Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 21, 2008, 08:12 PM   #1
dual64bit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
G4 Quicksilver with SATA RAID & 6800 Problem

My SATA RAID card is conflicting with my 6800 GT Graphics card in my 2002 Quicksilver. Anyone have any thoughts of how to resolve?
dual64bit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 08:17 PM   #2
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dual64bit View Post
My SATA RAID card is conflicting with my 6800 GT Graphics card in my 2002 Quicksilver. Anyone have any thoughts of how to resolve?


conflicting how ?.....what OS, and is the problem with the drivers or hardware wise......

have you tried moving the Raid card to a different pic slot and/ or trashing prefs & driver files & re-installing ?
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 08:21 PM   #3
dual64bit
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Hey Smurf-

The machine won't boot to 10.5 hard drive or 10.5 install cd.. locks up at gears.

When booting to 10.4 install cd, boots all the way, but no drives show up in disk utility when the 6800 is in. If I put in the old graphics card, the 10.4 install shows the drives fine.

So definitely hardware.

Haven't tried swapping pci slots for the SATA RAID, appreciate the tip.. will try that next.
dual64bit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 08:31 PM   #4
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dual64bit View Post
Hey Smurf-

The machine won't boot to 10.5 hard drive or 10.5 install cd.. locks up at gears.

When booting to 10.4 install cd, boots all the way, but no drives show up in disk utility when the 6800 is in. If I put in the old graphics card, the 10.4 install shows the drives fine.

So definitely hardware.

Haven't tried swapping pci slots for the SATA RAID, appreciate the tip.. will try that next.

Is your video card, or the raid card for that matter, one that requires an additional power connection, and if so, is it connected ?
Also have you inspected the pci contacts on the 6800 for damage, misaligned pins, or other issues.......
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 09:24 PM   #5
dual64bit
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Here's the update -

Swapped the SATA RAID card around in the other ports, no luck there. Checked the graphics card for any damaged connectors - none. It does have the tape applied to two of the pins so it acts in agp 4x mode. This was done by the dealer I ordered it from. It does require power, and has a known good connector plugged into it.

I don't know what is next, maybe its just not meant to be....
dual64bit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 09:29 PM   #6
dual64bit
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Update: Single user mode works OK with both devices in, safe boot doesn't seem to work though...
dual64bit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 08:29 PM   #7
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Ram

Try removing some RAM chips, maybe your 6800 is maxing out your power; what kind of RAID card is it?

10.5 won't boot on your QS unless you put in a card that Apple included with Quicksilver models like a Radeon 97/9800 or GeForce4 Titanium, the 6800 is not one of them, they only were included with G5s

If you have an old Radeon or GeForce you can boot into 10.5, install it, update it to latest like 10.5.4, then you can switch your 6800 back into it
Earl Urly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 09:27 PM   #8
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Try an NVRAM reset. This means holding down control+P+R at startup until you hear the chime (which resets PRAM) and then continuing to hold it until you hear the chime again a second time, which signifies the NVRAM reset. You might want to hold it till you hear it three times just to make sure you got it (sometimes if you don't hold Cntl+P+R soon enough it won't reset PRAM, so 3 times will ensure it).

Sometimes the information stored in the NVRAM gets screwed up, and resetting it can fix this.

Also, try holding down the CUDA button for 30 seconds if this does not work.

It's just a shot, but it might work.
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd & 3rd drives in software raid... will I lose the raid if i reinstall my OS? ASFx Mac Pro 2 May 1, 2014 05:40 PM
Resolved: SSD raid 0 w/ SATA II and SATA III GenderFi MacBook Pro 8 Dec 11, 2012 08:16 AM
Raid 0 SSDs on Sata II? Nick A MacBook Pro 4 Dec 3, 2012 05:07 PM
SATA III and Raid jim.bright17 Mac Pro 9 Oct 19, 2012 11:00 PM
Raid 0-M4's in Sata II MBP - Any difference? MathiasVH MacBook Pro 1 Aug 12, 2012 06:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC