Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:08 PM   #1
Earlet9
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
iPhone won't show up in My Computer

My iPhone will not show up in My Computer. It is charging but doesn't show up. Anyone know what to do?
Earlet9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:21 PM   #2
atszyman
macrumors 68020
 
atszyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Dallas 'burbs
Send a message via AIM to atszyman
Do iPods and iPhones show up as disks automatically on Windows or do you have to go into iTunes preferences and check the "Enable Disk Use" box in iTunes?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	4658
Size:	149.1 KB
ID:	131286  
__________________
"I don't want kids who are thinking about going into mathematics to think that they have to take drugs to succeed." - Paul Erdös
Every little bit helps, put your spare CPU cycles to good use, join the
MacRumors Folding@Home team! Get the widget
atszyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:26 PM   #3
wronski
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by atszyman View Post
Do iPods and iPhones show up as disks automatically on Windows or do you have to go into iTunes preferences and check the "Enable Disk Use" box in iTunes?
iPhones don't even have that option.
wronski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:29 PM   #4
atszyman
macrumors 68020
 
atszyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Dallas 'burbs
Send a message via AIM to atszyman
Quote:
Originally Posted by wronski View Post
iPhones don't even have that option.
Well do iPods? I've never actually used my iPod on Windows. If that's the case and the iPhone doesn't have the option for disk mode it's entirely possible that it won't show up under the My Computer hierarchy.

But I'm far from an expert on iPods with Windows.
__________________
"I don't want kids who are thinking about going into mathematics to think that they have to take drugs to succeed." - Paul Erdös
Every little bit helps, put your spare CPU cycles to good use, join the
MacRumors Folding@Home team! Get the widget
atszyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:35 PM   #5
08mxkfx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
iPhones dont show up in my computer. The only way you could use your iPhone as a storage device is to download an app like Files or Datacase from the app store.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4ghz, 4GB Ram, 320GB HDD ; 2.4ghz Aluminum MacBook, 2GB Ram, 250GB HDD ; 16GB White iPhone 3G
08mxkfx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:39 PM   #6
Earlet9
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Ok, well I have to get my music off of my iPhone... will these programs do this?
Earlet9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:41 PM   #7
08mxkfx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
no they will only allow you to tranfer files back and forth between or iPhone and computer. It doesnt have access to the music files. There are programs you can download that will take the music off your iPhone. Just google for them.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4ghz, 4GB Ram, 320GB HDD ; 2.4ghz Aluminum MacBook, 2GB Ram, 250GB HDD ; 16GB White iPhone 3G
08mxkfx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:42 PM   #8
Earlet9
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Those programs cost too much or they don't even recognize my phone is connected. Can you trasnfer music from a jailbroken iPhone easily?
Earlet9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:49 PM   #9
abijnk
macrumors 68040
 
abijnk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to abijnk
Jailbreaking you phone would wipeout anything on it, so that wouldn't really help you. Sounds like your best bet is to keep trying different programs specifically made to get the music off your phone. There are many many different ones out there, keep trying. Good luck.
__________________
Abbie
Twitter
Hockey Ramblings
abijnk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:51 PM   #10
atszyman
macrumors 68020
 
atszyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Dallas 'burbs
Send a message via AIM to atszyman
Doesn't iTunes have a way to retrieve songs that are not already in the iTunes library off of an iPod or iPhone?
__________________
"I don't want kids who are thinking about going into mathematics to think that they have to take drugs to succeed." - Paul Erdös
Every little bit helps, put your spare CPU cycles to good use, join the
MacRumors Folding@Home team! Get the widget
atszyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 04:55 PM   #11
wronski
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by atszyman View Post
Doesn't iTunes have a way to retrieve songs that are not already in the iTunes library off of an iPod or iPhone?
Only if they are purchased songs which sounds useless for retrieving all of your music. He needs to find the music retrieval desktop apps that work with iPhone.
wronski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:08 PM   #12
danny_w
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by wronski View Post
Only if they are purchased songs which sounds useless for retrieving all of your music. He needs to find the music retrieval desktop apps that work with iPhone.
And there aren't very many of those, at least not the last I checked.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, LG G2 KitKat & iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB, iPad Air 16GB
danny_w is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:12 PM   #13
jciapara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Earlet9 View Post
My iPhone will not show up in My Computer. It is charging but doesn't show up. Anyone know what to do?
Are you using USB or Firewire cable, with Firewire only charging is possible. Assuming that you're using the USB provided cable, then I don't know what the problem is. I just wanted to clarify in case you are using a firewire from a previous iPod (happened to me).

Cheers!
__________________
Some apple products...
jciapara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:18 PM   #14
philgilder
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jciapara View Post
Are you using USB or Firewire cable, with Firewire only charging is possible. Assuming that you're using the USB provided cable, then I don't know what the problem is. I just wanted to clarify in case you are using a firewire from a previous iPod (happened to me).

Cheers!
firewire charging is no longer supported by the iPhone 3G

see here as well
__________________
SJ Our belief was that if we kept putting great products in front of customers, they would continue to open their wallets So THATS why I have no money
philgilder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:55 PM   #15
skubish
macrumors 68030
 
skubish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jciapara View Post
Are you using USB or Firewire cable, with Firewire only charging is possible. Assuming that you're using the USB provided cable, then I don't know what the problem is. I just wanted to clarify in case you are using a firewire from a previous iPod (happened to me).

Cheers!
Wow don't confuse the OP with wrong information. The iPhone does not show up under My Computer ever. iPods will. iPhones do not.

Here is an app that will do it.
__________________
iPad 3G 32GB
iMac C2D 24"
iPhone 3GS 32GB Black
iPod Nano 8GB Blue
skubish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 06:01 PM   #16
Earlet9
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Well thank you, I thought my iPhone had previously shown up in My Computer... Apparently I was wrong, thank you guys. I am trying this "iPhone Browser" now. Thanks
Earlet9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 06:09 PM   #17
Night Spring
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Try DiskAid.
http://www.digidna.net/diskaid/

The site also has a paid app caled TuneAid, which I gather automates the music import process, like renaming the files into something recognizable, but if you are ok with the files having those cryptic names, or have other programs that rename those files for you, then DiskAid will do the job of copying your music files off your iPhone.
Night Spring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 07:46 PM   #18
DuFFy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phila
To clarify something, iPhones do show up on My Computer, sayings they never do is false. Your iPhone will show up in My Computer but only allows you to access pictures, its shows up as a camera, and only if you have pictures in your Camera Roll

As far as the OP's problem, i dont know a way off the top of my head, just try looking for a program.
DuFFy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 03:13 PM   #19
AbbBabX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Red face (:

Quote:
Originally Posted by skubish View Post
Wow don't confuse the OP with wrong information. The iPhone does not show up under My Computer ever. iPods will. iPhones do not.

Here is an app that will do it.

Actually it's true, I had the same problem. Turns out I had plugged the phone in with the wire that came with my video iPod. It wouldn't show up on my computer but would in iTunes. I simply swapped the wires over and wha-la it showed up. It only shows up as a camera device.
AbbBabX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 03:18 PM   #20
fireshot91
macrumors 601
 
fireshot91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern VA
The iPhone's camera roll shows up under My Computer. That's it though.
fireshot91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2009, 07:46 AM   #21
Dmereness
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Still no answer?

I know my iPhone showed up in my computer but only with pictures, that is where you pull them from to put on your computer.

Stupid phone works fine with the iTunes, but is not seen by the computer to get the pics off...

Nothing is working yet... Help...
Dmereness is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 11:08 AM   #22
Redart98
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Try to install http://iphonefolders.com/ - you'll get "iPhone Folders" in "My computer", then navigate to DCIM/100APPLE, there are your photos.
Redart98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 11:54 AM   #23
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmereness View Post
I know my iPhone showed up in my computer but only with pictures, that is where you pull them from to put on your computer.

Stupid phone works fine with the iTunes, but is not seen by the computer to get the pics off...

Nothing is working yet... Help...
Some people say a reset fixed it (press home and sleep until phone turns off). See this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=802403
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 12:49 PM   #24
ricake
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Earlet9 View Post
My iPhone will not show up in My Computer. It is charging but doesn't show up. Anyone know what to do?
I FIX IT!!!!!!!!


Well, it fix it self, this is what happend and I dont know if is something good or bad.

When I get my iphone, my cell company in México never change the voice-mails system from a no-iphone cell to an iphone, 2 moths later they change to the new voice-mail beacuse in Iphone u can see the voice message ( a list in your phone functions that the cell downloads it) but I never called to configure the settings for the new system.

The thing is, the day the voicemail stop working with the old system was the same day the camera stop "showing up" in my computer. I called Apple Support and no one knows what to do.

So, today i decide to configure the new voicemail system, the company add me in the new system, and told me to call a voice-mail number to configure the new settings, the thing is, while I was making this call, I had my iphone connected to the PC, and suddenly, the "Camera detected" window shows up, and YES, the Iphone Camera Icon was in my PC.

So, i know is crazy or stupid, but CONFIGURE OR RECONFIGURE your voice mail.

Now i "see" my message in the windows of my iphone and the iphone download the message and I listend as a message, I DONT NEED TO CALL MY VOICE MAIL TO LISTEN THE MESSAGE, the phone download them, but when I receive my Iphone the first time, i need to call.

It sounds crazy, I dont know if it was a coincidence or what.
ricake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 01:02 PM   #25
ricake
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Red face Of course....

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricake View Post
I FIX IT!!!!!!!!


Well, it fix it self, this is what happend and I dont know if is something good or bad.

When I get my iphone, my cell company in México never change the voice-mails system from a no-iphone cell to an iphone, 2 moths later they change to the new voice-mail beacuse in Iphone u can see the voice message ( a list in your phone functions that the cell downloads it) but I never called to configure the settings for the new system.

The thing is, the day the voicemail stop working with the old system was the same day the camera stop "showing up" in my computer. I called Apple Support and no one knows what to do.

So, today i decide to configure the new voicemail system, the company add me in the new system, and told me to call a voice-mail number to configure the new settings, the thing is, while I was making this call, I had my iphone connected to the PC, and suddenly, the "Camera detected" window shows up, and YES, the Iphone Camera Icon was in my PC.

So, i know is crazy or stupid, but CONFIGURE OR RECONFIGURE your voice mail.

Now i "see" my message in the windows of my iphone and the iphone download the message and I listend as a message, I DONT NEED TO CALL MY VOICE MAIL TO LISTEN THE MESSAGE, the phone download them, but when I receive my Iphone the first time, i need to call.

It sounds crazy, I dont know if it was a coincidence or what.

Of course, this last weekend, I had to reinstall my Iphone, I lost my vids and everythig.

TRY EVERYTHING, this is a BIG BUG from Apple.
ricake is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone won't detect computer , computer won't detect iphone Coolstory iPhone 4 Dec 5, 2013 02:12 PM
my iphone won't show up on mac desktop, but itunes sees it plpmusic iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Mar 25, 2013 09:17 PM
itunes lib show app, but won't install to iPhone bmarkoff iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Nov 9, 2012 01:22 AM
iPhone won't connect to computer? language button iPhone 2 Aug 5, 2012 10:53 AM
iPhone: Help - iPhone reset loop, power button broken, won't show in iTunes sudn3sc3d Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jul 30, 2012 08:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC