Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:03 PM   #1
striverdon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
How do I edit my stop motion video in Final Cut Pro?

Hi guys,

Just shot a stop motion sequence with my digital SLR. I have roughly 3000 photos making up all the action.

I've edited with Final Cut Pro a few times before but can't figure out how I can collectively bring down the duration the pictures are shown, instead of having to select each one and change the time individually.
Those anyone have a clue on how best to do this???

I put the pictures in preview and scrolled through just to get an idea of how it should play out eventually. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YsWcHpFKAqs
Kind of going for;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fe68r-SBQK4

Any clues would be very much appreciated.
Cheers!
striverdon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 05:26 PM   #2
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
*Before* you import the pictures change the image duration in FCP preferences to 1 frame (or how every long you want the default duration of each image to be). The Nash and West videos were most likely shot on video or film cameras w/various frame rates and shutter speeds to get the basic look and then further 'enhanced' in post.


Lethal
__________________
Looking For Lenny - documentary about comedian Lenny Bruce's timeless impact on stand-up comedy & Free Speech.
Netflix, iTunes, Amazon
LethalWolfe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 06:00 PM   #3
striverdon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by LethalWolfe View Post
*Before* you import the pictures change the image duration in FCP preferences to 1 frame (or how every long you want the default duration of each image to be).

Lethal
That sounds like its right but I'm in FCP now and I can't see anything regarding image duration in user preferences. Maybe you are right. Could you direct me to where your referring to.
striverdon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 06:48 PM   #4
bigbossbmb
macrumors 68000
 
bigbossbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pasadena/Hollywood
Send a message via AIM to bigbossbmb
another quick and dirty way to do it is open the pictures in QT as an Image Sequence and then save a ref movie. toss the ref into Compressor and convert to whatever format you want to edit.
__________________
"Terrible what passes for a ninja these days..."
8-core MP 2.8ghz 16GB RAM, ATi 5770, 2.25TB RAID5 Caldigit Card, 15" Unibody MBP, 2.4ghz Mini with 4TB drobo (for the TV)
bigbossbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 06:49 PM   #5
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by striverdon View Post
That sounds like its right but I'm in FCP now and I can't see anything regarding image duration in user preferences. Maybe you are right. Could you direct me to where your referring to.
FCP->User Prefs->Editing (tab)->Still/Freeze Duration


Lethal
__________________
Looking For Lenny - documentary about comedian Lenny Bruce's timeless impact on stand-up comedy & Free Speech.
Netflix, iTunes, Amazon
LethalWolfe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2009, 02:33 AM   #6
odbol
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Right click!

I was trying to figure this out too, and I found that once you add your frames to your sequence timeline, you can just select them all, right click, and choose "Duration". Then you can change all the duration at once.

This is on FCP 5 by the way.
odbol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2009, 09:12 PM   #7
spice weasel
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbossbmb View Post
another quick and dirty way to do it is open the pictures in QT as an Image Sequence and then save a ref movie. toss the ref into Compressor and convert to whatever format you want to edit.
Does the QuickTime image sequence option work for you? I've tried it before, and even if I do manage to get it to make a sequence properly, it always screws up the timing. Some images will go by with the proper timing/frame rate, but then it will skip by others too fast, making the whole thing jerky.
spice weasel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2009, 10:19 AM   #8
knello
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by spice weasel View Post
Does the QuickTime image sequence option work for you? I've tried it before, and even if I do manage to get it to make a sequence properly, it always screws up the timing. Some images will go by with the proper timing/frame rate, but then it will skip by others too fast, making the whole thing jerky.
Image sequences wrapped in Quicktime are the way to go. The problem you had was probably because your hardware couldn't keep up with the bitrate or resolution of the huge image sequence. That's why transcoding to 1080p ProRes might help.

If you don't transcode it, I'd still set the sequence settings to a 1080p ProRes preset.

Quote:
FCP->User Prefs->Editing (tab)->Still/Freeze Duration
I don't like this method because it prevents a lot of normal tools from working properly, and that slows down my workflow a lot. You can't use slip/slide/ripple/roll tools anymore, and I hate that.
knello is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Cut Pro X + Motion and Logic Pro X or Adobe After Effects + Premiere? LOLZpersonok Digital Video 25 May 13, 2014 12:13 PM
New Final Cut Pro X, Compressor and Motion are out! WolfSnap OS X 0 Dec 19, 2013 03:06 AM
Apple Updates Final Cut Pro X, Motion, and Compressor Alongside New Pro Marketing Push MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 181 Apr 11, 2013 11:57 AM
Final cut pro edit stutter yolatechno Digital Video 8 Mar 15, 2013 05:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC