 AM   #13
isauce
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Nice, that is a pretty good fine. Now see if you have install Leopard.
__________________
CE Unibody Macbook
2G 8GB iPhone
isauce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 10:56 AM   #14
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by isauce View Post
Nice, that is a pretty good fine. Now see if you have install Leopard.
i could do it easilly but he needs mostlikly more than a 10gb hd and 128mb of ram, when he was saying in this OTHER FORUM, sounded as he wanted osx but didnt care what kind, im thinkin he just wants to get away from windows????
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 11:06 AM   #15
revenuee
macrumors 68020
 
revenuee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A place where i am supreme emporer
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHappytjg View Post
i could do it easilly but he needs mostlikly more than a 10gb hd and 128mb of ram, when he was saying in this OTHER FORUM, sounded as he wanted osx but didnt care what kind, im thinkin he just wants to get away from windows????
What is the Leopord install size?

Tiger is 2.2 -- IF you don't install printer drivers or languages --- also this does not include iLife
__________________
"I trust blindly, but the hell I will unleash when i get crossed is like nothing you have ever seen" - ME
"Girls Girls Girls" - Motley Crue
revenuee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 11:07 AM   #16
jhawk2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I want OS X becuase I think it could do more than OS 9.
And yes I am finally away from windows!
jhawk2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:01 PM   #17
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhawk2 View Post
I want OS X becuase I think it could do more than OS 9.
And yes I am finally away from windows!
theres the ansswer, do u have aim or msn?
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:03 PM   #18
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by revenuee View Post
What is the Leopord install size?

Tiger is 2.2 -- IF you don't install printer drivers or languages --- also this does not include iLife
But u dont understand, 128mb of ram leopard needs 512 and still runs sluggish tiger needs 256, he mostlikly doesnt want to spend alot of money. and u can get leopard the loweest i think 5.9gb with out anything like no languages x11 or printer drivers
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:57 PM   #19
jhawk2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHappytjg View Post
theres the ansswer, do u have aim or msn?
I have both.
jhawk2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 04:24 PM   #20
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhawk2 View Post
I have both.
omg.... give me one of them which ever u go on most., and u dont need xdefacto because u have the right hardware for jag
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7

Last edited by MacHappytjg; Aug 22, 2008 at 03:00 PM.
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iBook dvoros Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jan 15, 2014 10:21 AM
Help please with 2 ibook G4 Djhandy PowerPC Macs 4 Jul 8, 2013 01:39 PM
iBook G3 clamshell, iBook G4 or PowerBook G4? garirry PowerPC Macs 32 May 26, 2013 01:11 PM
iBook G4 to TV? davewill2010 PowerPC Macs 3 Feb 15, 2013 05:01 AM
iBook G4 help raudi01 PowerPC Macs 42 Nov 20, 2012 12:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps