Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 20, 2008, 07:45 PM   #1
macbooker15
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hello! I'm over here!
Running program as root?

Im trying to run a program in Leopard and when i try to enable certain features, im told i need admin or root access, how do i enable access just for this program?
__________________
Rooted HTC Evo Shift 4g; NEW 13" Macbook Pro 2.53 Ghz 4gb RAM 500 GB HD
macbooker15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 07:47 PM   #2
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
IIRC - You should be able to do that by running it from the Terminal and prepending "sudo" to application's name (e.g. "sudo Firefox")

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 09:42 PM   #3
macbooker15
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hello! I'm over here!
thanks but that didnt work, it said
Code:
sudo xnmap
Error in sys.excepthook:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/xnmap", line 66, in excepthook
    import gtk
ImportError: No module named gtk

Original exception was:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/xnmap", line 158, in <module>
    app.run()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.5/site-packages/zenmapGUI/App.py", line 99, in run
    self.__run_gui()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.5/site-packages/zenmapGUI/App.py", line 109, in __run_gui
    import gtk
ImportError: No module named gtk
__________________
Rooted HTC Evo Shift 4g; NEW 13" Macbook Pro 2.53 Ghz 4gb RAM 500 GB HD
macbooker15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 12:21 AM   #4
larkost
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Rather than trying to use the X-11 version, have you tried any of the more native front-ends listed here?:

http://www.macupdate.com/search.php?...starget=google
larkost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 12:54 AM   #5
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
You are missing a Python module that the application needs to run. Namely the GTK+ module. You can either download and install it yourself or use a different application.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:03 AM   #6
revenuee
macrumors 68020
 
revenuee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A place where i am supreme emporer
if you don't know how to enable root, you probably shouldn't be ... LOL

nore should you be using nmap --- to many hacker movies my friend ... LOL

i'm just teasing.

I have this working in 10.4 but if i recall I had to install X11 and to the whole nmap/zenmap install right in the root user account.

SOOO

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...71025100950309

use that link to enable root, then log out of your account and login to the root user

username - root

password -- whatever you decide

then try installing it... best

www.nmap.com has a version that should install no problem -- but again .. that's me on 10.4 not 10.5
__________________
"I trust blindly, but the hell I will unleash when i get crossed is like nothing you have ever seen" - ME
"Girls Girls Girls" - Motley Crue
revenuee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:22 AM   #7
macbooker15
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hello! I'm over here!
Quote:
Originally Posted by revenuee View Post
if you don't know how to enable root, you probably shouldn't be ... LOL

nore should you be using nmap --- to many hacker movies my friend ... LOL

i'm just teasing.

I have this working in 10.4 but if i recall I had to install X11 and to the whole nmap/zenmap install right in the root user account.

SOOO

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...71025100950309

use that link to enable root, then log out of your account and login to the root user

username - root

password -- whatever you decide

then try installing it... best

www.nmap.com has a version that should install no problem -- but again .. that's me on 10.4 not 10.5
lol, i do use command line most of the time, and use zenmap, but xnmap is just so much faster....i had a root account at one time...i used to use that one..but with great power comes great responsibility.
__________________
Rooted HTC Evo Shift 4g; NEW 13" Macbook Pro 2.53 Ghz 4gb RAM 500 GB HD
macbooker15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 01:28 AM   #8
revenuee
macrumors 68020
 
revenuee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A place where i am supreme emporer
Quote:
Originally Posted by macbooker15 View Post
xnmap is just so much faster....
really?

isn't zenmap just the gui front end for what nmap is doing? I thought it would be dependent on the speed of the back end nmap scan?

tell me more about this xnmap
__________________
"I trust blindly, but the hell I will unleash when i get crossed is like nothing you have ever seen" - ME
"Girls Girls Girls" - Motley Crue
revenuee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 10:44 AM   #9
macbooker15
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hello! I'm over here!
zenmap and xnmap are GUI frontends for nmap, but when i open xnmap its based on cocoa i think so it just opens, and zenmaps takes about 3 minutes because it relies on th x11 window system. Zenmap also takes more system resources. They both scan in the same time.
__________________
Rooted HTC Evo Shift 4g; NEW 13" Macbook Pro 2.53 Ghz 4gb RAM 500 GB HD
macbooker15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 10:52 AM   #10
revenuee
macrumors 68020
 
revenuee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A place where i am supreme emporer
Quote:
Originally Posted by macbooker15 View Post
zenmap and xnmap are GUI frontends for nmap, but when i open xnmap its based on cocoa i think so it just opens, and zenmaps takes about 3 minutes because it relies on th x11 window system. Zenmap also takes more system resources. They both scan in the same time.
oh ... lol ... I X11 is barely noticeable when it opens on my computer

that and I only ever run it terminal, Network Utility, and Netinfo manager <-- and maybe preview if I have a PDF open with the information I need running on it.

but if you like xnmap ... that's cool
__________________
"I trust blindly, but the hell I will unleash when i get crossed is like nothing you have ever seen" - ME
"Girls Girls Girls" - Motley Crue
revenuee is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running a java program on OS X 10.6.8 Stud1ent Mac Programming 2 Nov 10, 2013 08:27 PM
Problem running a program because of Java GrantMeThePower OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jan 16, 2013 07:24 PM
Running CAD Program through Sheepshaver? TSE PowerPC Macs 2 Nov 30, 2012 04:02 PM
Best program to buy for running windows on a Macbook LeeRoylee Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Oct 1, 2012 11:01 PM
Does Reminders still work even though the program isnt running? Ryukouki Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Sep 2, 2012 07:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps