Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 21, 2008, 08:12 PM   #1
dual64bit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
G4 Quicksilver with SATA RAID & 6800 Problem

My SATA RAID card is conflicting with my 6800 GT Graphics card in my 2002 Quicksilver. Anyone have any thoughts of how to resolve?
dual64bit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 08:17 PM   #2
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by dual64bit View Post
My SATA RAID card is conflicting with my 6800 GT Graphics card in my 2002 Quicksilver. Anyone have any thoughts of how to resolve?


conflicting how ?.....what OS, and is the problem with the drivers or hardware wise......

have you tried moving the Raid card to a different pic slot and/ or trashing prefs & driver files & re-installing ?
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 08:21 PM   #3
dual64bit
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Hey Smurf-

The machine won't boot to 10.5 hard drive or 10.5 install cd.. locks up at gears.

When booting to 10.4 install cd, boots all the way, but no drives show up in disk utility when the 6800 is in. If I put in the old graphics card, the 10.4 install shows the drives fine.

So definitely hardware.

Haven't tried swapping pci slots for the SATA RAID, appreciate the tip.. will try that next.
dual64bit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 08:31 PM   #4
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by dual64bit View Post
Hey Smurf-

The machine won't boot to 10.5 hard drive or 10.5 install cd.. locks up at gears.

When booting to 10.4 install cd, boots all the way, but no drives show up in disk utility when the 6800 is in. If I put in the old graphics card, the 10.4 install shows the drives fine.

So definitely hardware.

Haven't tried swapping pci slots for the SATA RAID, appreciate the tip.. will try that next.

Is your video card, or the raid card for that matter, one that requires an additional power connection, and if so, is it connected ?
Also have you inspected the pci contacts on the 6800 for damage, misaligned pins, or other issues.......
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 09:24 PM   #5
dual64bit
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Here's the update -

Swapped the SATA RAID card around in the other ports, no luck there. Checked the graphics card for any damaged connectors - none. It does have the tape applied to two of the pins so it acts in agp 4x mode. This was done by the dealer I ordered it from. It does require power, and has a known good connector plugged into it.

I don't know what is next, maybe its just not meant to be....
dual64bit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 09:29 PM   #6
dual64bit
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Update: Single user mode works OK with both devices in, safe boot doesn't seem to work though...
dual64bit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 08:29 PM   #7
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Ram

Try removing some RAM chips, maybe your 6800 is maxing out your power; what kind of RAID card is it?

10.5 won't boot on your QS unless you put in a card that Apple included with Quicksilver models like a Radeon 97/9800 or GeForce4 Titanium, the 6800 is not one of them, they only were included with G5s

If you have an old Radeon or GeForce you can boot into 10.5, install it, update it to latest like 10.5.4, then you can switch your 6800 back into it
Earl Urly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 09:27 PM   #8
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Try an NVRAM reset. This means holding down control+P+R at startup until you hear the chime (which resets PRAM) and then continuing to hold it until you hear the chime again a second time, which signifies the NVRAM reset. You might want to hold it till you hear it three times just to make sure you got it (sometimes if you don't hold Cntl+P+R soon enough it won't reset PRAM, so 3 times will ensure it).

Sometimes the information stored in the NVRAM gets screwed up, and resetting it can fix this.

Also, try holding down the CUDA button for 30 seconds if this does not work.

It's just a shot, but it might work.
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA on G4 Quicksilver Smokey The Bear PowerPC Macs 3 May 9, 2009 10:11 AM
External 2.5" SAS/SATA RAID with Firewire & USB virtual.rx Mac Peripherals 1 Jul 2, 2008 06:26 AM
Powermac G4 Quicksilver SATA Problem HawkEye40 Mac Basics and Help 20 Apr 13, 2008 02:47 PM
Feeler: G4 Quicksilver w/RAID Setup MacDann Marketplace Archive 2 7 May 17, 2007 09:17 AM
G4 Quicksilver with OWS 1.47GHz Upgrade esotu Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 9 Sep 9, 2004 07:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC